We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“My stay while attending the Saviours Day 2014 Convention Feb. 20-24, 2014” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby to your Saves list
Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   525 West Lafayette Blvd, Detroit, MI 48226   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Park & Dine 50% Savings!
Ranked #8 of 34 Hotels in Detroit
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Minneapolis, Minnesota
1 review
“My stay while attending the Saviours Day 2014 Convention Feb. 20-24, 2014”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2014

The overall service at this Hotel was great; from the valet, customer service, guest service, etc. Whenever I called for rome service, they were there immediately. The Hotel and it's rooms were very clean. The walls even seem to be sound proofed because I could never hear any noise from my neighbors.
My only concerns (which are minor) is that I wish they had a continental breakfast and that their toilet bowls had a little bit more water in them. If they could change that, this would be the perfect Hotel. I will more than likely always stay at this Hotel everytime I visit Detroit.

Room Tip: If you have a large family, get the double-queen room with the let-out couch.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry B, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for staying with us. I am pleased to see you enjoyed your stay.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

777 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    350
    275
    77
    40
    35
See reviews for
149
179
44
257
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
detroit, United States
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

The hotel was nice and clean. The room was huge and comfortable. Shuttle service drivers went above and beyond expectations. A manager came in early and begin driving because a large group of us were waiting early one morning. My only critique is that I had to call for more toilet tissue and clean towels. My heater and A/C was difficult to set and the room was HOT. Eventually they turned the A/C system off in my room. Thank goodness it was cold and snowing outside because that is how we kept the room bearable. However it was muggy because we did not have fresh air circulating.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry B, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
We were happy to host your group. We look forward to seeing you the nest time you are in Detroit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Plainfield, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

Our stay at the Double tree was very relaxing and we were well served and the staff was very tentative. The location was only a minute away from my venue. Finding a restraunt was a breeze. We all had a great time. We would definitly recomend this Double tree hotel.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry B, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
I am pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us. We look forward to being of service the next time you are in Detroit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ohio
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

We stayed here for an event taking place at the Cobo Center. Please be AWARE that this hotel allows pets and during our stay, there were many. I would not stay here agin for that reason alone. Myself and my daughter are highly allergic. I found myself hacking and coughing most if the night. Other than that the hotel was nice.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry B, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
I am pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us. While we do alow pets. We do a deep cleaning of the room after our four legged friends depart. I will be going over that pratice with our housekeeping Manager. Thank you for the feedback .
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cleveland, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

I was very disappointed regarding the late or unavailability of your signature chocolate chip cookies at check in and next morning inquiry and at check out time. otherwise I really enjoyed my stay and other services I requested. I would stay here and refer this hotel to others.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry B, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for letting us know how your stay was with us. I am sorry, that we did not have a cookie ready for you. I will address that issue with my Food and Beverage Manager. I am pleased to see that other then that, you enjoyed your stay. We look forward to being of service the next time you are in Detroit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014

Hotel is ok, average really, but problem is there is nothing within walking distance, except a gas station with not much to buy. There is a shuttle, but hard to schedule it for correct timing. Say I have to have 200 characters, but I have run out of things to say!

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry B, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
Thank you for taking the time to provide us with some feedback. We are pleased to offer a courtsy shuttle within five mils of us hotel. I am sorry you had issue catching it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Topeka, United States
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2014

After arriving late (around midnight) and needing to get up early the following morning, the night shift manager provided fast and very accomodating service. As Gold Card Hilton members we were upgraded to an executive suite- just too bad we could really only enjoy the bed and shower for the 6 hours we were there.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service

Review collected in partnership with DoubleTree by Hilton

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Larry B, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby, responded to this review, March 4, 2014
I am pleased to see you enjoyed your stay with us and the service. We try to treat each guest like family. We look forward to being of service the next time you are in Detroit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby

Address: 525 West Lafayette Blvd, Detroit, MI 48226
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Business Hotel in Detroit
#5 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
#9 Family Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby 3.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful historic hotel in the heart of downtown Detroit. Enjoy our all suite hotel rooms. Just one block from the people mover. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hilton Hotels and Hotels.com so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby Hotel Detroit
Doubletree Hotel Fort Shelby

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.