We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Overwhelmed, understaffed, too far from city” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Roberts Riverwalk Hotel Detroit

Save Saved
You added Roberts Riverwalk Hotel Detroit to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Roberts Riverwalk Hotel Detroit
1000 River Place, Detroit, MI 48207   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #17 of 33 hotels in Detroit
Northville, Michigan
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Overwhelmed, understaffed, too far from city”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012

The staff were doing their utmost in a very challenging situation however the lack of enough personnel to handle both Tigers World Series guests, Detroit Lions guests, two functions downstairs leaves me with a very unpleasant time. Dirty rooms with a coffee maker and cups but NO coffee, no tea, no condiments. The room is sweltering and we were unable to control the heat coming in even with the heat off and or air on. We opened the windows all night to try to cool it and even with the outside temperature being less than 40 degrees, there was no relief. The stains on the decorative pillow on the bed made me tear off the comforter(not that we needed it with the heat) but it was a worn and dirty room. Nice people work there and they are trying but a general lack of direction was evident. If the safe in the room says it has a key and that if the key is missing they will charge you $35.00 then you assume there would be a key. I called down to a rude person to whom I said, :There is no key in the safe, I'd like it noted that it wasn't here". She rudely snapped and said come downstairs and get one!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    22
    40
    32
    14
    33
See reviews for
19
38
11
34
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (52)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Paw Paw, Michigan
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 24, 2012

I booked and paid for a room through hotwire.com for a Tigers game. I paid hotwire with my debit card, used a credit card for incidental charges. After going through my credit card statement I found they had charged my credit card for the stay as well. I spoke with the front desk who acknowledged I had been double charged and said I would be contacted about a refund, but never heard back from them and had to dispute the charge with my credit card company.
Other than the above the stay was ok, its not in the greatest part of town, the shuttle only ran from 3-9p (during Tigers ALDS no less!). Rooms were average for a chain style hotel, only a bit dated, and the thing that caught me off guard was the low celing (but I'm 6'4"). Not bad if you can get a deal.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mattawan, Michigan
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

This hotel is located right on the Detroit River and Riverwalk. It is a little off the beaten path and directions through mapping sites were confusing so you just have to ask. Parking looks limited (free), but we never had trouble finding a spot and this was a happening place with guests and events. The hotel has the look of a boutique hotel - no large imposing front desk - just receptionists sitting at regular desks so a real welcoming feel. We learned that this used to be a Parke-Davis research facility and found the history of the building to be interesting. The hotel has as bit of age on the decor, but is not shabby at all. The rooms are clean, generously sized and well equipped - our party had a queen room (2 beds) and king room with free wi-fi in room. Bathrooms are large and spacious and towels are nice (we did have to ask for extra ones and that was no problem). The shower head was a bit low and tub didn't drain well and the room was a little warm, but those were our only complaints. We found the staff to be helpful and pleasant. On the lower level they serve a sparse continental breakfast (packaged pastries, yogurt and fruit) in the mornings and there is also a restaurant that serves breakfast, lunch and dinner. There is a nice bar on the river side and we understand it hosts specailty events (a Sweetest Day jazz event while we were there). We found a round table in a nook off the lobby where we enjoyed playing cards in our downtime. You can easily leave your car parked and walk a few blocks to catch a bus to area attractions if you want to avoid the overpriced parking in the city. We also enjoyed the Riverwalk right outside the hotel door (security patrols the area, but it is very safe). They do have a shuttle service - we used this for the Detroit Marathon which we in town for. We would easily stay here again!

Room Tip: You might want to ask for a river view room - lots of large boat traffic on the river to watch. Roo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Great location on Detroit River. Large suites, warm friendly staff. Vince the driver of the shuttle (my wife Joyce suggests a stool to get in the shuttle) great tour guide. Also as the chef in the dining room...........makes a great omelette.
Believe it or not a safe neighborhood in Detroit. Look forward to returning.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mississauga, Canada
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2012

The Riverwalk is a nice area, the room was spacious and clean, large bathroom, continental breakfast was included if you call coffee, juice and Danish breakfast. Parking was free and short drive to Ford Field.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon, United States
Top Contributor
165 reviews 165 reviews
56 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
56 helpful votes 56 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 19, 2012

The Riverwalk Hotel is in a convenient location to downtown Detroit (although a bit out of the main business area). The rooms are spacious and clean. The grounds of the hotel are contiguous to a river front trail that offers a decent place to run. Finally, the hotel offers a shuttle service that is really generous in their transportation.

There is, however, something "off" about the hotel. It is not anyone thing - but more a general lack of attention to detail. An example of what I mean by this statement - we went to the bar in the basement of the hotel. The bar was sparsely populated. The server worked hard to get us a couple of drinks - but had a difficult time getting a beer as they were sold out of almost every brand we ordered.

Given the lack of amenities around the hotel and the older decor of the facilities - I would suggest that anyone with business in the downtown core of Detroit consider staying closer to the city center.

Room Tip: Request a room in the back of the property facing the water and the river walk.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Russellville, Arkansas
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2012

Like much of Detroit, the hotel is a past time. It is old but has been kept up well. The staff was friendly and helpful.

The Riverwalk is a nice area of walkiing. I wouldn't advice getting far off the Riverwalk though. There is nothing around the Hotel. The nearest main road is Jefferson, but it is a bit run down.

I had trouble finding the hotel on my GPS with an address of 1000 River Place. My GPS only went up to 699 River Place. If you continue past the Rattle Snake Club on Riverplace you will eventually get to the hotel at the end of the block.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room with a River view. I didn't and wish I had.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay
Travelers also viewed these Detroit hotels
Luxury, Pool, R...
Show More
1.9 mi away
The Westin Book Cadillac Detroit
Free internet...
Show More
3.1 mi away
Inn on Ferry Street
Inn on Ferry Street
#1 of 33 in Detroit
4.5 of 5 stars 301 reviews
Free internet...
Show More
1.5 mi away
The Atheneum
The Atheneum
#9 of 33 in Detroit
4.0 of 5 stars 245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Pool, Free inte...
Show More
1.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
Mid-range, Pool...
Show More
10.3 mi away
Doubletree by Hilton Hotel Detroit-Dearborn
Restaurant, Mid...
Show More
3.8 mi away
St. Regis
St. Regis
#15 of 33 in Detroit
3.5 of 5 stars 105 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Roberts Riverwalk Hotel Detroit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Roberts Riverwalk Hotel Detroit

Address: 1000 River Place, Detroit, MI 48207
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 33 hotels in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Tingo, Travelocity, Despegar.com, Expedia, Priceline, Venere and Agoda so you can book your Roberts Riverwalk Hotel Detroit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Roberts Riverwalk Hotel And Residence Detroit

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roberts Riverwalk Hotel Detroit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.