We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If you are physically disabled, this building is torture!” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center to your Saves list
Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Renaissance Dr, Detroit, MI 48243   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Batter Up Baseball Fans!
Ranked #15 of 34 Hotels in Detroit
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“If you are physically disabled, this building is torture!”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2011

The service and room was nice. I was there for the Motor City Tattoo Expo and didn't feel judged.

But then I invited my friend that lives in town to meet me. She wears a boot due to breaking her Tibia, Fibula and Ankle a while back, and taking escalators is an olympic sport. You cannot take just any elevator to get from the 1st to 2nd floor. For some reason you can only go from 1st floor to the 3rd floor and above. And then you can only take the level A elevator to level 2 and not level 1.

Seriously had to walk around for about 45 minutes to find a way for her to get up to the 3rd floor for the expo. THAT IS RIDICULOUS!!!!! I know that it is not the Hotel's fault... blame GM and the architects. I'm just letting all those that are disabled know of the difficulties this building gives. If you are able bodied... its a cool place to stay. Good luck if you aren't.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

966 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    381
    206
    92
    59
See reviews for
117
190
53
408
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Truckee, California
Senior Contributor
46 reviews 46 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 20 cities Reviews in 20 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 26, 2011

BEWARE!!!! i stayed in room 6402 and for only two night and got bitten repeatedly by bedbugs. i thought the quality for a Marriot was sub-standard, and i have never had this experience at a Marriott before, but i warn you if you are staying - be sure to do a thorough inspection before you sleep there!!!

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Milwaukee, Wisconsin
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2011

I was very surprised by the negative reviews that I read about this hotel. I just stayed at this hotel for 2 nights while on a business trip & thought it was lovely. Detroit is known for being a rough, rundown city however, the hotel is located in the beautiful downtown area right on the water.

My room was small, but very neat and clean. I had a great view of the lake and Ceaser's Palace Casino from my window. The hotel itself had an awesome, unique design because it's located in the GM Renaisssance Center.

The front desk staff was very friendly & helpful. Ate a great breakfast buffett at the hotel restaurant (once again, BEAUTIFUL lake view and very friendly/helpful staff). Also had appetizers and drinks with co-workers at the hotel bar Volt located in the lobby. Food and drink were excellent and our waitress was very sweet and attentive.

I have no complaints about this hotel. I had an excellent stay!

Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 9, 2011

Stayed for three nights. This place is expensive, its empty, neglected (the elevator shook much more than what could be considered comfortable) the staff were very rude and gave me all kinds of attitude when I inquired about the $13 cost of Wi-Fi. For all the expense of this hotel, the fitness room is small, there is no pool, there is no whirlpool (hot tub), and the rooms were significantly smaller than other hotels which are $50-$70 cheaper per night to stay in. In summary I would say that this hotel embodies modern Detroit, the shadow of something great that's now fallen into neglect and disrepair. Don't pay $200 per night for this over sized motel 6 (which has free Wi-Fi by the way). Stay in the Courtyard Marriott across the way. Much better over there.

  • Stayed February 2011, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 7, 2011

I booked this hotel on priceline. I ended up paying $89 for one night.
A few friends and I went to this hotel for the Bears vs Lions football game. This hotel is right by the river, the entrance is just past the tunnel to get into Toronto. The staff was extremely friendly. The rooms were clean, and the beds were comfortable. The only problem we had was finding our way back to the parking garage from the hotel. It was a maze! After we checked out of the room, and started to drive home, I noticed that we forgot the GPS in the hotel room. We called the hotel, and they had the maid look for it. She found the GPS! I was soooo happy! I would definitely recommend this hotel to anybody staying in Detroit! I would definitely stay here again (if I could get a great deal again)

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Top Contributor
71 reviews 71 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 51 cities Reviews in 51 cities
143 helpful votes 143 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 20, 2011

I've stayed twice in this property for business travel. The first time I distinctly remember the roly-poly feeling of the circular hallways and the poor cleanliness of the rooms. In fact, on my first stay I had to change rooms not once but twice before I was able to find one that had been cleaned from the previous guest. But you get that sometimes, especially when arriving late at night. I guess.

This time I'm beginning to wonder if I'm spotting a trend. I arrived at the hotel mid-day and checked-in. All seemed well, given a room with a nice river view. The room was filthy with mysterious and unsettling carpet stains. I failed to properly inspect the bathroom until later in the evening after returning from dinner. It clearly hadn't been cleaned - aside from a fresh stack of towels, there was a partial roll of toilet tissue and no facial tissues, and obvious stains/debris from the previous guest left to greet me in the toilet.

One three other Detroit visits I've stayed at the Courtyard, connected to RenCen via a skywalk. I'd recommend that hotel 1000 times over this one. Dated furnishings can be forgiven, but such egregious housekeeping failings cannot. Skip this place and don't give them the business.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
17 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 16, 2011

I stayed at the Marriott-Ren Center for only two nights in September 2010 and I was happy to leave. Valet parking was terrible when I first arrived and I waited 15 minutes to have my car parked. Check-in staff was the rudest I've encountered anywhere. Layout of the property was confusing and room was small and cramped. The room I got smelled of smoke, so I called the front desk and they did move me to a new room. I've read this property also has bedbugs, but I didn't notice any in my room. Terrible service ruined my stay and I won't be back. If you want to stay at a Marriott downtown, try the Courtyard across the street.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center

Address: 400 Renaissance Dr, Detroit, MI 48243
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
#10 Business Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soaring 73 floors above the Detroit River, the Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center is ideally located in downtown Detroit, situated on the RiverWalk and next to Hart Plaza. The hotel is within the GM Renaissance Center, which provides convenient access to shopping, restaurants and entertainment. The Detroit "People Mover" public transportation system enables guests to visit top attractions that surround the hotel. Floor-to-ceiling windows and dramatic views highlight our hotel rooms, while a reinvented lobby boasts functional seating and business friendly amenities in a trendy setting. Delight in the stylishly urban ambiance of Volt, and enjoy breakfast, lunch, dinner and evening cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott and Hotels.com so you can book your Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Detroit Marriott At The Renaissance Hotel Detroit
Detroit Renaissance At Center
Marriott Detroit
Renaissance Detroit

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.