We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Family Dinner” 4 of 5 stars
Review of RUB BBQ and PUB

RUB BBQ and PUB
18 West Adams, Detroit, MI 48226
3139640782
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #194 of 973 Restaurants in Detroit
Price range: $7 - $20
Cuisines: Barbecue
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Lunch, Delivery, Late Night
Description: When you combine the atmosphere of a local Detroit hangout, the excitement of watching the game on a 65” flat screen, and the taste of an old school smokehouse, you have found Rub. At Rub BBQ we are proud to show our Detroit heritage. From the original character of our down town location, to the Detroit history hanging from our walls, we are proud to be Detroiters. We use local Michigan suppliers to bring you the best BBQ around. We mix our own rubs and sauces from scratch using over 20 different varieties of herbs and spices. Our eco-friendly ideas let us bring you unforgettable taste while still contributing to a greener Detroit. So come on down and watch the game and enjoy one of our 30 beers on tap. Ask one of our friendly staff about reserving our Private V.I.P. Banquet Lounge. Have us plan your next event and we will provide you with your favorite food, spirits, and fun. Tailgating packages are available that include all your pre-game musts, so leave your grill at home, because at Rub BBQ we have all your smokehouse needs.
Memphis, Michigan, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
“Family Dinner”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

This place has great food and a great atmosphere. We will go again for sure. Also reasonably priced. convenient to the stadiums.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

57 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    17
    15
    8
    8
    9
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Harrison Township, Michigan, United States
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Poor owners, management and low quality food.”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2013

News Flash...Do not ever patronize any of the Rub Pub BBQ locations! I had 4 QFMs (fundraisers) scheduled there for over a month and guess what? Not only did they up and close the location
, no one called to tell me and the manager there, Omar, Says oh well...They offered to move it to the Detroit location, across from Comerica Park and we can each pay $3 to $7 for parking. He had no problem with the fact that I had not been told! Horrible rotten terrible business people (or that is what they call themselves). Any one know venue that holds about 150 people?

  • Visited August 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Slow service”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 31, 2013

Went before a Tiger game. Service was slow, food was just OK, have not been back. Location is great however,

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Livonia, Michigan
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Usually satisfied.”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2013

Worst experience in a restaurant in a long time. Apparently they cannot figure out how to send the right food totto the right table. Avoid this place on game day!!!!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Service could have been better”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 3, 2013

The food is very good although we did not have a good experience with the wait staff. Hopefully this was just an off day for them as we would definitely like to dine here again.

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed RUB BBQ and PUB also viewed

 

Been to RUB BBQ and PUB? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage RUB BBQ and PUB, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.