We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Unique and cozy” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn on Ferry Street

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Inn on Ferry Street to your Saves list
Inn on Ferry Street
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   84 E. Ferry St., Detroit, MI 48202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Chicago, IL
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Unique and cozy”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Just stayed at the Inn on Ferry Street for a quick visit to Detroit. Check-in was a breeze, and there were no problems with our reservation made through Hotels.com. We stayed in a standard queen room, which was beautifully furnished and immaculately clean. The bathroom was small, but it was well designed and appointed. The bed was super comfortable. We felt as though we were going back in time, staying in a turn-of-the-century mansion. Centrally located near many museums and the Wayne State Campus. Check it out!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    74
    9
    4
    6
See reviews for
31
141
37
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Dayton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 6, 2014

Stayed at the Inn on Ferry for 1 night with a King bed room in the Owen House. Would stay here again when in the area.
Pluses:
1. Bed was comfortable.
2. Room was clean and nicely appointed
3. Free shuttle to spots within a 5 mile radius. Used this to get to a concert in Detroit. Didn't have to hassle with a taxi or parking my car downtown. After concert, called the inn and the shuttle came to pick up. Very nice!
4. Free parking
5. Good breakfast. Eggs, waffles, fresh fruit, breads, coffee available for the Saturday breakfast.
6. Easy connect to WiFi. No password, room number, etc needed.
7. Room service available from Union Street was tasty. Called the restaurant and the food was delivered to my door.
8. Staff was helpful.
Minuses
1. The swipe key to get into the building was hit or miss. Had to try several times to get it to go. Once in the building only key needed for room.
2. WiFi signal strength reasonable but not super strong

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 2, 2014

How delightful to visit Detroit after having lived there 17 years ago and stay at the very conveniently located Inn on Ferry Street. We were there a week and went 4 times to the Detroit Institute of Art, which was a short walk from the Inn. The shuttle was also convenient, driving us downtown to the John King Used Book Store and picking us up at the American Coney Island, old favorites still going strong. The Inn has comfortable rooms in beautifully restored Victorian mansions. They serve a decent breakfast and have coffee, fruit, soda, snacks and wine available 24 hours, some for purchase. The Scott House living room is a comfortable place to entertain friends, who live in Detroit and took us to the world-class Detroit Symphony. We'll probably stay at the Inn again next year.

Room Tip: The second floor rooms are probably quieter, avoiding the sounds of the plumbing.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ontario
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 29, 2014

We stayed here with another couple, in town for a Lions game. I wasn't expecting much from a weekend in Detroit, and many people asked why on earth we'd go to Detroit at all.
We were all very glad we went. The staff of the Inn made it easy to realize what an amazing, culturally-rich city Detroit is. From their restaurant recommendations, to the fantastic shuttle service, they made it a relaxing, easy to enjoy weekend for us. Shuttle drivers were funny, knowledgable ambassadors for the Inn and for the city. Breakfast was absolutely delicious. the buildings are beautiful and the rooms spacious, clean and comfortable, with an attention to detail that is charming and unique.
Can't say enough good things about the staff and the accommodations. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Albuquerque, New Mexico
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
62 helpful votes 62 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 28, 2014

The Inn on Ferry Street
We recently spent a week in the Inn. It should be better called the Inns because it is comprised of four Victorian buildings and two carriage houses with a central registration lobby and dining room. The buildings are attractive with pediments on the entrances of three of them. The buildings are renovated keeping the high ceilings, thick wooden doors and décor of another time. The heating worked well while we there, however, I suspect that some find it a bit chilly as there were electric heaters and a fan in the closet. The rooms are comfortable, however, I strongly recommend visitors ask for the second floor (first floor Europe). The buildings are not well sound proofed and you are better off above than below.

The best features of the Inns are location, location, location. Detroit downtown is a city of pockets that are attractive and walkable, while other pockets are not. The Inns are located within two blocks of the Detroit Institute of Art, well worth visiting more than once, the Historic Museum of Detroit, good fun, and Wayne State University. The Inns provide a shuttle to anywhere within five miles which saved us paying parking and walking where we didn’t want to walk. The shuttle driver Torrance was a delight and his companion whose name I don’t remember gave us a free guided tour. The Inns are also close to the symphony and some good restaurants. The lobby/sitting room area is attractive and a good place to invite friends. Greg, the receptionist, is a gentle, humorous man and got us drinks when necessary.

The only downside was the breakfast dining arrangement. We arrived on one morning at 9:45 – breakfast is served until 10. Staff had already started clearing the available foods and became outraged to shouting in the kitchen when we asked for eggs. If not for the kitchen I would give it five stars.

Room Tip: Reserve second floor accommodation (1st floor Europe) as the rooms are not well sound proofed. visit...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Illinois
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 23, 2014

We stayed at the Inn for 4 nights in January while we were in Detroit for the Winter Classic. I could not say enough good things about our stay. What makes this inn unique is that it is made up of renovated mansions that span almost a block. You are assigned a room in one of the houses so you receive a key to your house and also to your room. The location was great, we were able to walk to the Detroit Institute of Arts (a must see!) and a great crepe restaurant. The Detroit History Museum is also within walking distance and is across the street from the art museum.

We had a first floor room in Pungs house and it was perfect for the two of us. It did get a little chilly, as it was very cold and snowed during our time there, but the rooms had fans and heaters available in the closet. We didn't get to that point of needing them but it was nice to know they were available.

The free breakfast was delicious and included eggs, pastries, fruit, yogurt, coffee, etc. The service was attentive and the front desk was helpful in recommending places to eat. We were only scheduled to stay 3 nights but a snow storm on our last day prompted us to stay an extra night. The inn honored our original nightly rate and we were able to stay in the same room.

One of the biggest perks is the free shuttle. The drivers were friendly and offered up recommendations for things to do as well as history lessons about Detroit. They would take you anywhere you wanted to go within a certain mile radius of the hotel (which easily covered downtown). We never had to take the car anywhere and took numerous trips downtown for dinner, the winter hockey festival, and even New Year's Eve festivities.

We had a great time and will not hesitate to come back for another stay. It was a refreshing change from the downtown chain hotels and also gave us a great opportunity to explore a new section of the city. Midtown has a lot to offer and we only touched the surface during our stay.

Room Tip: There are no elevators so if you cannot manage steps make sure to request a first floor room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Marrakech, Morocco
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 13, 2014

I couldn't have been happier with my stay at the Inn; from the friendly reception to the comfortable room, generous breakfast and tea, gracious staff. Nothing was too much trouble to the team, who handled every guest's request with speed and efficiency, going beyond the call of duty. Wonderful place, to which I will certainly return!

Room Tip: My room was a decent size, quiet, the bed four-posted and the bathroom just huge, ask for it!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn on Ferry Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Ferry Street

Address: 84 E. Ferry St., Detroit, MI 48202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
#2 Business Hotel in Detroit
#3 Family Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn on Ferry Street 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Inn on Ferry Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Ferry Street Hotel Detroit

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn on Ferry Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.