We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best hotel” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Roberts Riverwalk Hotel Detroit

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Roberts Riverwalk Hotel Detroit to your Saves list
Roberts Riverwalk Hotel Detroit
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   1000 River Place, Detroit, MI 48207   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #19 of 34 Hotels in Detroit
Detroit
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Best hotel”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 27, 2013

I actually loved my stay at the hotel I stayed there may 18 2013 I honestly loved the customer service my room was up to my standards me my husband as well as my sister and her boyfriend loved the room everything was in working conditions also the view was very beautiful. I will be back for another visit really soon.

Room Tip: Location, Clean room, and excellent customer service as well as room service.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVRJR, Manager at Roberts Riverwalk Hotel Detroit, responded to this review, August 8, 2013
Hi Lisa!

Thanks so much for the great review! We love it when we can send our guests on their way knowing we provided a clean, safe, comfortable and affordable place to stay as your home away from home!

We hope to see you back again real soon.

Management Team
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

202 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    53
    46
    25
    48
See reviews for
32
58
16
39
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 8, 2013

I just stayed at this hotel and its absolutely awful. Where do I start...the rooms were dirty, they were also saunas cuz the heat didnt work, the shower was not warm, the wifi did not work, and there were bugs in my room. I could probably come up with more things if I wanted to. Long story short...don't stay here!!!

  • Stayed June 2013
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Stayed here Memorial Day Weekend(just like the partiers in the previous review) although we weren't there for a music festival. But it didn't matter because i felt as though i was part of the party too, since, the air conditioning was broken(we were informed this after we checked in, even thogh David, the manager blatantly lied to Booking.com, and said we were informed BEFORE we checked in, and also it wouldn't have mattered anyway, because Detroit was pretty much sold out everywhere anyway, due to the previously mentioned music festival, and also that "there are no more fans available) we had to sleep with our windows open. Which meant all the noise, both Saturday and Sunday nigh,t kept us up til 4am or so, despite calls to the front desk.

I travel alot. and i definitely try to find locally owned places to stay. I'm from Detroit, so i gave this place a second chance(our first experience was sub par, but we just let it go) and was pretty disappointed. Yes, the hotel itself is a neat, historical building. The location is good because it is off the beaten path, but not too far from anything you might wanna do in Detroit. However, the prices are the same as the Doubletree, but the management is that of a motel or motorlodge, type of place. The rooms ARE big, but both times we stayed here, they weren't clean. I mean, mildew in the shower, candy and other bits all over the floor. No "no room service" door hanger, no info on the area, like restarants and such( i dont need it, being from there, but it sure would be helpful to those who do) in the rooms, like most 150$ a night hotels. These all seem like small things, but they add up, especially after a weekend in one of their hot, humid rooms, with no fan, because the manager wasn't motivated enough to actually go purchase some.

Go somewhere else. Detroit is a cool city. There are some really neat things to see. It's true, you could get robbed while out sightseeing. But don't get robbed by this hotel. Its not necessary for the "Detroit experience", really.

Room Tip: Go to the Doubletree.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

My three girlfriends and I from Toronto stayed here over memorial day weekend for the Movement festival. We scored an amazing deal on Hotwire. For four nights, we had a spacious room for four girls with two very comfy beds, a couch, flat screen, high ceilings, two HUGE windows with an amazing view of the riverfront. Room 417 was the place to be. The hospitality at this hotel is amazing....we always felt taken care of even though they were extremely busy with weddings the whole weekend. Everyone was down to earth and willing to help accommodate us. A cab ride downtown was about $10 when the shuttle wasn't available. We loved the iHop that's about a 10 minute walk on Jefferson.. Lots of take out & delivery places we could call to order food when we were too lazy to leave or when other places were closed. Overall....we had an amazing stay in Detroit and at this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 417- spacious, and beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVRJR, Manager at Roberts Riverwalk Hotel Detroit, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Hi DonnaDaisyy,

Thanks so much for sharing with us how amazing your stay was while staying at our beautiful hotel!

We're so glad to hear our staff took excellent care of you while you enjoyed our comfy, comfy beds and all the amenities of our guest rooms. And the view? Yeah, we agree - the river front view couldn't be any better!

We think you're pretty savvy to have realized what a value our hotel is for such a convenient location! And we certainly look forward to seeing you the next time in you're in town.

Thanks again and see you soon!

Management Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Level Contributor
9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I stayed at this hotel at the recommendation of a business colleague, against the advice of other travelers, and quickly regretted this decision. Roberts Riverwalk barely meets the minimum functions of a hotel--the front desk was not able to manage the reservation and we had trouble finding someone to assist us in getting to the room. When we went to park in the small hotel lot, the security told us that we might be forced to move our vehicle for a party the following night (no other parking is available). The room was poorly maintained, unclean, and insufferably warm. I wasn't expecting a luxury hotel and might have overlooked some of these issues had the room not cost more than $100/night, the same price as other chains with significantly better accommodations in the area.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cjb2145
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Beautiful hotel in a great location. Customer service was hit and miss as well as availability of the the shuttle. I forgot tooth paste and they didn't have any there which was odd to me for the price of the room, and the A/C wasn't running at the time. They seem to be understaffed or there is a lack of understanding about what each employee's roles is at the hotel and knowledge about the little things, like when the shuttle is available. On the bright side, they had no problem moving me to a room with a river view, there were a few restaurants close by that had excellent food as well as Atwater Brewery, it is right on the Riverwalk, and there are great views of the city and Canada

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Lake, Michigan
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Got a deal or so we thought via Hotwire. The pictures are misleading. Where do I start.The hotel does not have a traditional lobby, upon entry there were no signs directing us where to park. In addition no designated Handicap parking (which we needed), We arrived at 3pm and our room was not ready.The hotel seems understaffed - long wait to check in. We were told to sit and we would be called up when it was our turn. Eventually about 430pm we got checked in. Our dbl queen turned out to be a dbl full size (not what we thought we reserved). There was no air only heat. We were told it was an old building they have heat or air not both.The building is old and in desperate need of restoration, rusty and broken fixtures, wall paper peeling etc.,,. Then no sleep due to loud partying people. At 3 am the bathroom facility was flushed only to overflow out onto the carpet, Maintenance comes (thank you) but takes over an hour to clean. I would stay somewhere else. What a shame this place could be awesome but it's not !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Detroit hotels
1.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
1.8 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
10.4 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Detroit-Dearborn
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Aloft Detroit at The David Whitney
1.3 mi away
Greektown Casino Hotel
Greektown Casino Hotel
#8 of 34 in Detroit
4.0 of 5 stars 768 reviews
2.6 mi away
The Corktown Hotel
The Corktown Hotel
#16 of 34 in Detroit
3.5 of 5 stars 40 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roberts Riverwalk Hotel Detroit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roberts Riverwalk Hotel Detroit

Address: 1000 River Place, Detroit, MI 48207
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#7 Luxury Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Roberts Riverwalk Hotel Detroit 4*
Number of rooms: 107
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline, Orbitz, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Roberts Riverwalk Hotel Detroit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roberts Riverwalk Hotel And Residence Detroit

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roberts Riverwalk Hotel Detroit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.