We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel, No Wifi” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center to your Saves list
Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Renaissance Dr, Detroit, MI 48243   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Batter Up Baseball Fans!
Ranked #15 of 34 Hotels in Detroit
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
58 helpful votes 58 helpful votes
“Good Hotel, No Wifi”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

I stayed at this hotel for a conference and have no complaints. It was clean, in a good location downtown and if you are here for a conference there are a bunch of shops, including a drugstore, and you don't have to leave the hotel area. I was lucky enough to stay on the 20th floor and the view was beautiful. I spent a lot of time after work just staring out at the city and the river. The only complaint I have is that you have to pay for wifi but that seems to be the case with all Marriott hotels.

Room Tip: Try to stay on a top floor. The view is amazing!
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Guest Relations Manager at Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Greetings from Detroit and thank you for choosing to stay with us on your recent visit. We're happy to hear that your experience was a success and we do apologize about your disappointment with our wifi policy. We thank you once again and hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

967 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    381
    207
    92
    59
See reviews for
117
190
53
409
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

We had booked out room back in march after we had purchased ticket to the eminem concert. Check in time was 3 and we arrived at 430 to complete chaos! As the elevator doors opened to the lobby it was the most unbelievable thing I have ever seen. People were everywhere waiting in line to check in. The line was so long we weren't even in the lobby anymore we were twist and turned down hallways. After realizing we would in no way make our concert in time by the time we checked in we left the line and went to the motor city casino where our friends were staying. We ended up staying there on their floor as at that point I was not giving the hotel any of our money. We called and cancelled our room and the only thing they had done right all day was cancel it with no charge. Will never stay here as I will never recommend this hotel to anyone!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Guest Relations Manager at Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Hello Ash and thank you for posting. We appreciate you choosing to stay with us and we definitely apologize for the issues at check-in this past weekend. Our team was working diligently to accommodate the large number of guests who arrived in unison. Should you wish to speak with our general manager regarding your stay, please feel free to email her directly at detroitmarriott@marriott.com. Once again, we definitely apologize for any and all issues.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

I booked this hotel to go to a family wedding via priceline for $160/night, so I didn't know where we would be staying until after my credit card was charged. I came straight to trip advisor to read reviews after that, and was concerned about the number of recent complaints about the service. I can happily report that we had a much better experience than I expected.

The front desk staff was incredibly friendly and helpful when we arrived (I was really surprised after all the bad reviews about service!). I requested a portable crib for our baby and he said he would send it up right away. We got to our room on the 44th floor and were marveling at the incredible view of the river and the skyline in Canada across the way. Within a couple of minutes, a friendly attendant knocked on the door with the crib, which he helpfully set up for us and then even thoughtfully brought us extra towels for the baby. A few minutes later, a woman called from the desk to make sure we had gotten the crib we requested.

The room was clean and the view was spectacular. The building (the Renaissance Center) is a very iconic set of towers with GM's headquarters offices, and a number of shops and restaurants. It is right on the water and is walking-distance to downtown restaurants, etc. It was nice having a Starbucks and CVS right in the building. The elevators seem a little old-fashioned but I was always pleasantly surprised by how quickly they arrived given how many floors there are.

The (relatively minor) cons: Parking was a little tricky (we parked in the garage across the street for $20/day but to get in/out privileges you have to go inside the office there and book >2days at once-- which we didn't know about) or you can park valet for $25/day at the front of the hotel. It seemed pretty crowded during the weekend though (several weddings/concerts going on, etc) so I am not sure if there would've been a wait to get your car. Also, the bathroom in our room was on the small side (sort of a cramped spot between the toilet and tub to sit down and bathe the baby) and had no fan but it was clean and functional. Finally, the key-card reader for both our room and the elevator were pretty finicky and could be frustrating at times.

Overall, we thought it was a pretty neat experience to stay in this building and it was ideally located to see a little bit of Detroit this weekend.

Room Tip: Ask for a good view of the river and Canada!
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Guest Relations Manager at Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Hello Pete and thank you not only for visiting with us, but for taking your time to write such a thorough review of your stay. We're happy to hear that you were pleasantly surprised while visiting and we hope to see you again on your next visit to Detroit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

We stayed at this hotel on Saturday, August 23rd. We were in town for the Eminem & Rihanna concert.
I have never witnessed such a check-in debacle in my entire life.
Upon arriving at reception on the 3rd floor to check into our room, we were greeted by a 3.5 hour long check-in line. It snaked all over the hotel. Hundreds of guests, including ourselves were extremely Inconvenienced, and missed the beginning of the concert (started at 7:30).
The hotel check-in time was 3pm, and the hotel was fully booked, yet they didn't have all of their reception desks open. At $300/night, management should be ashamed, perhaps even fired for delivering the worst customer service I've ever experienced.
I strongly advise all fellow travelers to look elsewhere when looking for accommodations in Detroit.
I don't usually write these, but this disastrous experience compelled me to inform others.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Guest Relations Manager at Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Greetings from Detroit and please know that we are terribly sorry to hear that you visit here was ruined as a result of your visit with us. Should you wish to speak with our general manager, please feel free to email details of your visit along with contact information to detroitmarriott@marriott.com. On behalf of our entire team, we definitely apologize and we thank you for staying.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2014

My boyfriend and I stayed at the Detroit Renaissance Centre Marriott on Friday August 22 after seeing eminem perform. Our check in and the comfiness of our bed were the only positives of our entire stay.

Our shortened laundry list of problems:
2 hour wait for room service, even when we asked only to order a simple drink.
Because we could not order drinks to our room - we went downtownstairs to the hotel lobby to withdraw cash for the soda machine on our floor. When we asked reception to break a 20 so we could get a drink - they refused.
After this ordeal the elevators to the high rise floors were put on service - our room was on the 58th floor and we were forced to walk up 18 flights of stairs.
We were prepared for a late night - however guests on our floor had music blasting until around 3:30am
We were awaken by an absolutely foul smell in our room in the morning that smelled like a damp skunk.
10 minutes prior to our check out time hotel staff were knocking on our door to kick us out.
To add insult to injury it was virtually impossible to get ahold of concierge without making a trip to the lobby.





  • Stayed August 2014
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Guest Relations Manager at Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Hello Melissa and thank you for taking your time to post. We are terribly sorry for the inconveniences while visiting. Should you wish to speak with our general manager directly, please email detroitmarriott@marriott.com with details and contact information. We truly apologize and thank you for visiting us here in Detroit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Came here to see the eminem concert in August we cancelled our previous hotel due to some issues with management and got this one last minute, so glad we did.

One of our friends was running late and accidentally booked his own hotel while we had already booked ours, 2 hours when we arrived back at our hotel we found out he had already booked talked to one of the managers and they agreed to cancel his hotel HASSLE and charge FREE!

The best customer service, amazing view from the 43rd floor, and friendly staff! Will definitely be using this hotel if we ever come back!

  • Stayed August 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Guest Relations Manager at Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center, responded to this review, August 30, 2014
Hello Steven and thank you so much for the wonderful five star review! We're thrilled to hear that you enjoyed everything. Please visit soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 23, 2014

Guests beware. Do not bring valuables to this Hotel. They have and protect their staff that steal. The security does nothing to help, very Mickey Mouse or like Keystone Cops. Maybe the security works with the housekeeping The Loss Deptartment just gives you legal babble. The hotel is nice, but I will NEVER stay there again.
The maid didn't even put all of the clean towels back. She was too busy rifling in my jewelry.

Room Tip: Face the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Guest Relations Manager at Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center, responded to this review, October 4, 2014
Hello Michigan Lily and thank you for visiting us in August. We apologize for not posting sooner, however we wanted to properly research before offering a reply. We confirmed with our Loss Prevention team that during late August there are no outstanding lost and found issues. On the contrary, the three claims our property did receive for "lost items" all resulted in the items being found after guests departed, and all items were successfully returned to their owners. Should you wish to speak with our general manager regarding your visit and the issues you noted, please feel free to email detroitmarriott@mariott.com. We thank you once again for visiting and we look forward to hearing from you so that we can assist further.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center

Address: 400 Renaissance Dr, Detroit, MI 48243
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
#10 Business Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soaring 73 floors above the Detroit River, the Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center is ideally located in downtown Detroit, situated on the RiverWalk and next to Hart Plaza. The hotel is within the GM Renaissance Center, which provides convenient access to shopping, restaurants and entertainment. The Detroit "People Mover" public transportation system enables guests to visit top attractions that surround the hotel. Floor-to-ceiling windows and dramatic views highlight our hotel rooms, while a reinvented lobby boasts functional seating and business friendly amenities in a trendy setting. Delight in the stylishly urban ambiance of Volt, and enjoy breakfast, lunch, dinner and evening cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott and Hotels.com so you can book your Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Detroit Marriott At The Renaissance Hotel Detroit
Detroit Renaissance At Center
Marriott Detroit
Renaissance Detroit

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.