We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“4 Star Facility, No Frills Management” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Greektown Casino Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Greektown Casino Hotel to your Saves list
Greektown Casino Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   555 East Lafayette Ave, Detroit, MI 48226   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Detroit
Brampton, Ontario
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
18 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“4 Star Facility, No Frills Management”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed December 3, 2012

I'll start with the positives, the location was great. Tons of restaurants and bars within walking distance and a lively nightlife. The rooms were clean, the bed was comfortable, but for a newer facility in a city where space isn't exactly at a premium, you would expect a larger room. The washroom was cramped. Free valet parking!

Now the negatives. They have so many rules it's not even funny here. Coolers aren't allowed (which I knew going in). You can't bring your own alcohol into your room, but feel free to buy from the mini bar!

Also, this one bothered me a lot for a hotel that considers itself a 4 star. We forgot our toothpaste and asked the front desk if they had some. They did, but they told us it would be a $1 charge and we would have to pick it up ourselves. I don't mind paying the $1 charge (as it cuts down on abuse of freebies) but would it be too much to ask to send somebody up to drop it off? This is a 4 star hotel after all.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caryn N, Manager at Greektown Casino Hotel, responded to this review, December 16, 2012
Dear Guest, Thank you for taking the time to provide us with a review about your recent stay. I apologize that you were told that would not deliver your toothbrush as this is a service we provide. We have addressed the issue with the associate who provided you with the incorrect information and apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. We hope you will provide us with another opportunity to serve you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

648 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    298
    232
    65
    31
    22
See reviews for
59
287
28
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
North Canton, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 2, 2012

Headed to Detroit for our first time to the city and to see Kent State in the Mac tournament. We arrived real late in the night on Thursday and they offered us a late check out. Did not need to do but was a great idea since the game was later in the evening as well. As we went up to out room and down to the casino we were greeted with smiles and hellos by all employees we encountered. The room was up to date and used space well. Even though the room was small, you did not feel trapped or cramped. We felt very safe when we walked over to the game at Ford Field about 2 blocks away. Overall we walked away not winning tons of money (our own fault) and lost the MAC game and we still WILL be back to the hotel for another getaway for us. We loved our time there! Thanks Greektown for a great escape!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caryn N, Manager at Greektown Casino Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
We are delighted that you were pleased with our staff and our convenience to the downtown attractions. Greektown Casino Hotel prides itself on having the best service in the city thanks to our amazing teammates. We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to leave a review and look forward to providing you with another great experience soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Isle, Vermont
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 52 cities Reviews in 52 cities
49 helpful votes 49 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 1, 2012

There aren't too many good hotels in downtown Detroit. This is the best choice we've found so far. The rooms are reasonably large, well appointed and modern in style. The upper floor rooms have nice views either towards the high rises or towards the rest of the city. Note that the hotel is in a separate building from the casino, connected by a skybridge. Other than a little signage, you would never know this was a casino hotel. Free parking and free internet. The buffet breakfast is not expensive but I found much of it not very flavorful.

An unfortunate note on Detroit. From this location you will often take cabs, depending on where you are going. This last trip, we took cabs twice and neither time did the driver use the meter so one is at their mercy for what the charges are. You have to either insist on a price or on the meter being used. But on a positive note the Detroit Institute of Arts is wonderful, the Fox Theater amazing and the Detroit Zoo one of the best in the US, noted for its humane approach.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caryn N, Manager at Greektown Casino Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for your review and flattering compliments. As our valued guest, your feedback is greatly appreciated to ensure we maintain our commitment to superior guest service. We are excited to share your comments with our Greektown Casino Hotel team. Thank you for choosing Greektown as your place to play and stay and we look forward to your next visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 29, 2012

Pros: Stayed with a group of girlfriends before the Turkey Trot this Thanksgiving. Free parking which connected to the hotel was so nice. Plus, they had people working the booths to make sure you were either staying at the hotel or going to the casino. The location is literally in Greektown, perfect for dinner, Astoria, etc. Clean, modern rooms, definitely a pleasant surprise. They offered free breakfast and a casino credit too.

Cons: The only thing that would have been nice would have been bigger bottled waters (small gripe, I know). They offered 2 small 6 or 8 oz bottles which probably would have been fine but would have been a nice touch since we were there for a run. And since it was the night before Thanksgiving, on either side of the room were loud groups clearly celebrating the bar night. I couldn't tell if it was thin walls or boisterous groups. Security was called 2x on the room next to us, and it took till past 4am for them to finally shut up. I know that isn't the hotel's fault, but definitely an annoyance.

Overall, if I'm back in the area and need to stay the night in Detroit, I would return.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caryn N, Manager at Greektown Casino Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
Thank you for choosing to stay at Greektown Casino - Hotel. We appreciate that you took the time to provide us with your comments in regards to your recent visit. I apologize for the inconvenience you experienced with your neighbors. We hope you will once again stay with us the next time you are attending events downtown.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Spring Lake, Michigan, United States
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 26, 2012

Very nice property. Easy walking to either Comerica Park or Ford Field.
King room on the 24th floor offered a great view and was nicely decorated.
Plenty to do and in the neighborhood. Walk down Monroe street to a great variety of drinking and dining.

Room Tip: Ask for a higher floor, south side of the hotel for the view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caryn N, Manager at Greektown Casino Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
We are honored that you choose to stay at Greektown Casino-Hotel and wish to do so again in the future. We are delighted that you had a great visit. Thank you for the positive review. We look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
99 reviews 99 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 57 cities Reviews in 57 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

The Greektown Casino Hotel is a good option if you are traveling with a large party and require decent and easy accommodation. I found the service to be excellent and the rooms to be contemporary and clean. The only drawbacks to this hotel are that it is part of a casino and the heavy traffic associated with that as well as the limited healthy food options in the adjoining restaurant(s). Valet parking is included with your hotel stay and the friendly staff are more than happy to make whatever accommodation you may need. I do know that my traveling companion did have difficulty when he requested an earlier check-in - tho I would attribute this to the fact that this is a casino centered hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caryn N, Manager at Greektown Casino Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
We appreciate the positive review about our property and are happy to hear that you enjoyed your time with us. Greektown Casino will be opening our new Fresh Market District at the end of December 2012. This new dining area will house a variety of dining options to better serve our patrons. We look forward to providing you with a more diverse dining selection soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muskegon, Michigan, United States
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 25, 2012

Stayed at Greek Town Hotel/Casino and the room was not very clean , Called the Frt. desk in which they sent house keeping back up to the room to do some dusting and cleaning left over hair in the sink.Spent to much money on the room for anything to be wrong.Frt desk people were very nice.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caryn N, Manager at Greektown Casino Hotel, responded to this review, December 3, 2012
We are very sorry to hear about the cleanliness of your room upon check in. Your comments have been sent to the Housekeeping Management Team for review. We are pleased to hear that we were able to quickly resolve the issue and deeply apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. This is in no way up to Greektown Casino Hotel standards and we hope you will provide us with another opportunity to host you in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Greektown Casino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greektown Casino Hotel

Address: 555 East Lafayette Ave, Detroit, MI 48226
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Detroit
#4 Luxury Hotel in Detroit
#6 Business Hotel in Detroit
#7 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Greektown Casino Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Greektown Casino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greektown Hotel Detroit

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greektown Casino Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.