We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent! Hubby loves it!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Texas de Brazil

Texas de Brazil
1000 Woodward Drive,, In the Compuware Building, Detroit, MI 48222
313-964-4333
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Texas de Brazil is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #24 of 973 Restaurants in Detroit
Price range: $31 - $50
Cuisines: Brazilian
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Reservations, Late Night
Dining style: Casual Dining
Description: This restaurant is located in the Compuware building
Detroit Mi
2 reviews
“Excellent! Hubby loves it!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2011 via mobile

Glad to have it in the actual city of Detroit and not in the burbs;-) wonderful meats great salads! Can't wait till they add lunch.

    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

103 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    56
    31
    10
    5
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Bronx, New York
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Must try this place!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 23, 2011 via mobile

Wonderful! Wonderful! Wonderful! Everything was great, the staff is very knowledgeable and very pleasant! The food was wonderful and yummy! The restaurant is clean and inviting. Everything is perfect! Must try this place!

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“All You Can Eat”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Nice, clean new restaurant. If you like food, you have to go to this place. It is more than steaks. The lamb, chicken, ribs and the STEAK all were great. The food just keeps on coming. They bring all the meat right to your table and cut it any way you like it. And the buffet had all the other things you like with dinner. Everything was very good.

  • Visited September 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Liverpool, New York
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“One of the best places around for excellant steak!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 1, 2011

This is one of my most favorite restaurants in the country. Imagine all you care to eat filet mignon, sirloin, leg of lamb, lamb chops, chicken and so much more. You're meal starts with the "gormet" salad bar that includes everything from over 10 different types of olive oil, olives, fresh mozarella and parmesean cheese, salad fixings, white rice, black beans and lobster bisque. When you're done with the salad, the server clears your place and brings out a fresh plate to begin the MEAT FEST! The goucho's bring around two foot long skewers with different types of meat on it. To being, simply flip your round card to green and let the dining being. You're almost instantly swarmed with nearly every kind of meat your heart could desire. They also provide delicious garlic mashed potatoes, bananas (to cleanse the palatte) and warm mozarella bread balls. Just when you think you've had enough, they offer desserts which include carrot cake, southern style pecan pie, key lime pie and others. Adult dinners run $40/pp. If you sign up for their Email list ahead of time, you receive coupons for % off your meal and BOGO Free meals for birthdays, anniversaries and other occasions. We really LOVE this place and have been to the Detroit, Schaumberg, and Dallas locations. They're all fantastic!

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
“Good food & Great service - Plenty of potential but some improvements needed.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2011

Being big fans of churrascarias, my wife and I always make ever attempt to eat at one whenever we visit another city. However, living in suburban Detroit, we never really had much variety in this regard here at home. When we learned that a new churrascaria had opened downtown, we wanted to try it out. They were running a special through the end of July that offered a couple a 3 course dinner including a bottle of wine or champagne for $75.

The restaurant is very nicely decorated, and if you are somewhat familiar with the area, easy to find (It is in the old Border's Bookstore location in the Compuware building). We had made for 8:15PM and when we asked, were told that dress code was business casual. Being that we were coming from an afternoon baseball game, we would need to head to our hotel first to change before going to dinner. However, once we arrived, we saw many people wearing shorts and tshirts. To make matters worse, even though we arrived 5-10 minutes before our reservation, we were not seated until 8:45PM.

While we waited to be seated, we sat at the bar and had a few drinks. The service we received from the 2 bartenders was really polar opposites of one another. One of the bartenders was very friendly and outgoing and seemed to have no trouble making small talk while the other looked at you more like a nuisance than as a customer. Oddly enough, the TV in the bar area was not functioning properly, and as one of the bartenders stated, they are still waiting for someone to fix it.

Upon being seated, we asked the hostess about what wines were available with the 3 course package as we were looking for something that leans toward the sweeter side. She told us that the champagne available was of the sweeter variety. However, once our server arrived he actually said the champagne available was very very dry. Of the selections available, he said the sweetest would be the Merlot. Not being much of a wine drinker, I deferred to my wife. Thankfully they will let you take home the bottle with the remaining wine should you not be able to finish it. My wife said that the Merlot was actually a very good wine.

The salad bar was very much lacking compared to other churrascarias we have been to. In fact, of all the churrascarias we have eaten at, this salad bar had the least variety. I am used to churrascaria salad bars that have a vast array of pasta and seafood offerings in addition to the typical veggie offerings. Aside from some cocktail shrimp and sliced smoked salmon, the salad bar offered very little that would be different than what you would get at a Big Boy. Definitely not what I would consider par for a churrascaria salad bar. The upside to the lack of variety is that it saved more room for the cuts of meat that were about to come...

The meat was, without a doubt, the highlight of dinner. While we didn't sample every cut (sorry, too many bad experiences with meat coated with parmesan), those that we did were very delicious. We did not encounter a single cut, that once we sampled it, we did not enjoy. All were flavorful and juicy. I enjoyed the mashed potatoes while my wife enjoyed the fried bananas. We both enjoyed the cheese bread.

To top off dinner, we both had the flan for our 3rd course. While a bit heaver that what we are used to in a flan, it was still delicious. In the future, we would probably decide to split a desert rather than get one for each of us (unless of course, it is included with the meal).

In addition to the quality of the meats, the service from our wait staff was also top notch. Our server was very friendly, polite and always made sure we had everything we needed (sides, water, etc.). At its core, Texas de Brazil is quite solid with good meats and excellent service. Hopefully, as they work through their growing pains, they correct some of the not so positive things. I may give them a little time before we visit again to correct these issues, unless of course, they offer another 3 course package like they did recently.

  • Visited July 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Texas de Brazil also viewed

 

Been to Texas de Brazil? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Texas de Brazil, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.