We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“All right but not for the price” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Greektown Casino Hotel

Save Saved
You added Greektown Casino Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Greektown Casino Hotel
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   555 East Lafayette Ave, Detroit, MI 48226   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #6 of 33 hotels in Detroit
ontario
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
28 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
29 helpful votes 29 helpful votes
“All right but not for the price”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2012

My wife and I decided to stay for one night on the return from a business trip. Paid a little extra for the corner room. NO one mentioned the construction & pile driver next door. I called the desk, and was told to use EARPLUGS!!! I understand construction is out of their control but EARPLUGS!!!
The rooms are noisy from people next door and staff in the hallways, do not have the amenities I expect for this cost point. Minor things but I was not at the Days Inn either. One chair, nothing to put your feet up on, no table to eat at, one night table for a king bed, minimal towels. Over priced breakfast, and mini-bar. The bar on the main floor still smelled like frying grease, poor ventilation. I just left the Marriot the night before, for 35% less we had better accommodations and amenities.
Location is great, view is wonderful. They need front desk staff that gives a darn, and a cost that is in line with the amenities offered. Would I stay again, yes but only for a better deal on the price. They are 50 to 60 too high per night.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

562 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    261
    196
    59
    24
    22
See reviews for
51
254
26
67
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
20 hotel reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
68 helpful votes 68 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 13, 2012

I stayed at the Greektown Casino Hotel for the Easter long weekend. Red Wings and Tigers were both playing that weekend, so we thought we'd catch both games. The location of Greektown was amazing. Super close to everything (walking distance, and for those lazy days, close to the Detroit People Mover station.
The Casino was alright, but the Hotel was beautiful, clean, and modern. The Hotel restaurant was very nice and offered a wide range of menu items. I thought the staff was very pleasant. It was not the cheapest hotel, but it's a trade off because you end up getting location, nice hotel, and casino.
The only disappointing thing was that our room had really thin walls. Happens to be our neighbours were partying it up all night. We asked to move rooms but unfortunately the hotel was fully booked and was unable to move us. We thought it was just the music that was loud, but we can hear conversations in person AND on the phone. It was odd.
I would recommend this hotel, but just hope you have quiet neighbours if you stay here.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cleveland, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 12, 2012

I stayed at the Greektown Casino Hotel for a weekend during my family reunion and I really enjoyed my stay. It's one of Detroit's newer hotels in the heart of it all. It's a nice hotel, not real fancy or upscale, but modern and comfortable. We received great service from the start when we valeted our cars (complimentary) and check-in was smooth. The rooms were nice but nothing special. They aren't that big but were clean and have everything you need.

I'd say best part of this hotel is its location. There is so much to do right around the hotel that you will have no trouble finding a place to dine or entertainment. It was nice to have options closeby since I'm not a huge gambler. I did walk through the hotel casino to take a peek but all the smoke in the air was too irritating to stay long.

I liked the Greektown Casino Hotel and I'd stay there again

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Greektown Casino Hotel is gorgeous. We stayed in a suite and overlooked the city, awesome views, the most comfortable bed ever, reasonably priced mini bar, fabulous bath area OMG - I wanted to move in. We stayed only one night, I'll be here for 3 nights during the Grand Prix weekend and am soooo looking forward to it. This hotel is in a great location for food, fun and excitement. The people mover stop is convenient from the casino (which is attached to the hotel) so it's just great to be here. The staff are all so professional and fabulous (my job is booking travel for a large company) this is one of my most favorite properties to work with. Can't wait for my Grand Prix visit! It does not get much better than Greektown Casino Hotel.

  • Stayed November 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
North Canton, Ohio
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
39 helpful votes 39 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 10, 2012

Convenient, clean, friendly, accessible, affordable, comfortable and quite; these are the good things you want to hear about a hotel stay. These do apply. It's easy of and on the highway to the parking garage and then into the hotel no problem. All of the staff are friendly. The room we had was exceptionally clean and well laid out with show separate from sink area and work study area design nicely appointed. We had no noise issues or smokey smell in the room. Getting to the casino is a breeze and I highly recommend crossing the street for pastry and pizza (both are a must do). I am a newbie to Detroit so beware alcohol is not free as it is in Vegas casinos. And there are plenty of slots . I had no problems getting a slot to play. And the video poker room is always more quiet. There is a small non-smoking area for slots that was a welcome breathing respite.

Room Tip: Don't be afraid of the 13th floor. There are only a few rooms, nice view, and not busy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 9, 2012

I stayed in the Greektown Casino Hotel for the Tiger's opening day game, and was very impressed. The hotel is located just minutes away from the stadiums and all downtown night-life. The room was one of the nicest I have ever stayed in, and the customer service was great (big shout-out to Linda F. for her helping us put together an amazing day/night in the city). Parking is free, and the buffet breakfast was tasty. What else can you ask for?

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
53 helpful votes 53 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2012 via mobile

Have been to Detroit many times, but this is the first time I have stayed here. Service was great, rooms were very modern and nicely furnished. They were on the smaller side, but the floor to ceiling windows were wonderful. We had a corner room that had fantastic views of downtown and Ford Field and Tiger Stadium.
Bed was comfy, room was well supplied with linens and coffee maker. Plenty of lamps, outlets, and nice desk. Minibar was also nice, pretty good selection and the prices were great for a minibar. For example a beer was $3.
We ate at Bistro 555 for dinner and the food was good, the breakfast and buffet looked good as well.
The hotel has free valet parking and WIFI and also offers room service menu.
As others have stated tv service would stutter here and there. No big deal unless you were watching a game or something.
The location is perfect. You are connected to the greektown casino by a covered skywalk. You can also walk right out the front door and be right by all of the restaurants and shops in Greektown. Tiger Stadium, Ford Field, the Fox Theater are all very close by. You also have easy access to the people mover which is only 75 cents.
I am a travel agent who is very fussy about where I stay. I normally was staying at the MGM hotel which is very nice, but gets very pricey. I also went to view the Atheneum Hotel and those rooms were very nice, modern, clean, and all suites for a good price. All three of these have easy access to great restaurants, bars, events, and casinos. I would stay at all three hotels, would just depend on the price at this point.

  • Stayed April 2012
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Greektown Casino Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Greektown Casino Hotel

Address: 555 East Lafayette Ave, Detroit, MI 48226
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Luxury Hotel in Detroit
#6 Family Hotel in Detroit
#7 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
#8 Business Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — Greektown Casino Hotel 4*
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Venere, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL, Despegar.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Amex, Agoda and Otel so you can book your Greektown Casino Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Greektown Hotel Detroit

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greektown Casino Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.