We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Heights for a beautiful view” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Save
You added Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center to your Saves list
Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   400 Renaissance Dr, Detroit, MI 48243   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Batter Up Baseball Fans!
Ranked #15 of 34 Hotels in Detroit
Northfield, Ohio
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Great Heights for a beautiful view”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

The Marriot was gorgeous at Ren Cen- soft bed with luxurious linens, wonderful food at the wedding reception at the restaurant. My husband enjoyed the GM cars all around. A little confusing to walk around the four buildings and then find our car in the correct garage.
The view from our 53rd floor room was amazing- see the river, Canada, fireworks, etc.
Enjoy!!

Room Tip: Choose a high -rise room for the view and fun ride in the high speed elevators!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

965 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    228
    380
    206
    92
    59
See reviews for
117
190
53
407
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (293)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

The Marriott was a great hotel. The staff was always nice and friendly. Every room has a fairly large safe approx 11" x 15" x 8" or so. Free wireless in the lobby/bar area and there was enough seating for non-drinkers too! First night, our King size bed had a Queen or Double Flat sheet on it. Quite upsetting to find out at bedtime. I love the Marriott linens, but they really need to come up with a light weight blanket. Sheet is not enough, yet down comforter is too much. Nice large flat screen TV with lots of channels. Beautiful view of the river and Canada. Loved the People Mover to go ride and see the rest of downtown. This is about 4 large cylinder buildings joined by an atrium. You can access the food court, Starbucks, conference rooms, hotel rooms, restaurants, CVS Pharmacy, GM Showroom, ball rooms, etc without having to go outside. And to do all that is not a lot of walking. Yes, some walking, but no alot. Easy access to city and great resonably priced restaurants labeled as bars and tavern within 2 blocks of hotel. Old town and architecture is beautiful! The hotel is more of a modern feel in the atrium as it is concrete with what appears to be flotaing walkways. Beautiful! The views in almost every room are unbeleivable! We were with a large group and did not have challenging elevator issues like we have had at other hotels. They had plenty and express for the upper levels. I was there 4 days and never had a bad meal. I had my guard up hearing so many things about Detroit, but I did not feel unsafe. Lots of security in hotel and on streets. Did you know that for $20 a day, you can have access to concierge room which is open on weekdays only? Oh yes, the bed was very soft to sleep on, but nice to watch TV. We used a shuttle service to and from the hotel and it was $30 per person for two of us. They met us at the baggage area and we were the only ones in the van. ALSO - Delta Sky Club was large and great in Detroit, too. Gift shop is expensive for snacks (Banana Chips - $6), use vending machines on the floor for sodas.

Room Tip: Ask for river side for a beautiful view of Canada and the river. But the other side is the city and...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Cloud, Florida
Top Contributor
58 reviews 58 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 13, 2012

All the GM vehicles and GM stuff around was REALLY cool! The escalators and finding anything was confusing as heck, but the overall experience was awesome. My two young boys LOVED the hotel, my husband thought it was really cool too. Very pretty sunset to watch walk out to the Riverfront directly across the street. We took the monorail thing to Greektown for lunch. Worth to pay the valet to park and get your vehicle ready. Had subway in the food court with the kids for supper, nice to have a simple, cheap choice among the expensive restaurants. We stayed on the 42nd Floor and had an AWESOME view of the city & river & Windsor. The kids LOVED it.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington, Virginia
Senior Contributor
30 reviews 30 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 11, 2012

I was on Detroit for business travel with an event happening in the hotel. The hotel is about a $45 taxi ride from the airport, and located within a very large complex known as the Renaissance Center (adjacent to General Motors' World Headquarters). There are adjoining restaurant options and a view of the Detroit River (with Windsor, Canada just on the other side). The rooms were small and clean, although nothing spectacular. The service was very pleasant. I would stay here again if coming to downtown Detroit.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Top Contributor
103 reviews 103 reviews
29 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
99 helpful votes 99 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 9, 2012

Wow! What a beautiful hotel! Everyone from the front desk staff to valet parking were over the top friendly! Can not give this hotel enough top rate stars!! We had the pleasure of staying on floor 54 with the most amazing views of the river, Macinaw Island, and downtown Detroit. The room's outside "wall" was wall to wall and floor to ceiling windows! Just open the curtain and enjoy the beauty. WOW! The room was large and spacious, very clean and had Bath and Body Works for the in room amenities. The fitness center was fantastic. Most hotels have only 2 treadmills, this looked like an actual health club. Even if you don't exercise, at least look at the fitness center! It is located on floor 40. The hotel itself is cicular so the fitness center is basically all windows with the best views you will find in all of Detroit! Once again, amazing service at the fitness center, too. The kind lady working brought over an ice cold bottle of water for me while I was running on the treadmill... this rarely happens at a hotel fitness center! It's little things like that which makes this hotel's hospitality truly top-notch!

If it is your first time to the Marriott, you may find it a bit confusing at first. The hotel is located in the very center of the Rennaissance Center. The lobby is on the 3rd floor ( you will probably enter on floor 1, especially if you drive in, so take the elevator up to floor 3) as well as the bar and a restaurant. Starbucks is located on floor 1 and a food court is located below floor 1 which you have to use an escalator to get to. There is also an amazing seafood restaurant (Joe Muer Seafood) located on floor 1 on the Riverstreet side. It is pricey but worth it. Be sure to have some coconut cake there! There are so many places to eat from fast food (McDonalds and Burger King and Subway) to upscale restaurants that you never really have to leave the hotel. There is also a CVS and many shops inside the Center.

Hope your stay is as excellent as ours was! We will return to this hotel every time we are in Detroit!

Room Tip: Request to stay in a room on the high rise floors (40-70) with a river view! You will not be disappo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012

The Renaissance Center is huge and confusing. View was great but room was marginal. Shares lower floors with GM headquarters which is interesting. Food options in the area seemed limited at night. Regardless, would stay here again.

Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arlington Heights
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
33 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 6, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is extremely busy and huge. The rooms are average. Nothing to complain about. The Renaissance Center is so confusing. If you are going there for two nights or fewer, do not even bother trying to figure it out. River walk was nice. It is just a strange area. I felt safe at all times. Overall, all hotel employees I dealt with, we're kind and professional. I would stay here again for the convenience. Keep in mind, several of the restaurants are closed on the weekends.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center

Address: 400 Renaissance Dr, Detroit, MI 48243
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#10 Business Hotel in Detroit
#10 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center 3.5*
Number of rooms: 1298
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Soaring 73 floors above the Detroit River, the Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center is ideally located in downtown Detroit, situated on the RiverWalk and next to Hart Plaza. The hotel is within the GM Renaissance Center, which provides convenient access to shopping, restaurants and entertainment. The Detroit "People Mover" public transportation system enables guests to visit top attractions that surround the hotel. Floor-to-ceiling windows and dramatic views highlight our hotel rooms, while a reinvented lobby boasts functional seating and business friendly amenities in a trendy setting. Delight in the stylishly urban ambiance of Volt, and enjoy breakfast, lunch, dinner and evening cocktails. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Orbitz, Marriott and Hotels.com so you can book your Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Detroit Marriott At The Renaissance Hotel Detroit
Detroit Renaissance At Center
Marriott Detroit
Renaissance Detroit

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Detroit Marriott at the Renaissance Center, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.