We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Top Review for Inn on Ferry Street” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Inn on Ferry Street

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Inn on Ferry Street to your Saves list
Inn on Ferry Street
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   84 E. Ferry St., Detroit, MI 48202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Detroit
Grass Valley
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
93 helpful votes 93 helpful votes
“Top Review for Inn on Ferry Street”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 30, 2013

Wonderful 3-day stay! My room was charming, warm and spotless, service was perfect, Christmas decor lovely, and the breakfast a delightful & varied feast- from eggs to fruit to nut breads, waffles, yogurt, oatmeal, juices, coffees and teas. I travel a lot and this is my favorite B & B.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

327 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    241
    69
    8
    3
    6
See reviews for
29
130
36
71
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (46)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2013

The Inn is warm and welcoming, in a very good location, and the shuttle service is invaluable. For a visitor from London, the latter was a real plus. Shuttle driver/"junior historian" Steve is friendly, accommodating and knowledgeable, and made my visit all the better for an excursion to the Roostertail. The hotel's proximity to museums and the DIA, not to mention Hitsville USA, is a real asset. It's my second stay at the Inn, and I will come back there.

Room Tip: An upstairs room may have better light during winter afternoons. The lounge area in Pungs House was...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 18, 2013

The Inn on Ferry St is made up of 3 huge Victorian houses which were once student residences. The houses were to be demolished to become a parking lot but were saved by a non profit and turned into a comfortable and unique inn.

Our room was lovely, the breakfast was very good but best of all was a shuttle service which would take us anywhere and pick us up again while our car was safe at the inn. On our first night our driver took us to the Raven Lounge featured in "Detropia " and "Low Winter Sun". We had a great conversation with the owner who feels Detroit will rise again. When we had talked and listened to music and eaten great catfish, we were picked up and driven home. We used the shuttle every night which made dining so much easier.


The inn is 2 blocks from the Detroit Institute of Art and the Detroit History museum. There a few good restaurants nearby. Best of all it was a safe and comfortable place from which to explore Drtroit.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2013

A comfortable set of vintage mansions in the heart of the cultural area of Detroit (walking distance to the Art Institute and History Museum) on a quiet side street. We got upgraded to suites, and it was a lovely room with a whirlpool!
No elevators, so make sure you can climb stairs. Nice breakfast included, and staff was very helpful and friendly.

Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2013

These buildings have been lovingly restored. No worries about staying in an 'older' facility - all the comforts of home with style, grace and friendly staff and fellow travelers.Close to attractions - DIA's backyard!

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with Easytobook.com

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sao Paulo, SP
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 28, 2013

It's a lovely place, perfect if you're traveling as a couple. The room was clean and big enough to be comfortably. My wife and I stayed two nights we've slept very well and every morning we've had a nice breakfast waiting for us. It was a pleasant surprise.

Room Tip: They have shuttle service to lead you to the main places of detroit.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Top Contributor
81 reviews 81 reviews
58 hotel reviews
Reviews in 61 cities Reviews in 61 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 26, 2013

A beautiful collection of buildings in a quiet neighbourhood - Inn on Ferry street has been carefully restored and the rooms are understated and sophisticated. It was cool that there were free cookies and water in the room and bowls of free Hershey kisses throughout the Inn. All the staff were lovely and friendly, rooms were clean and comfortable (although a little warm) and the breakfasts were healthy and tasty with excellent coffee. Can't imagine staying anywhere else in Detroit.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Inn on Ferry Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Ferry Street

Address: 84 E. Ferry St., Detroit, MI 48202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
#2 Best Value Hotel in Detroit
#3 Business Hotel in Detroit
#4 Family Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn on Ferry Street 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Inn on Ferry Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Ferry Street Hotel Detroit

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn on Ferry Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.