We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great Way to Ring in the New Year” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Greektown Casino Hotel

Save Saved
You added Greektown Casino Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Greektown Casino Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   555 East Lafayette Ave, Detroit, MI 48226   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 33 hotels in Detroit
Chicago
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Great Way to Ring in the New Year”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

My husband and I stayed New Years Eve at the Greektown Casino Hotel. We booked a pre-paid package that was well worth it. Our friends wanted us to come ring in the New Year with them and they live close to Detroit so we decided to all stay at Greektown. The service at the Hotel is amazing. It was freezing that night when we pulled up and were greeted immediately by a friendly bell man. There was no line which i expected on NYE, but we checked in with a breeze, they were very friendly and courteous wishing us a happy new year.

The room was awesome, clean and modern with awesome views of downtown. We were on the 23rd floor and it was close to the elevator which was a great convenience later that evening with a few drinks taken. The party was a lot of fun and we had a marvelous time. We went to the Casino later on into the night and it was very busy and we just played for a little while before returning to the room to sleep it off. Definately recommended.

  • Stayed December 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    261
    196
    59
    24
    22
See reviews for
51
254
26
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 4, 2010

Stayed a Greektown and loved it.Always loved the casino but now with the hotel it is wonderful. Great survice and great prices compared to the other casinos. Just booked another stay for my birthday next month. Can't wait!!!!!!!

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasinoHotel, Manager at Greektown Casino Hotel, responded to this review, January 7, 2010
Thank you OhiolovesVegas,

Thank you for taking the time to review our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay. We hope to have you back again soon.

regards,

Ken Lanigan.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Bloomfield
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 18, 2009

I must say that my husband and I had a WONDERFUL 2 night stay at Greektown Hotel. We checked in with a breeze, the front desk staff was very informative when we had asked a couple of questions. Our room was great, I just loved the BED!

We have recommended this hotel to many friends and family. Already looking forward to our next visit to Greektown:)

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 17, 2009

My husband and I came to the Greektown Casino Hotel for a one-night weekend getaway with another couple. This is a beautiful, brand-new hotel. Rooms were very clean and well-appointed; decor was modern and attractive. Beds were comfortable, and the bathroom was clean. We had a great view of the river, and our friends (across the hall) had a city view. Greektown was fun, fun, fun! This hotel is right in the middle of the action. Great Greek restaurants are a very short walk (5 minutes, tops). We had a great night and have already talked about going back.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2009

My husband and I were down at Greektown casino and decided to stay at the hotel, the lobby is awesome but once you get on the elevator you have to put your key card in a slot to get the elevator to move and you can only go to the floor you are staying on. We opened the door to our room and it wasn't a bad room just that it didn't have a coffee maker and there is a sign saying that you can get coffee in the casino but if you are there before 6am you can't find anybody and if you step outside of the casino bums are peeing on the walls of the casino it was disgusting, no stores are open and the hotel offers breakfast but it was expensive. The bed was comfy but the room was extremely warm no matter what temperature you put on the thermostat. I would never stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasinoHotel, Manager at Greektown Casino Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2009
Good evening Lucky1472,

Thank you for taking the time to give your feedback.

I wanted to explain the reason behind utilizing your room key in the elevator. This is a great tool for the security of our hotel guests. No one can get on a guest floor unless they are registered within the hotel.

Coffee is available complimentary 24 hours a day within the Casino at any bar or self service bar and also through room service for a nominal fee.

The thermostats are self controlled, however if you would like to respond with your room number I will have our engineering department investigate it.

Thank you for your review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2009

We stayed at casino on a Sunday night after attending a Detroit Lions game. Got there at approx 0800 in the morning and I went to the front desk to check on my reservation and they gave me the keys!! What a day ,we had excellent hotel & casino in a great location to Detroit Lions & Detroit Tiger games.
Rooms were very nice and modern with comfy beds. Has stand up marble showers and a seperate toilet room with sliding retro door. Nice 42" flatscreen that we watched the sunday night game on. Hotel is attached to casino by a walkway.
Casino was very nice and large.Lots of machines. Great customer service & bartenders. Machines we a little tight but won enough to have fun and keep playing for awhile.
Ate across the street at Pizza Papalis,had the chicken veggie deep dish pizza. AWESOME!! Sat at the bar and ate bartender was great.Keep up the good work Pizza Papalis. I would recomend this hotel and am actually planning a 2 night trip for my birthday Dec 27. Go check it out its a blast,short cab ride to other 2 casinos downtown also.

Stayed November 2009, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
CasinoHotel, Manager at Greektown Casino Hotel, responded to this review, December 5, 2009
Thank you for writing a review on our property. I am glad you enjoyed it. Hope to have you stay with us on your next sporting outing in downtown Detroit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Paris, France
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2009

The staff are very friendly and helpful, the rooms are immaculately clean, very modern. I would recommend this hotel without any doubt to anyone going to stay in Detroit, whether it be for business or leisure.

  • Stayed November 2009, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Greektown Casino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greektown Casino Hotel

Address: 555 East Lafayette Ave, Detroit, MI 48226
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Detroit
#6 Family Hotel in Detroit
#7 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
#8 Business Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Greektown Casino Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Travelocity, Venere, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Amex, Cheap Tickets, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Greektown Casino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greektown Hotel Detroit

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greektown Casino Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.