We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Downtown choice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Greektown Casino Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Greektown Casino Hotel to your Saves list
Greektown Casino Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   555 East Lafayette Ave, Detroit, MI 48226   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Rate
Book Direct & Save!
Ranked #5 of 34 Hotels in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Maryland
Senior Contributor
24 reviews 24 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“Good Downtown choice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 11, 2012

Stayed here for 4 nights. Rooms are nicer than I expected esp the bath area with very nice glass shower and spa-like design. Very comfortable and quiet. Check-in and out were good experiences for me- telephone checkout the option I chose to avoid long lines/delays that others in our group experienced. It was great to have free parking included as well.
The main issue with this hotel is location- it's downtown Detroit: there's not much in the way of shopping, sights, or attractions- that would attract me anyway. Much of the area is run down, especially heading away from downtown a block or two, and there are many panhandlers, and some are aggressive and rude. I experienced two obnoxious and aggressive ones in very short walks. So, walking around outside the hotel, I did not not feel particularly safe and I think walking would be foolish at night except maybe in groups. Fortunately, in addition to decent hotel room service and an in-hotel restaurant (and prominent hotel security), there are several Greektown restaurants/bars very close to the hotel so you probably don't need to walk far. I didn't do the casino, but walking to area places via the enclosed "skywalk" from the 3rd floor, I passed through the slots areas- it was depressing to me to see many (what appeared probably were) lower income gamblers, looking to improve their financial futures when they were likely just giving their money away, so I didn't want to go try anything there. That said, If you need to stay in downtown Detroit, this is probably a good choice- especially if you don't plan to do much walking around.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

702 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    331
    244
    70
    33
    24
See reviews for
63
309
32
96
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (159)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
Urbana, Illinois
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
38 hotel reviews
Reviews in 48 cities Reviews in 48 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2012

I stayed at this hotel for a business conference. The group rate was very reasonable compared to what I am used to paying in other cities. The conference center was great for our group and conveniently setup all in one location of the hotel.

The room was modern, clean and comfortable. The bathroom was large with modern glass shower with separate prep area (sink outside bathroom, great for sharing room). Internet was fast and free (it does time out quickly, which was annoying). Beds were comfortable.

It was located in Greektown, so close to some nice restaurants and close to the PeopleMover to get to other areas of the city. Also attached to the Casino. I am not a big gambler, but the MGM was much nicer Casino.

Room Tip: Ask for high floor for good view. You can choose either City view or River View
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Olmsted, Ohio
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2012

Honestly , we do get comped most of the time when we go to Detroit to gamble. I do have to say, comped or not, we would stay at Greektown for the convenience factor of having the ability to take a break for a while and relax in the room. The main reason for the review is to acknowledge the courteous front desk staff, not only when making the phone reservations, but, also at check-in. They are the friendliest and are willing to go out of their way to make sure that your stay is what you expect.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
29 reviews 29 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2012

For the amount of money you pay, this is one of the best values for a nights' stay in Downtown Detroit! It's very clean, airy, with friendly and accommodating staff! Plus it's attached to the casino (for some late night to do) and its on the strip with the majority of the nightlife of Downtown Detroit. :)

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2012

Anyone who wants to have a fabulous time and stay in a First Class Hotel, make it to Detroit City and check out Greektown Casino and Hotel. Have stayed there several times and always a great experience.
The Casino itself is fantastic and fun, the Hotel is wonderful. The rooms are so nice, great views of The River, Canada and Downtown Detroit. A Vacation Hot Spot, don't miss it if you ever get the chance to travel to Detroit!!!!!!!!

Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 17, 2012

A really excellent hotel.

- Reasonably priced.

- Very nice rooms.

- Great service, especially from the Bell Captain (Chris I think?) who was ultra helpful.

- Perfect location for me (and for the Urban Adventures walking tour that leaves from 10 mins walk away).

The only reason it doesn't get 5 stars is that there's a casino attached, and I find them kinda sad places. Not much that can be done about that I guess.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chesterfield, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2012

We stayed one night in a suite for my birthday celebration. It was gorgeous, both the room and the view. Every room had a floor-to-ceiling window view of the Detroit River from the Ren Cen, to Windsor, to Belle Isle and Lake St. Claire. We were in a corner suite and our friends had the room next door that had a joining door (it was a standard king-sized bed room -- they loved it). In the suite, the living area was great. It had a large flat screen TV, a couch, a coffee table, two chairs and a desk. There was a small 1/2 bath in the hallway. The room was floor to ceiling glass with a stunning view of Belle isle and the Detroit River. It had a flat screen TV, an armoire and a safe. The bathroom was incredible with a double sink, a separate toilet room, a jet tub and large, and a glass enclosed shower. The only two downsides were: 1) all surfaces (counters, floors) in the suite sticky; and 2) there is smoking in the casino. On the upside, the hotel had easy access to the casino, parking and the People Mover. Parking was free, and make sure you park in the casino/hotel garage -- entrance to the hotel from the parking garage is level 3. The People Mover is 75 cents a ride and will take you around the downtown area. But we stayed here and never left Greektown. It's such a fun area with a lot to do. Especially for a celebration/night out as there are a large variety of restaurants and bars within walking distance of the hotel.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Greektown Casino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greektown Casino Hotel

Address: 555 East Lafayette Ave, Detroit, MI 48226
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Detroit
#6 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
#6 Family Hotel in Detroit
#7 Business Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Greektown Casino Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 400
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets, EasyToBook and Priceline so you can book your Greektown Casino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greektown Hotel Detroit

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greektown Casino Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.