We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center to your Saves list
Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Renaissance Dr, Detroit, MI 48243   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Batter Up Baseball Fans!
Ranked #15 of 34 Hotels in Detroit
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Good choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2013 via mobile

I was pleasantly surprised at the condition & service offered at this venue. For the age of the facility, it is in great condition. For the experienced hotel professional you may see signs of aging, but the cleanliness & service as well as quality of food are right up there with the newer venues. The band at the Italian restaurant is fantastic! Notorious is their name and they sang Motown like the stars! Very nice weekend! Nice views of the Detroit river & access to the river walk. All good for a positive experience!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

964 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    227
    380
    206
    92
    59
See reviews for
117
189
53
407
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Miami, Florida, United States
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2013

My friend and I purchased an Orion Music Festival package that included a room at this hotel. I have to say, it was a great experience. We arrived at 11:30 a.m. and were checked in and given our room right away. I understand that this was not what everyone else experienced unfortunately. But I do have to mention that the hotel was hosting 5 weddings and Orion Fest attendees. We had a room on the 44th floor so the view was nice. Our room was a very good size, was clean, and comfortable - loved the in room a/c controls. The Volt Bar/Lounge/Restaurant was good, although their selection of alcohol was lacking. Being from Miami, I am use to a large selection of top shelf liquors. The food there was good but the service, while good, can be slow. Overall it was a very pleasant stay.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 10, 2013 via mobile

Stayed here one night in June. Besides for being confusing to find parking and the lobby, it was a good stay. Average room with great view of river and Windsor. I think it is overpriced but, good location with people mover in the building. If you are headed to the D check it out.

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Upland, California
Senior Contributor
41 reviews 41 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 7, 2013

All encompassing everything you'll need in this one stop hotel site. Located on the Detroit River directly across from Canada. Rooms are a good size, clean and quiet, with views to either downtown or the river. This is huge complex, five levels of meeting rooms, shops, restaurants, even a food court and CSV Drug Store in case you forgot to pack something. I got turned around several times the first few days. Almost every staff member greeted me as I walked through the hotel with a smile or 'hello'. The 'people mover', a train which loops the downtown area, has a station right in the hotel. For .75 cents you can ride to various parts of downtown and back again. Never having been to Detroit, this business trip has left me with wanting to see what a vacation there would bring.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013 via mobile

Really enjoyed my stay here. The room was on the 58th floor over looking the river and on to Canada. Found it a little confusing when we entered from the street and the lobby was on the 3rd floor. But easily the thing that was better than the view was the bed. Wow...best bed ever and best hotel sleep in a long time. Would stay here again and will certainly recommend this hotel to anyone going to Detroit.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brighton, Michigan
Top Contributor
66 reviews 66 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

We recently stayed at this hotel for the Detroit Grand Prix. We found parking to be very easy and inexpensive. The front desk was professional and fast. We booked the standard king room. There was a mini fridge, a safe, and a large flat screen tv. Everything was clean and well appointed. The furniture has seen some wear, but overall in good condition. We had a great view of the river from our ninth floor roon. Given the price and the great location, I highly recommend this hotel. Be aware that the Renaissance Center has got to be one of the most confusing buildings ever constructed. This is no fault of the hotel. Just pay attention to the signs and ask friendly staff and you'll get where you're going......with patience.

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
123 reviews 123 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 40 cities Reviews in 40 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 2, 2013 via mobile

The staff of the Detroit Marriott at the Ren Cen are proof positive that this property and the entire Marriott system know what they are doing!
We enjoyed an amazing Junior King suite for the weekend while we were in town for the Detroit Grand Prix! The accommodations were immaculate and the service we received was second to none!
Well done on all aspects, including valet services, front desk, reservations, "at your service group" an housekeeping!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center

Address: 400 Renaissance Dr, Detroit, MI 48243
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
#10 Business Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soaring 73 floors above the Detroit River, the Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center is ideally located in downtown Detroit, situated on the RiverWalk and next to Hart Plaza. The hotel is within the GM Renaissance Center, which provides convenient access to shopping, restaurants and entertainment. The Detroit "People Mover" public transportation system enables guests to visit top attractions that surround the hotel. Floor-to-ceiling windows and dramatic views highlight our hotel rooms, while a reinvented lobby boasts functional seating and business friendly amenities in a trendy setting. Delight in the stylishly urban ambiance of Volt, and enjoy breakfast, lunch, dinner and evening cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Marriott and Hotels.com so you can book your Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Detroit Marriott At The Renaissance Hotel Detroit
Detroit Renaissance At Center
Marriott Detroit
Renaissance Detroit

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.