We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Why did I wait so long to go here?” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Greektown Casino Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save Saved
You added Greektown Casino Hotel to your Saves list
Greektown Casino Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   555 East Lafayette Ave, Detroit, MI 48226   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 33 Hotels in Detroit
Michigan
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Why did I wait so long to go here?”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

What a nice treasure in downtown Detroit. This hotel was much better than expected and I encourage everyone to give it a try. We had a room on the 30th floor over looking the city and Greektown itself. The room was modern, large and very clean. Gorgeous both day and night. Our room rate included $10.00 each in casino money and the breakfast buffet. The food was very good and even included an omelet station. The dining room was beautiful with large windows and very clean.
It was very nice to just walk from the hotel to the casino via the skywalk on the 3rd level. It was a bitter cold snowy day, so that was much appreciated. My ONLY complaint was that we did not redeem the $10 casino vouchers because the lines were so long for that. And if you are a non-smoker.....FYI......the casino is very smokey. They do have a non-smoking room but it is very small and hard to find. And they put all their old, ancient slot machince in there. We just had to put up with all the smokers in their smokers paradise inside the casino. But since this review is really for the hotel, I give it an A+. Just be sure you know exactly where the valet parking is for the hotel so you don't get stuck at the casino valet parking. Have fun!

Room Tip: If given the option at check-in as we were, go with the CITY view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caryn N, Manager at Greektown Casino Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are excited to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Greektown Casino - Hotel. As you mentioned in your review, we are very proud to offer excellent service, a great location and unique dining outlets. We hope that you will return to Greektown on your next visit to Detroit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    286
    220
    65
    29
    22
See reviews for
59
275
27
85
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (139)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
ohio
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

The Hotel was gorgous. When you walked in the lobby, it was just beautiful. The staff was very helpful on places to go and see. Our room over looked the city, we were on the 21st floor. I liked the fact that you had to use your room key on the elevator to go to your floor. The breakfast buffet had lots of choices, even someone making omelets. We would go back to the hotel and casino.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caryn N, Manager at Greektown Casino Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
We are honored that you choose to stay at Greektown Casino-Hotel and wish to do so again in the future. We are delighted that you had a great visit. Thank you for the positive review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grosse Pionte Park
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013

My husband booked a room for us on Valentine's Day. Wasn't sure what to expect based on holiday booking, etc. Front desk staff very nice. First casino hotel in Detroit that actually asked us for our room preference at check-in (view-wise). Rate was excellent. Lobby and elevators clean and pleasant. Security access to most floors appreciated. Room smelled and looked clean and inviting. Room amenities nice. Bedding and pillows wonderful. Dining at Bistro 555 in the hotel was excellent (separate review for that). We will certainly go back!

Room Tip: Remember sunrise is to the east, so face downriver if you like to sleep in. Make sure prior room in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caryn N, Manager at Greektown Casino Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
It is a pleasure for us to hear of how impressed you were during your stay with us here at Greektown Casino - Hotel. Thank you for taking the time to leave a review and we look forward to your next stay with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eastpointe, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Erika and Rachel at the front desk made us feel very welcome at this hotel! I am definitely coming back soon. My room had the pleasantry of a cosie home. And i must add that I felt very safe!!! Safety is always a plus for me

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caryn N, Manager at Greektown Casino Hotel, responded to this review, February 24, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your review and flattering compliments. As our valued guest, your feedback is greatly appreciated to ensure we maintain our commitment to superior guest service. We are excited to share your comments with our Greektown Casino Hotel team. Thank you for choosing Greektown as your place to play and stay and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Goderich, Canada
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 8, 2013

Had a great stay , service was excellent and staff very friendly and more than willing to help. Room was very clean with 2 queen size beds and very nice bedding and lots of pillows, Shower stall very roomy and clean. overall great value for a day away ..

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caryn N, Manager at Greektown Casino Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you so very much for such a high rating regarding your stay with us. We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to leave a review. We look forward to your next stay with us here at Greektown Casino - Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FINDLAY
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 5, 2013

Very much enjoyed my stay at Greektown Hotel. Staff was very professional and friendly. The room was clean,comfortable, and the TV worked fine. Heating was also in good operation.

Only room concern was that a bright light a few floors under my room was shining straight up towards my room, and this was mildly annoying.

Also had some difficulty finding my way from the People Mover to the Hotel via the Casino. Need to put some signs in the casino directing patrons to the hotel.

Otherwise a very pleasant stay and look forward to returning in the future.

Room Tip: Free parking in hotel garage is easily accessible off of I-375.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caryn N, Manager at Greektown Casino Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

We are happy you enjoyed staying with us. We appreciate your positive review and hope to have the chance to welcome you back to Greektown Casino – Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 4, 2013 via mobile

As we were checking in at the front desk, we made a simple request to be close to our business partners due to ongoing conference calls. She was seemed very polite and assure us that we will only be steps away from each other. Turned out that one was on the other side of the hotel, same level and the other two were floors above and beneath us. We have used many hotels for business purposes only and this request was put in months when we booked and yet to have this happened, wasn't not expected on other level.

We asked to speak to the manager in charge on that shift and he was as useless and obviously never trained to handle a guest complaint. We hung up angrier towards the hotel manager than their agent that booked the room. We offered to pay to upgrade all four rooms into suite available and he wasn't giving us the undivided attention that we requested. Not only were they going to make more money us and/if it wasn't available, I believe they could of quickly bring us closer together to make what we were originally there to do which was to manage our business appropriately between international Ford. We've express to the UAW Board to never book Greektown ever again.
To top it off, the walls are thin to the point that on one side of my room was a lady hacking and the other snoring. Worst night ever and I highly recommend to think twice before going there. Will try Motor City or even MGM next.
Remember 99.5% do not have tubs and the others are not vacuumed in the most obvious spots. Proceed with caution!

  • Stayed December 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caryn N, Manager at Greektown Casino Hotel, responded to this review, February 10, 2013
Dear Guest,

I am sorry to hear that we were unable to accommodate your request. We do try to honor all guest room location requests however on occasion we are unable to do so, for this inconvenience I apologize. We do have bath tubs located in all of our suites and large rain showers in all of our standard rooms. As a full service hotel we do provide full housekeeping service daily. Please feel free to contact me directly at Cnelson@greektowncasino.com so I may address the concerns you have expressed during your stay. Guest satisfaction is our top priority and I am sorry to hear of your disappointment. I hope you will reach out to me so I can address your inconveniences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Greektown Casino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greektown Casino Hotel

Address: 555 East Lafayette Ave, Detroit, MI 48226
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Family Hotel in Detroit
#4 Luxury Hotel in Detroit
#6 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
#8 Business Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Greektown Casino Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Hotels.com, Despegar.com, Reservation Counter, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Greektown Casino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greektown Hotel Detroit

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greektown Casino Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.