We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Do not miss a visit while in Detroit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Michael Symon's Roast

Michael Symon's Roast
1128 Washington Blvd, Detroit, MI 48226-1907
313-961-2500
Website
Menu
Improve this listing
Reserve with OpenTable
Michael Symon's Roast is not available for your requested time. Choose another time, or search restaurants with availability.
The time you selected has already passed.
Ranked #6 of 977 Restaurants in Detroit
Price range: $60 - $100
Cuisines: Steakhouse, Contemporary
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Doing business, Entertaining clients
Dining options: Dinner, Reservations, Late Night, Dessert
Dining style: Fine Dining
Cross street: State
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
25 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Do not miss a visit while in Detroit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 14, 2013

Was just at Roast again and had an amazing meal.

Roast is inside the beautifully restored Book Cadillac building. I visit Roast every time I come home to visit family. The prices — when compared to quality restaurants around the country — are more than reasonable. The food at Roast is always prepared spot on is delicious. The lamb Ragu is great and I am always glad it stays on the menu. The NY strip comes with a Fred Flintstone size cow femur containing roasted marrow on top. The sides are the perfect size for sharing with the table family style. The beef cheek pierogi is outstanding.

The happy hour menu and bar menu are great options if you don't want to sit and have dinner at a table. The drinks are great and change often. The bartenders know their craft well. Joe is super helpful and extremely knowledgeable about cocktails and pairings.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

401 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    245
    96
    38
    15
    7
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grosse Pointe Farms, Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Overrated”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2013 via mobile

Maybe I have become an 'old fart' but any place that charges these huge prices should not be serving to a crowd that is mostly in T-Shirts and shorts. We went for our anniversary, and my husband was the only person in a sport jacket (well...there was one table who looked like they were having a work dinner.) The tables are extremely close to each other. We could almost read the text messages the board male was sending NON-STOP at the table next to us. The expensive steak comes with NOTHING. Add for any sauces or veggies. Just not my cup of tea.

  • Visited June 2013
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
38 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Really wonderful”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 6, 2013

My son and I had a wonderful time here. Attentive, personal service...world-class steaks and thoughtful recommendations on wine and even bourbon at the end of our meal. Don't miss the peanut butter chocolate cheesecake as "icing on the cake".

  • Visited August 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indiana
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
26 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“for carnivores this is an experience and you can have a conversation at the same time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2013

Had the pork belly appetizer and filet with a side of wild mushrooms. Each of those was well prepared and high quality. We had a large table and could still hear each other. The soup however was too salty. The cocktails were good. Each of our desserts was fine. The bar is quite lovely and seems to be a popular spot.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, MI
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Amazing Happy Hour”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 2, 2013

We went here for happy hour after work one day. Parking is difficult to find (although I'm sure you can valet). The restaurant is really easy to find. The ambiance is really great - dim lights, candles, swanky bar. The hostess was so nice and seated us right away. We were given the happy hour menus and the regular menus. Within seconds of sitting down we were served water and given a iPad with the drink menu. Our waitress came over with a big smile ready to help answer question and take our order. We ordered drinks (which were cheap and delicious) and french fries to start. The drinks were delicious and the french fries were the best I have ever had. We decided to get the stuffed peppers and burgers too. Wow were we impressed! The presentation of the plates was wonderful and you could tell the chefs clearly put effort into every last plate (regardless of them only being $4). The burgers were beyond amazing and the stuffed peppers were delicious (although a little spicy). It did take us a while to get the bill (and we got to our meter with only 5 minutes left). All in all this was a great experience. I can't wait to go back!

  • Visited July 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Michael Symon's Roast also viewed

 

Been to Michael Symon's Roast? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Michael Symon's Roast, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.