We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Another great stay at Greektown Casino” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Greektown Casino Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Greektown Casino Hotel to your Saves list
Greektown Casino Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   555 East Lafayette Ave, Detroit, MI 48226   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Detroit
Elkhart, Indiana
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
“Another great stay at Greektown Casino”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 20, 2013

Thoroughly enjoyed our stay again. Clean room, great view, super friendly staff, great location close to all the Greektown fun. Highly recommend. It is Detroit and the Casino and location does attract some sketchier crowds but security is very visible and we always felt comfortable.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caryn N, Manager at Greektown Casino Hotel, responded to this review, October 26, 2013
We are honored that you choose to stay at Greektown Casino Hotel and wish to do so again in the future. We are delighted that you had a great visit. Thank you for the positive review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    232
    65
    31
    22
See reviews for
59
289
28
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Macomb, Michigan
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2013

We decided to do something a little out of the ordinary for us and spent the night at the Greektown Casino Hotel. We typically do not stay in local high end hotels. The reservation process was easy as is most all hotel reservation systems. However, upon arriving at the hotel and entering the lobby, we found our room was not ready yet. Not a big deal since we arrived about an hour and a half early for their advertised check in time. We went out into Greektwon and grabbed a late lunch. Upon our return our room was still not ready. We made the decision to wait in the lobby. The lobby itself is very spacious but starting to show it's age. The furniture was worn and very uncomfortable. Not to mention the style was very dated. The flower arrangements were cheap artificial ones. Very surprised to see that in a hotel that is advertised as high end. The outside of the hotel was in need of some attention as well. Numerous cigarette butts and trash on the sidewalks and there were empty coffee cups in the few outdoor flowerbeds that are there. The lobby staff was almost totally ignorant of the guests unless you approached them. The valet's were preoccupied with cell phones.
I approached the hotel registration desk three times while waiting for our room. I was somewhat surprised that they did not let us know that our room was ready since we were sitting just a short distance from them. The check-in process was average but not very personal at all. We are accustomed to a little more attention during the check-in process. You know, like where are you from or why are you here. None of that. They did not even point out where the concierge was located should we need directions or have any questions.
Upon entering our room our initial impression was that it was very small compared to the images on their website. The furnishings are very nice as well as the bathroom fixtures. The room appeared clean at first glance but upon a closer inspection (which we always do) found dust on top of items like picture frames and light switches. In the bathroom the toilet seat was loose and had a black stain on it. There was also what appeared to be pubic hair next to the toilet on the sliding door. The bed was nicely made with no signs of bed bugs. The sheets were fresh but did have one small stain. The comforter was fresh as well. The air conditioning was a bit inadequate for the room. Even on high set at 70 degrees it did not cool down. Even in the morning the room was a bit stale and still warm.
When we arrived back at our room for the night and got settled in, we found we had inconsiderate neighbors down the hall. Several intoxicated people going from room to room speaking very loudly. This continued until 3:30 AM when hotel security finally removed them from the property. Why it took so long I do not know.
My overall impression of this Hotel is that we will not return. Upon checking out I brought up my experiences to the desk personnel. She did not even acknowledge anything I said and just handed me my receipt and said to have a nice day. That was it.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caryn N, Manager at Greektown Casino Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2013
Thank you for your feedback. Greektown Casino Hotel prides itself on the ability to provide the highest level of quality and service to our guest. We are regretful for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your visit with us. Unfortunately, rare occurrences take place and the guests’ overall perspective of the hotel is affected. Please reach out to me, at Cnelson@greektowncasino.com and allow us the opportunity to improve upon your guest experience. We hope you will give us another opportunity in the near future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Memphis, Michigan, United States
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We stayed at the Greektown Casino Hotel. The hotel was very clean and the staff was very friendly. They (the staff) have to put up with quite a few 'characters' in the late hours and all whom we saw did a fine job of keeping their cool and maintaining professionalism. The room was also very clean. We stayed on the 30th floor and had a wonderful view of the city at night. The only complaint I have is the design of the bathroom/shower area and overall sound proofing. The doors are part wood with frosted glass inserts. As you can imagine the glass is not much of a sound barrier. Everyone in the main room can hear everything in the bathroom. When my husband was showering I had to turn up the TV. We could also hear everyone in the hall. I was glad we were on the top floor and only had guests below us.

Room Tip: Top floor facing the West. The city view at night is beautiful.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caryn N, Manager at Greektown Casino Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you for choosing to stay at Greektown Casino Hotel. We appreciate that you took the time to provide us with your comments in regards to your recent visit. We hope you will once again stay with us the next time you are attending events downtown
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
11 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

My wife and I stayed here for 2 nights. We went to detroit for the Lions game, some shopping, and some tourist fun. The hotel is ideal for Lions or Tigers games. Some nice restaurants and bars in the area. The hotel was very comfortable. Check-in was great, gave us a room with a great city view. The Bed was very comfortable. Rooms were modern and seemed relatively new. The Valet Parking was a great classy touch, which is actually really good value. The valet parking is free with a hotel reservation. We are looking forward to returning to the hotel. One really minor thing, the hotel wouldn't let us have a second ice bucket. Found this annoying.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher room to avoid street noise.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caryn N, Manager at Greektown Casino Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you for sharing your review. We are happy you chose to stay at Greektown Casino Hotel. We hope you will once again choose to stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Windsor, Canada
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 29, 2013

3 rd time staying at Greektown Casino.
The location is good as you do not have to stay in the casino, please venture out and discover Detroit.
The rooms are clean and modern. Try to get a corner room as the view is impressive.
The casino is smokey and ventilation needs a serious upgrade.
if you came to win money, forget it, Just enjoy.
plenty of food option sin the casino, but why not walk to Greektown?

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caryn N, Manager at Greektown Casino Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
We are happy to know that Greektown Casino Hotel is in the heart of everything you wish to do while visiting downtown Detroit. Thank you for the positive review. Please come back and stay with us again the next time you are in town.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
South Bend
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Stayed here for a Tigers game. Walking distance to game, free parking at hotel. The room was very clean and updated. The bed was so comfy, it was hard to leave. The casino was not has updated as the hotel. The slots are great-some new slots. The carpet in some areas were a little gross with heavy stains, some walls need cleaning. Overall this is a great place to stay and play!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caryn N, Manager at Greektown Casino Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Greektown Casino Hotel prides itself on providing the best entertainment experience in Detroit. Thank you for taking the time to share your comments with others looking for amazing location and service in our beautiful city. We look forward to providing you with another great experience soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

I booked this stay on a promotion the hotel was giving. My reservation was made smoothly, I was checked in with no issues and the room was wonderful! I swear this hotel is my favorite place to runaway and relax. I spend at least once a month here! I am in love with the shower! The places to eat in the area is great!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caryn N, Manager at Greektown Casino Hotel, responded to this review, October 5, 2013
Thank you for your review and flattering compliments. As our valued guest, your feedback is greatly appreciated to ensure we maintain our commitment to superior guest service. We are excited to share your comments with our Greektown Casino Hotel team. Thank you for choosing Greektown as your place to play and stay and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Greektown Casino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greektown Casino Hotel

Address: 555 East Lafayette Ave, Detroit, MI 48226
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Detroit
#4 Luxury Hotel in Detroit
#7 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
#7 Business Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Greektown Casino Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Greektown Casino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greektown Hotel Detroit

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greektown Casino Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.