We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Convenient and great service...but a long way from Vegas.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Greektown Casino Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Greektown Casino Hotel to your Saves list
Greektown Casino Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   555 East Lafayette Ave, Detroit, MI 48226   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Detroit
Charlotte, North Carolina
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Convenient and great service...but a long way from Vegas.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

I stayed here last night on a business trip. I got a great rate and gave it a shot. I must say the staff was very service oriented. The food in Bistro 555 was pretty good. The prices were reasonable. I never made it to the casino but saw a lot of people in sweatpants headed that way. Yes, sweatpants. I guess gambling may work up a lather!

Overall, I thought it was a good value and a very good location for my meetings. Just wish they had a Starbucks on site. The facility is beginning to show it's age and could have been a little cleaner. I found a bobby pin next to my sink. Trust me, I have found worse in some other hotel rooms!

By the way, the mattress was fabulous. Very comfortable. A key for me.

I will stay with them again.

Room Tip: Ask for as high up as possible as there are some nice views at night.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caryn N, Manager at Greektown Casino Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
We are delighted that you stayed at Greektown Casino – Hotel for your recent business trip. Thank you for such high ratings. For your convenience we do serve Starbucks coffee in the Bistro 555 and will be opening our new Coffee House in the Casino for all of your specialty coffee needs! We look forward to sharing this new service with you the end December of 2012!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

651 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    232
    65
    31
    22
See reviews for
59
289
28
90
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (148)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Sault Ste. Marie
Top Contributor
113 reviews 113 reviews
66 hotel reviews
Reviews in 62 cities Reviews in 62 cities
80 helpful votes 80 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 8, 2012

We spent a weekend at the Greektown Casino Hotel. We could not find the parking garage so went to valet. This worked out well since this was at the lobby of the hotel. The room was modern and very luxurious. The bedding was comfortable. We did not eat the hotel restaurants, however, as they were expensive. We ate at "Five Guys" and the "East End Zone" - very close to the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caryn N, Manager at Greektown Casino Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
We are pleased to hear that you enjoyed your stay with us and thank you for taking the time to post a review about your recent stay. For your convenience Greektown Casino Hotel does have dining options to fit any budget. Bistro 555 is available for your fine dining experience as well as Shotz sports bar for a more casual experience. I hope this information will be helpful during your next stay with us. We look forward to providing you with another great experience soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

The room while small, was very nice. I would stay here again on a great deal, but I'd play games at other casinos. Great view in the room, except for the filthy windows on the outside. Front desk staff was rude, plus the $100 PER NIGHT DEPOSIT was ridiculous. Worst of 4 casinos in the area. I'd put up with the rude staff for say, $40 per night.

  • Stayed November 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caryn N, Manager at Greektown Casino Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you for your feedback. Greektown Casino Hotel prides itself on the ability to provide the highest level of quality and service to our guest. We are regretful for any inconvenience you may have experienced during your visit with us. I apologize for any frustration the incidental deposit may have caused as this is an industry standard to cover any additional charges that may occur during your time with us. We hope you will give us another opportunity to show you what Greektown Casino Hotel is all about in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Elkhart, Indiana
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 6, 2012

We stayed here for the Detroit Marathon and our group rate was fabulous. Perfect location right in the heart of Greektown, close to the people mover and everything else. The parking garage was a nice luxury although it's a little tough to find. The view was amazing, our room was clean and very nice. Not huge by any means but absolutely perfect. I would stay here every time I come to Detroit if it wasn't for the normally high rates - true of all the nicer hotels though. Security to get up to the rooms is pretty tight but necessary because of the riff raff the casino attracts - the riff raff is the only thing that kept me from giving it 5 stars. I hope to stay here again!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caryn N, Manager at Greektown Casino Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
We are honored that you choose to stay at Greektown Casino-Hotel and wish to do so again in the future. We are delighted that you had a great visit. Thank you for the positive review. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fort Myers, Florida
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

Traveled to Detroit for the Lions first football game. Got picked by Towncar, right to Casino...check in was quick and easy. My room was on the 22nd floor overlooking the Downtown skyline...beautiful view. Was only a couple blocks from both Tiger Stadium and Ford Field....nice bars and restaurants in area also. The casino was awesome...gambling, live music and nice sports bar...a great stay for any event.

  • Stayed September 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caryn N, Manager at Greektown Casino Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
We are excited to hear that you enjoyed your stay at Greektown Casino - Hotel. As you mentioned in your review, we are very proud to offer excellent service, a great location and unique dining outlets. We hope that you will return to Greektown on your next visit to Detroit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012 via mobile

The Greektown Casino Hotel is my all time absolute favorite hotel to stay at for business or pleasure! What hotel can u stay at that you can go downstairs & you have multiple entertainment opportunities? This one! You have Greektown Casino, you have greektowns buffet from around the world, Bistro restaurant, gift shop, along with many other excellent restaurants & bar & grills that downtown greektown has to offer. The very minor detail that the hotel does not offer, is a swimming pool. If they had a pool, I'd vote 100% Excellent! In every aspect possible! They do not, so my vote is 90% Excellent! That is one of my personal options I require to receive a full 100% Excellence vote. If that's not one of yours, then I guarantee, get the suite & you'll be 100% satisfied! Good Luck & Have Fun!

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caryn N, Manager at Greektown Casino Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
Thank you so very much for such a high rating regarding your stay with us. We sincerely appreciate you taking the time to leave a review. We look forward to your next stay with us here at Greektown Casino - Hotel.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 5, 2012

Good location, good rooms.
Valet is free - but slow.

Comerica park is close enough to walk.

Restaurants are also in close proximity to the hotel.

get a high floor .

.
.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Caryn N, Manager at Greektown Casino Hotel, responded to this review, November 29, 2012
We are delighted that you stayed at Greektown Casino – Hotel for your recent business trip. Thank you for such high ratings. I apologize for the delay in valet. For your convenience our new valet garage is set to open in February where you will be able to swipe your players card and be on your way in minutes! We hope to see you again soon!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Greektown Casino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greektown Casino Hotel

Address: 555 East Lafayette Ave, Detroit, MI 48226
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Detroit
#4 Luxury Hotel in Detroit
#6 Business Hotel in Detroit
#7 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Greektown Casino Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Cheap Tickets, Travelocity, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Greektown Casino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greektown Hotel Detroit

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greektown Casino Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.