We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very pleased. ” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown to your Saves list
Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown
2.5 of 5 Hotel   |   1020 Washington Blvd., Detroit, MI 48226   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Save 10-30%
Ranked #14 of 34 Hotels in Detroit
1 review
“Very pleased. ”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 8, 2013

We stayed here to go to a Red swings game. I was very happy with my stay. The front desk was fast at check in. The room was clean and very easy to get to. It's a short walk to the Joe and the people mover. I didn't valet my car but for booking with Priceline could have for nothing extra. Breakfast was good. Everybody was VERY friendly! Great location. Great stay. Will stay again!

Stayed December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily D, Portfolio Reputation Manager at Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown, responded to this review, January 6, 2014
Jessica,
I am pleased that you were able to join us for a Red Wings game. Thank you for sharing your experiences with us. We certainly do strive to provide all of our guests with the level of service that you described you received during your stay and I will certainly make sure I acknowledge the entire staff for their efforts. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.
Enjoy today!
Emily P Dailey
Portfolio Reputation Manager - Holiday Inn Express Detroit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

366 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    102
    132
    76
    28
    28
See reviews for
84
59
30
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (49)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Australia
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2013

The staff here were so friendly and helpful! The valet was prompt and inexpensive. We had a great view from our room. It is close to public transport, and they have a free courtesy shuffle to take you around town. We would stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily D, Portfolio Reputation Manager at Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown, responded to this review, December 6, 2013
Rosy,
Thank you so much for taking the time to share your wonderful experience. We pride ourselves on service and it is always great to hear from our guests how we are doing. I am pleased that you found our valet and the complimentary shuttle to be convenient for you in our central downtown location. We look forward to a chance to welcome you back again soon.
Enjoy today!
Emily P Dailey
Portfolio Reputation Manager - Holiday Inn Express Detroit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carol Stream, Illinois
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2013

We stayed there this past weekend. Valet parking was a joke the entire hotel entrance was filled with people waiting. We waited so long we paid $20.00 to the lot next door to park over night so free parking at what cost. I have never been treated as badly as I was here. The staff was rude especially their Monday AM Sales Manager. When we complained about the dining room staff to her she got right up in my husbands face and told him he had to leave the dining room with slippers on. It almost became a police call for us. We knew the town was terrible but you wouldn't expect the staff to be common thugs. We have contacted the Corporate office over this visit and do not suggest this as a hotel for anyone.

Room Tip: go somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily D, Portfolio Reputation Manager at Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Mandi,
Thank you for sharing your feedback. Please accept my sincere apologies for your experience. Your willingness to share your thoughts with us is genuinely appreciated. I would like to follow up with your concerns directly. I hope to have a chance to speak with you soon.
Enjoy today!
Emily P Dailey
Portfolio Reputation Manager - Holiday Inn Express Detroit
edailey@greenwoodhospitality.com
313-253-4344
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 24, 2013

First thing is first: the valet is a nightmare. They are understaffed, they are slow and the valet captain (whoever the lady is that stands inside and hands out keys) is rude to people. The area outside of the hotel where they have the cars waiting to be valeted is a very small area (granted, this is Downtown Detroit, but still, it can fit maybe four cars).

Then, the lobby, which is extremely small for a hotel that is expected to sell 65% or more every night (since there are 13 floors that have rooms on them, and there are 30 rooms on each of these floors, you would expect about 200 people in this hotel on a nightly/daily basis). Yes, they have a fireplace and are updating it, but when it's game day (for whichever team you're there for), this is ridiculous. The lobby is constantly full of people checking in or moving around, causing a lot of uncomfortable situations because everyone is standing on top of one another!

The staff behind the front desk are actually incredibly rude, as well. They are condescending when they speak to you, talk about you to each other when you're still within earshot, etc. While I was checking in, I overheard the other desk agent say to a woman that her last name (Kehoe) would be "very difficult to live with"; it was extremely unnecessary and rude of her to say to this guest.

When you get up to the room, everything is nice. The heater works great for the winter (don't know about the A/C though), the beds are comfortable, everything is beautifully decorated and the fixtures all work. The bathroom does need a fan in it for when showering, but other than that, everything was fine. My bathtub walls were still dirty, but when I tried to call down, it rang for four minutes before I finally hung up, cleaned it myself and showered. I also had to call down for extra towels, as there were three women in this room, and after it rang for probably a good 10 minutes, the desk agent finally picked up and assured me that towels would be up shortly. It took over an hour for the extra towels and shampoo to come up, and when they did, the housekeeper threw them into my arms and stalked off. Very rude. But, the shower was nice, got warm REALLY fast and the water pressure was fantastic.

If you want breakfast, go down early, especially on Sundays. There will be a line, and it will reach into the small lobby, so good luck if you're trying to check out. The breakfast area is small for having a huge hotel; my cousin and I stood around a trash can, eating our breakfast, waiting for a table to open up.

The valet to leave on game days is also slightly ridiculous. A couple standing next to me waited 25 minutes for their car, and I had to wait 35. They say call down 15 minutes ahead of time, but really, you should either not valet, or call down 45 minutes ahead of time.

This experience was so-so, but it is based on there being a Detroit Red Wings hockey game Saturday night and a Detroit Lions football game Sunday afternoon. Other times, I'm sure it's nice, but game weekends, it's horrible.

Room Tip: Rooms that are higher up experience less noise than ones closer to the ground floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily D, Portfolio Reputation Manager at Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown, responded to this review, December 2, 2013
Tikitorch,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We truly value your input and very much rely on you, our guest, to help us improve our hotel operation. As you have pointed out, we have a number of changes that are being made and appreciate the specific feedback about how we are improving. Please accept my sincere apologies about your service experiences at the hotel, it certainly doesn't reflect the service typical of our team, we will use your feedback as a training opportunity and continue to monitor the service we are providing. Please contact me directly so I have a chance to follow up with your concerns. We thank you for your candid feedback, and hope that you will choose to stay with us should you visit the area again.
Enjoy today!
Emily P Dailey
Portfolio Reputation Manager - Holiday Inn Express Detroit
edailey@greenwoodhospitality.com
313-253-4344
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 17, 2013 via mobile

The hotel staff was very friendly, valet parking and breakfast were both included in the price. Clean and comfortable room, bed was great. Was within walking distance of the Hard Rock Cafe, which was great. Would stay again.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily D, Portfolio Reputation Manager at Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Jacqueline,
Thank you for taking the time to share your positive feedback regarding your recent stay with us. I am pleased that you found the rate package and location of the hotel convenient for your visit. Thank you for your kind words about our service team. All of the staff takes great pride in knowing that their hard work and dedication is making a difference to our guests. We look forward to welcoming you back.
Enjoy today!
Emily P Dailey
Portfolio Reputation Manager - Holiday Inn Express Detroit
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

I booked our room in April for Nov 8th and 9th because it seemed to have good amenities and location. Well we got here and realized after checking in that everything was under construction. No pool, no vending machines, no laundry, and the location was very sketchy, we even had a homeless woman beg for money while we were waiting for the elevator! The drain in our tub was broken and kept clogging while we showered and the shower curtain was just cloth so the whole bathroom was flooded after just one shower. The breakfast was decent but the biscuits and sausages gravy tasted funny and later we were very sick! The next day it wasn't on the bar anymore, because I assume others got sick as well. Valet parking was included in the rate and if was nice not to try and park somewhere because there is no free parking around. The valet did leave a couple scratches on our car though which is unacceptable. I will not stay here again! Save your $125 a night and go somewhere else for a few extra dollars.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily D, Portfolio Reputation Manager at Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Panekch,
I appreciate you taking the time to share your experience regarding your stay at our hotel. We give the utmost importance to our guest comments as they help us improve, and continually provide the best guest experience possible. Please accept my apologies for your experiences. As you have pointed out, we do have some changes going on within the hotel to improve the guest experience; I apologize for the inconvenience this caused for you. I would like an opportunity to follow up on your concerns, so please reach out to me directly. I do hope that we have a chance to welcome you back again.
Enjoy today!
Emily P Dailey
Portfolio Reputation Manager - Holiday Inn Express Detroit
edailey@greenwoodhospitality.com
313-253-4344
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sault Ste. Marie, Michigan
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013 via mobile

75 minutes and counting to retrieve my car... What bad service. Dog feces on the floor of my room, wow. Not impressed AT ALL, no reason to ever come back. Close to many attractions but with a 5 hour drive ahead of me waiting .. Going on 90 minutes now for my car is unacceptable

Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily D, Portfolio Reputation Manager at Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown, responded to this review, November 19, 2013
Tom,
Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us regarding your most recent stay. I would like to truly apologize for the issues you had during your stay. We strive to exceed the expectations of every guest who stays with us, and regretfully in your case, we failed to meet that criteria. Please know that we have addressed the cleanliness items you mentioned. We recently began working with a new valet company and will discuss your experience with them to ensure it does not happen again. Please contact me directly so I have a chance to follow up with your concerns. I look forward to an opportunity to welcome you back again.
Enjoy today!
Emily P Dailey
Portfolio Reputation Manager - Holiday Inn Express Detroit
edailey@greenwoodhospitality.com
313-253-4344
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown

Address: 1020 Washington Blvd., Detroit, MI 48226
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Shuttle Bus service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 34 Hotels in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown 2.5*
Number of rooms: 240
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites of Downtown Detroit is a first class hotel that is ideal for travelers who are visiting for either business or leisure purposes. In addition to our finely appointed guest rooms, we offer fully equipped suites with full kitchens for extended stays. Some of our outstanding amenities include a state-of-the-art fitness center, indoor heated pool, 24-hour business center, and complimentary high-speed Internet access. Don't forget to join us for breakfast at our newly updated Express Start Breakfast Bar. We now offer a selection of hot entrees! The Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites of Downtown Detroit also offers valet parking for your convenience at fee of $20.00 per car per night, the lowest priced hotel parking in the downtown area. Located in the heart of downtown Detroit, the Holiday Inn Express Hotel & Suites is within walking distance of Cobo Convention Center, Joe Louis Arena (Detroit Red Wings) and the new MGM Grand Casino. The hotel is also positioned perfectly near the People Mover, Greektown Casino, Motor City Casino, Detroit Opera House, Fox Theatre, Hard Rock Cafe, Comerica Park (Detroit Tigers), and Ford Field (Detroit Lions). For the busy executive, the hotel is located only 1-2 blocks from Compuware World Headquarters, DTE Energy, and AT&T, just to name a few. The General Motors World Headquarters, famously known as the Renaissance Center, is located less than one mile from the hotel and is open to the public during weekdays for tours and shopping. Visitors can even venture off across the border into Canada by crossing the Ambassador Bridge or the tunnel into Windsor, Canada. For your next visit to Detroit, Stay Smart at the Holiday Inn Express and Suites of Downtown Detroit! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with IHG, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and Odigeo so you can book your Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown Hotel Detroit

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.