We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Inconvenient Building and Unimpressive Marriott” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center to your Saves list
Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Renaissance Dr, Detroit, MI 48243   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Earn Rewards Points!
Ranked #14 of 34 Hotels in Detroit
Edina, Minnesota
Top Contributor
67 reviews 67 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
“Inconvenient Building and Unimpressive Marriott”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 11, 2014

I stayed at this Marriott during a severe cold spell when the nighttime temperature was down to 14 degrees below zero. It is an expensive hotel, and when I stay at expensive hotels I expect near perfection. First, the Renaissance Center is one of the least efficient and overly complex buildings I have ever attempted to navigate. Multiple cylindrical towers, connected by these ridiculous racetracks where one must circumnavigate rather than walk directly from tower to tower. The directional signage is extremely poor, to get to the hotel lobby it requires one to walk around a lighted circular runway and then take escalators to an upper floor ... all overly elaborate. Difficult to explain, but let me tell you that this is not good architecture it is a horrible layout that never considered the needs of a traveler. Second, the hotel is not well insulated. Like I said, it was a very cold night, and I was staying on one of the upper floors in the hotel looking out across the water to Windsor Canada. I literally could not heat up the room. There was a prevailing draft that actively blew from the window wall toward my bed from the ground to about two feet upward. When I opened the curtains the entire wall of windows was covered in ice. Third, the food is very expensive -- dinner $87, breakfast $25. I know that General Motors HQ is right there, so the Marriott no doubt benefits from a lot of business travel, but it really is just not a good Marriott -- and I have stayed in a lot of Marriott hotels. Consequently, unless you must, I recommend that you stay somewhere else. Especially if it is a cold night and you want to get some sleep without the risk of freezing to death.

Green Features: There is nothing environmentally friendly about a property that is an energy drain like this one. The design and huge open spaces do nothing for energy efficiency, so I am hard-pressed to understand how they could claim any "environmentally friendly practices".
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Public Relations Manager at Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
CSB, thank you for taking the time to write your review. We want you to know that all of your feedback has been passed to our hotel manager for his review. It is feedback such as yours which allows us to constantly improve. It should be noted that we are not only in process beginning a $30M renovation to our guest rooms, but we also are working diligently to improve signage that will allow guests to better navigate the entire property. Once again, thank you and we hope that you will in fact return.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

874 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    199
    350
    190
    81
    54
See reviews for
106
166
51
373
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (263)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 5, 2014

Stayed here on a Bachelor Party weekend for a few of the guys it was their first trip to Detroit. The hotel is a great location if your going to any of a hockey game baseball game or football game. Its in walking distance but if its cold out or raining you can hop on the monorail right next door and get anywhere in downtown Detroit really fast. The Renaissance centre across the street is a perfect land mark to help you find the hotel on your way home, especially if your staggering down the road if you know what I mean.

Perfect location for Canadians as its right across from the boarder crossing, if you get lost trying to find this place you need to seek help seriously.

Only Negative no pool

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Public Relations Manager at Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Hello and thank you for writing your review! We're happy to hear that the bachelor weekend was a hit for everyone who attended! Thanks again for staying and we hope to see you again soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2014

This is the best hotel in downtown Detroit, right on the river, with nice views of the lake and Canada across the water. The concierge room is very nice (for Gold and Platinum members).
The drawback is the Renaissance Center in which the hotel is located. The building is a maze and it takes a long time to get from your hotel room to the front of the building. It's difficult to get a cellphone signal on the higher floors. The hotel does offer wifi.

  • Stayed November 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Public Relations Manager at Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
Ruth, thank you for your wonderful words about our hotel! We appreciate all of the feedback and hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wilmette, Illinois
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 1, 2014

Kids loved our 62 floor rooms, with views out over the river and city beyond. It's not rocket science to figure out the 3rd floor lobby, but it is a big complex. Yes, it's time for the early 2014 sprucing up promised, but with over 1300 rooms and the GM headquarters next door, it's a city within a city. Service also needs a little attention as others have pointed out. I called for sheets for our pullout sofa, which a young man delivered, dumping them on the bed and departing without a thought of offering to help. When I pay $300 a night for a room, I would expect a little help. Again overall, I would recommend this hotel. This is the revived Detroit one rarely hears about, along with the fabulous museums, fascinating architecture (in various states of repair/disrepair) that makes this a different kind of destination vacation.

Room Tip: Higher floors for great views, but very chilly by floor to ceiling windows (it was about 14F).
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ami W, Public Relations Manager at Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center, responded to this review, January 25, 2014
AmericanInHeidelberg, thank you for your feedback and for staying. Yes, we too are very excited about our upcoming renovation and we are also excited that said renovation will relocate the thermostats away from the windows, allowing for better climate control throughout our guest rooms. We sincerely apologize for the situation with your sheets. We agree that assistance should have been offered and we thank you for bringing the situation to our attention. Thanks again for staying and we hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

Helpful and friendly staff. Nice, clean and spacious rooms. Pay for valet. It's only a few bucks more than parking in the parking garage across the street and is much more convenient. I was in a hurry to get ready for an event and my bags took a long time to get to my room and I had to call the front desk. That's the only reason they didn't get the 5 stars from me.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Costa Mesa, California
Senior Contributor
28 reviews 28 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 31, 2013

I hadn't been to Detroit in a long time so staying at the Mariott at the Ren Center was like visiting an old friend. The hotel is perfectly located in downtown and has great views. It's huge so it feels a bit impersonal but does the job for a business stay. You almost need a map to get around the hotel though so give yourself time when walking to the restaurants.

  • Stayed December 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sterling Heights
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 24, 2013

We needed to get away for the night. Looking at reviews and amenities of downtown hotels, I gave my husband the choice of view or ratings. Since he is a "room with a view" person, the Marriott at the Renaissance Center was it. They are known for the best view in Detroit, but not the best reviews.

My husband can navigate the streets of Detroit blindfolded, yet we could not figure out for the life of us where to park and enter this hotel. The signage couldn't be any more vague. Of course we park and enter in the wrong area and then we had to navigate the rat maze like layout of the Renaissance Center. At 10:30 on a Friday night, the place is so desolate that there was no one to ask.

We finally found the registration desk and I asked about a restroom and a store to get some refreshments, I was told there were no open restrooms or stores in the building. Then when confirming my room, I asked for an unobstructed view of the city and the desk clerk changed our room to confirm this and then just let us walk away.

What she didn't tell us was that the guest elevators were down a different hallway and that you need the key card to go up past the 3rd floor. So we first got in the wrong elevators and then in the right one, didn't see the key card slot that was at the bottom of the floor buttons and didn't hear the announcement in the elevator car. We went back down to the 1st floor before we figured it out. After walking probably a mile around this place, I was really starting to get over it.

When we finally got to our hotel room, we had to search for a light switch in the complete dark, and what I found was a standard, dingy, somewhat outdated hotel room. The bedding and bathroom were clean, although a couple of lights were burned out, it was just "meh."

Then I opened our curtains to reveal our view, we just saw complete white. Up on the 65th floor, it was a foggy night in Detroit. Ughh...We decided to get some adult beverages to make the best of it. My husband asked about a local store, and the front desk said there was one right across the street. He went out the front of the hotel, only to realize what the front desk thought was a store, was an auction house. He tried to get back in the hotel to walk to the other side to get the car to drive to find a store. Nope, no entrance in the front of the hotel. He then had to walk all the way around. In the meantime, I read in the guest services book that no outside alcohol is allowed on the premises. Bawahaha! Room service was already closed and I wouldn't pay $10 a beer anyhow. I knew we should have stopped at the store before going in!

What irritates me is that a little customer service would go a long way. Make better signage to guide your guests into your hotel. Tell them how to get to their rooms. Make sure lights aren't burned out or a light switch is easily accessible in the dark. Have open restrooms. Know your city, the location and what's around it. And for God's sake, if your hotel is known for it's views, KNOW WHAT IS THE BEST VIEW during all weather and situations. That's what guests are paying for...the view, because it certainly isn't amenities or customer service.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center

Address: 400 Renaissance Dr, Detroit, MI 48243
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #14 of 34 Hotels in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soaring 73 floors above the Detroit River, the Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center is ideally located in downtown Detroit, situated on the RiverWalk and next to Hart Plaza. The hotel is within the GM Renaissance Center, which provides convenient access to shopping, restaurants and entertainment. The Detroit "People Mover" public transportation system enables guests to visit top attractions that surround the hotel. Floor-to-ceiling windows and dramatic views highlight our hotel rooms, while a reinvented lobby boasts functional seating and business friendly amenities in a trendy setting. Delight in the stylishly urban ambiance of Volt, and enjoy breakfast, lunch, dinner and evening cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Marriott, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Detroit Marriott At The Renaissance Hotel Detroit
Detroit Renaissance At Center
Marriott Detroit
Renaissance Detroit

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.