We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Historic small inn near Wayne State University.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Inn on Ferry Street

Save Saved
You added Inn on Ferry Street to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Inn on Ferry Street
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   84 E. Ferry St., Detroit, MI 48202   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 33 hotels in Detroit
Portland, Oregon, United States
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
“Historic small inn near Wayne State University.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 9, 2012 via mobile

Interesting inn comprised of remodeled historic homes. Rooms are clean, baths are modern, continental breakfast is excellent. Rooms are noisy (you can hear neighbors), and there are no elevators for upper floors.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

301 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    224
    60
    8
    3
    6
See reviews for
24
113
34
70
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012 via mobile

Miles apart from the big chain hotels. The property is stunning. We were met with kindness and given our choice of room. If anything I would say that if you are looking for charming staff, comfortable accommodations, and a better level of personal care, book here!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Southfield, Michigan
Top Contributor
254 reviews 254 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 87 cities Reviews in 87 cities
69 helpful votes 69 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 4, 2012

We purchased a romantic package room with champagne, chocolates, a dozen roses and a whirlpool bath in one of the restored historic homes at the Inn on Ferry Street. It's located in Detroit's cultural center of the city next to the Detroit Institute of Arts.
The Inn is a Detroit jewel! CDs for our room player featured excellent, locally produced music of Mack Ave Records. Free Wi-Fi is available throughout. The reception area in the Scott House served coffee and pastries from the Great Lakes Roasters and Avalon Bakery close by. Free shuttle service was provided for any venues within a five mile radius.
Our room and the public sitting areas in the Pungs House were decorated with influences from the Victorian era. Everyone there was pleasant, helpful and dressed professionally. The food offerings were fresh and tasty. One could choose to mingle in the dining area or sit and read the wide selection of newspapers by the fireplace.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco, California
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2012

My wife and I had a great first stay at the Inn on Ferry Street. Location is near the Detroit Institute of Arts and Wayne State University, the nexus for downtown Detroit's urban revival. Our room and private bath were spacious and tastefully decorated, with upscale amenities. Breakfast delightful in the main building's drawing room/dining room. Shuttle driver (Steve) was full of details on the neighborhood's history and nearby attractions. Highly recommend.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Paul, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 26, 2012 via mobile

My experience at the Inn on Ferry Street was wonderful. While I was skeptical at first about not staying at my usual chain hotel, my stay turned out very positive. I stayed in the main house - Scott House, which I know was key to my very positive review. The breakfast is superb for a complimentary, far exceeding many others' breakfast offering.

PROS: free wifi, free breakfast, free shuttle within 5 miles, business center, home-like setting, great staff (Rita), CD player with CDs!, full array of cable channels,

CONS: no elevator; no onsite restaurant for lunch and dinner, although they do sell snacks, soda, and even wine.

The carpet is worn and could stand to be replaced. However, it won't stop me from staying here again and again...

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

We reserved for 2 nights two weeks ago, but extended for one more night. The Inn has 4 restored homes plus 2 carriage houses and a fenced parking area in back, convenient and secure - we were on the 2nd floor of the Pungs House, room 1202. We were impressed with the outstanding restoration, colors, fixtures and features and no squeaky floors. We spent about $162/night AAA rate (including tax). Our clean comfortable room had a rounded tower space in the corner with lots of light, a nice table & chairs for dining or computer work (WiFi was fine), a view of the quiet shaded street and flowers, a decorative fireplace and updated bathroom with a great shower.
Breakfast included choices of scrambled eggs, scones, bagels and muffins, yoghurt, fresh berries, fresh fruits like pineapple and melon,waffles and cereals. Apples and oranges were available in the lobby all day along with chocolates, coffee/tea and newspapers. Service at the Inn was excellent. For example,there were no ice machines in the house but a call to the main building brought a prompt delivery to our door within a few minutes. We did have to call about the programmed thermostat (set to cool only) but received immediate attention.
The Detroit Institute of Arts (catch the great Diego Rivera Murals) and other museums, the beautiful Central Library, Wayne State University and the sports stadiums were all within walking distance as well as restaurants and bakeries. Vegetarians should try Seva's.
We hope to return to the Inn on Ferry Street and we are grateful for the vision and drive to preserve and restore these gracious old homes in the cultural heart of the city.

Room Tip: Rm 1202 in Pungs House was a less expensive room but was large enough, quiet, and had a nice corner...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay View, Wisconsin, United States
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2012

My husband and I stayed here when I had an art opening. Beautiful buildings and easy to find. Our room wasn't much to speak of...more like a nice hotel room than the romantic B&B style as described to us. Small too. My husband had wanted to surprise me with their roses/chocolates/champaign, but the staff never put it in the room. There was a wedding party booked the same weekend and the guests were very loud, which would have been o.k. in a regular hotel, but in a 'house' it's annoying.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Inn on Ferry Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Inn on Ferry Street

Address: 84 E. Ferry St., Detroit, MI 48202
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Room Service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
#2 Best Value Hotel in Detroit
#3 Business Hotel in Detroit
#5 Family Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Inn on Ferry Street 3.5*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Tingo, Priceline, Travelocity, Despegar.com, BookingOdigeoWL and Otel so you can book your Inn on Ferry Street reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Inn On Ferry Street Hotel Detroit

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Inn on Ferry Street, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.