We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gave This Hotel A Second Chance.....There Won't Be A Third.” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Roberts Riverwalk Hotel Detroit

Save Saved
You added Roberts Riverwalk Hotel Detroit to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Roberts Riverwalk Hotel Detroit
1000 River Place, Detroit, MI 48207   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 33 hotels in Detroit
Cleveland, Ohio
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Gave This Hotel A Second Chance.....There Won't Be A Third.”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 31, 2013

Stayed here Memorial Day Weekend(just like the partiers in the previous review) although we weren't there for a music festival. But it didn't matter because i felt as though i was part of the party too, since, the air conditioning was broken(we were informed this after we checked in, even thogh David, the manager blatantly lied to Booking.com, and said we were informed BEFORE we checked in, and also it wouldn't have mattered anyway, because Detroit was pretty much sold out everywhere anyway, due to the previously mentioned music festival, and also that "there are no more fans available) we had to sleep with our windows open. Which meant all the noise, both Saturday and Sunday nigh,t kept us up til 4am or so, despite calls to the front desk.

I travel alot. and i definitely try to find locally owned places to stay. I'm from Detroit, so i gave this place a second chance(our first experience was sub par, but we just let it go) and was pretty disappointed. Yes, the hotel itself is a neat, historical building. The location is good because it is off the beaten path, but not too far from anything you might wanna do in Detroit. However, the prices are the same as the Doubletree, but the management is that of a motel or motorlodge, type of place. The rooms ARE big, but both times we stayed here, they weren't clean. I mean, mildew in the shower, candy and other bits all over the floor. No "no room service" door hanger, no info on the area, like restarants and such( i dont need it, being from there, but it sure would be helpful to those who do) in the rooms, like most 150$ a night hotels. These all seem like small things, but they add up, especially after a weekend in one of their hot, humid rooms, with no fan, because the manager wasn't motivated enough to actually go purchase some.

Go somewhere else. Detroit is a cool city. There are some really neat things to see. It's true, you could get robbed while out sightseeing. But don't get robbed by this hotel. Its not necessary for the "Detroit experience", really.

Room Tip: Go to the Doubletree.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

143 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    40
    32
    15
    34
See reviews for
20
39
11
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (54)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 29, 2013

My three girlfriends and I from Toronto stayed here over memorial day weekend for the Movement festival. We scored an amazing deal on Hotwire. For four nights, we had a spacious room for four girls with two very comfy beds, a couch, flat screen, high ceilings, two HUGE windows with an amazing view of the riverfront. Room 417 was the place to be. The hospitality at this hotel is amazing....we always felt taken care of even though they were extremely busy with weddings the whole weekend. Everyone was down to earth and willing to help accommodate us. A cab ride downtown was about $10 when the shuttle wasn't available. We loved the iHop that's about a 10 minute walk on Jefferson.. Lots of take out & delivery places we could call to order food when we were too lazy to leave or when other places were closed. Overall....we had an amazing stay in Detroit and at this hotel.

Room Tip: Room 417- spacious, and beautiful view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
MVRJR, Manager at Roberts Riverwalk Hotel Detroit, responded to this review, August 9, 2013
Hi DonnaDaisyy,

Thanks so much for sharing with us how amazing your stay was while staying at our beautiful hotel!

We're so glad to hear our staff took excellent care of you while you enjoyed our comfy, comfy beds and all the amenities of our guest rooms. And the view? Yeah, we agree - the river front view couldn't be any better!

We think you're pretty savvy to have realized what a value our hotel is for such a convenient location! And we certainly look forward to seeing you the next time in you're in town.

Thanks again and see you soon!

Management Team!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, IL
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed May 12, 2013

I stayed at this hotel at the recommendation of a business colleague, against the advice of other travelers, and quickly regretted this decision. Roberts Riverwalk barely meets the minimum functions of a hotel--the front desk was not able to manage the reservation and we had trouble finding someone to assist us in getting to the room. When we went to park in the small hotel lot, the security told us that we might be forced to move our vehicle for a party the following night (no other parking is available). The room was poorly maintained, unclean, and insufferably warm. I wasn't expecting a luxury hotel and might have overlooked some of these issues had the room not cost more than $100/night, the same price as other chains with significantly better accommodations in the area.

Room Tip: Go elsewhere
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cjb2145
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed May 7, 2013

Beautiful hotel in a great location. Customer service was hit and miss as well as availability of the the shuttle. I forgot tooth paste and they didn't have any there which was odd to me for the price of the room, and the A/C wasn't running at the time. They seem to be understaffed or there is a lack of understanding about what each employee's roles is at the hotel and knowledge about the little things, like when the shuttle is available. On the bright side, they had no problem moving me to a room with a river view, there were a few restaurants close by that had excellent food as well as Atwater Brewery, it is right on the Riverwalk, and there are great views of the city and Canada

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of the river
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Lake, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed May 1, 2013

Got a deal or so we thought via Hotwire. The pictures are misleading. Where do I start.The hotel does not have a traditional lobby, upon entry there were no signs directing us where to park. In addition no designated Handicap parking (which we needed), We arrived at 3pm and our room was not ready.The hotel seems understaffed - long wait to check in. We were told to sit and we would be called up when it was our turn. Eventually about 430pm we got checked in. Our dbl queen turned out to be a dbl full size (not what we thought we reserved). There was no air only heat. We were told it was an old building they have heat or air not both.The building is old and in desperate need of restoration, rusty and broken fixtures, wall paper peeling etc.,,. Then no sleep due to loud partying people. At 3 am the bathroom facility was flushed only to overflow out onto the carpet, Maintenance comes (thank you) but takes over an hour to clean. I would stay somewhere else. What a shame this place could be awesome but it's not !

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midwest
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 30, 2013

Roberts is an unusual property. It is not a normal hotel - the location is somewhat isolated although perfect for our purpose which was a nearby business meeting. The hotel is elegant in ways - but seems worn and dated also. The rooms are big but on the verge of needing remodeled.

The hotel seems understaffed - long wait to check in. Lots of little things were wrong - I was missing shampoo, my colleague was missing light bulbs. The room contains very few outlets. The room has a strange "college dorm" feel. The room is also missing a window sheer cover so the only way to have privacy from other rooms is to entirely close the blinds. As mentioned the hotels strives to be elegant and classy but peeling wallpaper is a common site. The on-site restaurant is small and not open for lunch. I did not eat there so can not comment on food quality. The area where they have a pool table is dingy/dark.

There is no luggage service - and you have haul luggage either upstairs or use a long access ramp because the actual lobby is up half a flight of stairs from the driveway. The lobby is small. The exercise facilty is also small but nice. The hotel did provide a van service and the staff was helpful in arranging taxis.

All in all - I would stay somewhere else but some people might like this hotel.

Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vienna, Virginia
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
47 helpful votes 47 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 28, 2013

Some recent reviews of this hotel are somewhat harsh and will certainly not help draw future customers. And yet, I can understand the concerns. Here's my good, bad and ugly of the Roberts Riverwalk.

The good - the location is really outstanding just north of downtown and right on the river with a view of Canada across the way. The riverwalk is right outside the door - a great location for day time running, strolling or walking. Second, a very good restaurant is only 100 yards away - the Rattlesnake Club. Great food and great service! Third, the rooms are generally quite spacious with comfortable beds. Lastly, the lobby area is pleasant with comfortable seating and a gas fireplace.

The bad - If only I could stop there. The "bones" of the hotel are good; an older structure which has been modestly renovated. But, it comes off as a renovation on a budget. The downstairs "bistro" area is shabby, dark, and uninviting. The rooms have upgraded shower and sink areas, but the wallpaper in the bathroom was tacky and dated. The rug in the bedroom was worn and ripped in one prominent location and the windows were high and small. There was poor lighting in the room, no sitting chair, just a small desk/hard chair, no coffee maker, only one wastebasket (located in the bathroom), and inadequate electrical plugs for electronic equipment. Little things, to be sure, but they add up.

Why three stars and not something lower? Two reasons - the hotel nightly rate and the promise! I paid only $119 for a one night stay and parking was free. By the way, park your own car. And I do believe this hotel can be first rate; the potential is there, the location is great, the area around it is becoming more vibrant every year. Here's hoping that the Roberts Riverwalk can find the capital to make some cosmetic enhancements and hire an experienced hotel management team. I would come back and would be willing to pay more for the improvements. Like Detroit itself, there's great hope for the future.

Room Tip: This hotel is only four stories and some of the rooms are in the side buildings. I had a side room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Roberts Riverwalk Hotel Detroit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roberts Riverwalk Hotel Detroit

Address: 1000 River Place, Detroit, MI 48207
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 33 hotels in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Priceline, Expedia, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Roberts Riverwalk Hotel Detroit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roberts Riverwalk Hotel And Residence Detroit

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roberts Riverwalk Hotel Detroit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.