We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very nice, but..........” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn on Ferry Street

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Inn on Ferry Street to your Saves list
Inn on Ferry Street
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   84 E. Ferry St., Detroit, MI 48202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 34 Hotels in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Avon, Connecticut
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
41 hotel reviews
Reviews in 68 cities Reviews in 68 cities
437 helpful votes 437 helpful votes
“Very nice, but..........”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2013 via mobile

Very nice Inn, based in multiple old Victorian houses. Beautiful buildings. Very well decored rooms, but some deceptions. My room had a four-poster bed. The lower right post was loose, and swayed. They provide a nice CD/clock radio alarm, and multiple CDs for use. The Clock is glued down the the nightstand so the clock it cannot be read from the bed. They have a nice shower/massge head in the shower, but not enough water pressure to use it. Nice big TV, but no remote.
All in all, a very nice place, and any one of these details is not a deal-breaker. The fact that there were so many 'simple' problems is what keeps me from rating them higher.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

348 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    255
    74
    9
    4
    6
See reviews for
31
141
37
78
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (53)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Buffalo, New York
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

We recently completed a two night stay at the Inn and can't wait to return next year when we visit the auto show again! Being unfamiliar with the Detroit area, we had no idea where to stay. We hit the jackpot when we selected this beautiful place listed among the Historic Inns of America. The Inn itself consists of 4 historic mansions and 2 carriage houses( we stayed in one of the carriage houses). Our room was spacious and clean, the bed super comfortable, the bathroom facility modern without losing the historical feel of the place. The breakfast served every morning was incredible. The selection, variety and quality of the food was superb. Fresh blueberries, blackberries, raspberries and strawberries in January? They were there, along with fresh pineapple, cantaloupe and watermelon! The rest of the breakfast selection is too lengthy to list here, but everything was delicious and they also serve amazing coffee available 24/7. Add to this a free shuttle to local attractions, free parking and walking distance to many museums. You can't go wrong staying at this place. Staff was friendly and helpful. I highly recommend this Inn if you're planning a stay in Detroit!!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northville, Michigan, United States
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

I took my husband here for a surprise night out for his birthday. The staff was extremely helpful and nice, our room was charming and the entire facility was warm and inviting. The hotel offered a complimentary shuttle service which we took advantage of - dropped us off for dinner one place and picked us up at the Fox theater later that night. So nice not to have to park downtown. Also included was a delicious breakfast with fresh fruit, waffles, eggs, flavored coffees, etc. we loved our time not only for the wonderful service but also for such a beautiful and historic restored B&B. Simply gorgeous. Felt like home- especially with the welcoming cookie an water bottle that awaited us upon arrival in our King Deluxe room. Thanks!

  • Stayed January 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Huber Heights
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2013

Combine the focused vision of native Detroiter Sue Mosey with a neighborhood ripe for personal services development, and you’ll find yourself enveloped within The Inn on Ferry Street; a combination of charming brick homes and carriage houses nestled within one of Detroit’s thriving cultural oases. Locally referred to as a “boutique hostelry” Sue has transformed the B&B concept to a refreshingly innovative level through the Inn’s non-profit affiliation. Seemingly supportive of local businesses, we were welcomed to our room with Avalon Breads’ Oatmeal Raisin Cookies – “From the Hearth and Soul of Detroit”, Yummy! With very well appointed accommodations and common areas, there is a simple elegance about this place – I did find myself wondering about the painting over the fireplace in the main breakfast area which appeared out of place.

The staff was professional, attentive, and focused – each apparently aware of the importance of their particular role to the overall operation. The staff of shuttle drivers were well suited for Ms. Mosey’s vision; with Steve being a Proud and Knowledgeable champion of/for Detroit; from its’ colorful and historic past to its’ enticing future – He really is Special!

Considering included amenities - Off Street Parking + Local Shuttle Service + Location + Breakfast, the rates are a bargain. This is a 5 star operation in every sense of this assessment, with my having given The Inn on Ferry Street a score of 4.9 on a 1 to 5 scale. (Our room within the John R. Carriage House did not have a means for controlling individual room temperatures – with the overall temperature being slightly higher than we would be accustomed to sleeping comfortably under).

We’re looking forward to visiting Detroit again, soon. Well done Ms. Mosey!

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bowmanville, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2013

A little weekend away to the Inn on Ferry was a perfect romantic getaway. The room was very nice, with great overall ambiance. A great breakfast, and best of all, free shuttle service to take us to museums, restaurants, etc. We'll be back to this Inn.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 15, 2013

In the early 2000s, I live on Ferry Street just across Woodward from the Inn, and I always wanted to stay there. Of course, living in the same neighborhood, I was never able to justify doing so. Ten years later, as my fiancé I am we planning our wedding, we decided that the Inn on Ferry Street would be a wonderful (and romantic) choice for our wedding night. We couldn’t have been so right!

It is truly a beautiful historic Inn. Staff is polite, breakfast was enjoyable, and the location is the best in Detroit. We had a small wedding, and no one stayed at the Inn (as they all lived in the area). About 15 of our guests arrived at the Inn after the ceremony, in which the Inn provided a complementary shuttle to EVERYONE to our event downtown. After picking us up at the end of the reception, the shuttle driver even stopped for us at our old liquor store so we could pick up some bubbly for a (small) after party wedding celebration in our room. Overall, everyone was polite and accommodating. Much like fine customer service in the city, the Inn on Ferry Street is a rare commodity and a true gem! Enjoy it:)

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 22, 2012

My girlfriend and I travel a fair bit for work, usually apart, so we make up for it with short and nearby staycations. We've visited the Inn on Ferry Street twice for romantic getaways and both times we've been wowed by the affordable luxury of old world Detroit as offered by the Inn. The series of historic homes that comprise the Inn are one block north of the DIA, located in Midtown Detroit, and are simply delightful. The quiet, understated elegance and comfort of the rooms make this a far preferable location for a couples night than any casino-operated option (for which there are many in the city). Safe, secure, and convenient parking allow you to either use your own car or their shuttle service to access other locations in the city.

Room Tip: Haven't found a bad room....and we've stayed in Queen Deluxe rooms on two occasions, each ti...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn on Ferry Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Ferry Street

Address: 84 E. Ferry St., Detroit, MI 48202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
#2 Business Hotel in Detroit
#3 Family Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn on Ferry Street 3.5*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Priceline, Cheap Tickets and Hotels.com so you can book your Inn on Ferry Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Ferry Street Hotel Detroit

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn on Ferry Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.