We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Full size suites and good value in the heart of Detroit” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Save
You added Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby to your Saves list
Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   525 West Lafayette Blvd, Detroit, MI 48226   |  
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Breakfast & WiFi!
Ranked #6 of 34 Hotels in Detroit
Boston, MA, USA
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
15 helpful votes 15 helpful votes
“Full size suites and good value in the heart of Detroit”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2011

This is the old Fort Shelby historic hotel that was very well renovated into true suites. Each room is a separate living room and bedroom with two flat screen TV’s and a separate bathroom. It really is a suite, not just a name. .

The employees were excellent. The breakfast was superior. The Finn and Porter restaurant in the building is a more than adequate place to eat dinner. They serve in the round bar on weekday nights which makes for a convivial atmosphere.

The one downside is the only parking they offer is valet for $25/day. You can also park on the street but I don’t know the safety of this . It would be good if they had mid-priced self-parking as there are several lots immediately adjacent to the building.

It’s located about seven blocks from the great MGM Grand Casino which is a real plus. Has some great eating as well as generally 1st class operation. But nightime streets in downtown Detroit are so very quiet that you might not feel comfortable walking. This is not a crime issue, it’s just the lack of traffic either pedestrian or auto, and sizeable areas occupied by parking lots and empty buildings.

Nevertheless the city is making a comeback with new hotels, arenas, and other amenities --- it certainly a better place than it was years ago and I had absolutely no problems.

I would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdunavent, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby, responded to this review, September 23, 2011
Thank you so much for the comments on the size of our suites. We love them also almost like being in your own apartment. Also glad to see our team made you feel welcome. We take pride in giving great service so its always nice to hear when people see it coming through. We hope to see you again soon. Everyone needs a great cookie and this is the place to get it.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

700 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    322
    247
    63
    37
    31
See reviews for
132
159
35
242
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (70)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Thousand Oaks, California
Top Contributor
52 reviews 52 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 18, 2011

Our suite was very nicely furnished, clean, spacious, and an outstanding value. The only issue was the sink faucets were plumbed backwards (hot on the right). It's convenient (one block) to Detroit's downtown People Mover, which whisks you to Comerica Park, Greektown, and the convention center.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdunavent, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby, responded to this review, September 23, 2011
So glad you enjoyed your stay with us. We always love to hear positive feedback. I hope to have you stay with us in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Richmond, Virginia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 16, 2011

We spent 4 nights here. rooms were decent although we had an A/C issue and a broken door handle on a bedroom door that got one of us locked in a bedroom. Location was typical downtown Detroit. More than a short walk to stadiums or Greek Town and a cab ride to the MGM Casino. Breakfast buffet was nice looking, but lacked flavor and was a little greasy. Our server was a true veteran and provided great service. The bar staff was friendly and efficient. The front desk staff was mixed. We had friendly smiles and service from some and chilly reception from others. The day staff at the front desk was very good. The room amenities were typical for a Doubletree and nice. Beds were comfortable and pillows were great. I would stay again if I had to be in Detroit.

Room Tip: Corner suites are spacious and great windows. View is not great from this property.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdunavent, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby, responded to this review, September 23, 2011
Thank you so much for your comments. I was sorry to hear of your issues and can assure you that we have addressed them with our team. We strive to delivey the Hilton promise and our whole team is commited to ensuring that every guest leaves with a great experiance. I hope when back in our city you will give a 2nd chance to show you we can hit a home run.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 12, 2011

Stayed here for the Kid Rock concert. Close to the People Mover. Room was large and clean. Breakfast in the morning was good but expensive.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdunavent, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby, responded to this review, September 23, 2011
Thank you so much for your comments on our team. Kid Rock is always a fun weekend busy with lots of detroit energy. I am glad to hear you enjoyed you time with and look forward to seeing you at next years concert.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011 via mobile

The Double Tree Fort Shelby is a nice hotel for a decent price. Unfortunately the dining area, lounge, and room service close way too early. Unfortunately, in downtown Detroit you are 100% dependent upon your hotel for dining, etc. Don't pack your food either because there is no refrigerator or microwave in the room.

If you can eat early or are free to drive a distance this hotel is comfortable and conveniently located by the Derroit International Jazz Festival.

  • Stayed September 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdunavent, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby, responded to this review, September 12, 2011
We are so pleased that you enjoyed your guest room stay. I was sorry to hear of your concerns with our food and beverage outlet. We do get a lot of positive feedback from the outlets so it dissapoints me we didn't hit a home run with you. I have forwarded your comments to our outlet manager and hope in future stays you will see a big diffrences.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kalamazoo
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2011

Next week my 4th time for 6 nights at hotel for conference that I organize that is held there. The conference room space lower level and the Terrace banquet service and food are exellent. The hotel is on the historic register, it is a gem. My guest room is like a small apartment in size. Huge windows and drapes, separate bedroom 2 TV's. The entire operation is 1st class, valet parking and front desk are wonderful. Our 1st time was 2 weeks after they opened. The sales department is now up to speed and excellent. Also have a nice buisness center. Ask to see the ball room. How wonderful Hilton/Double Tree saved this place from ruin, it's a public service to save such a unique Detroit hotel.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdunavent, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby, responded to this review, September 12, 2011
I was so pleased to see how often you are with us and how much you enjoy your time with us. My team and I take great pride in making sure that the guest promise is met. I hope to continue the outstanding experiance with you for many years.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, Massachusetts
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
36 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
37 helpful votes 37 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2011

We spent one night in Detroit Downtown (which was beautiful and scary at the same time). Check in was speedy and the staff attentive. The rooms where very nice (huge); the only complaint: the floor has not seen a vacuum cleaner for a while (this definitely should not happen at such a place). We enjoyed and spent a peaceful night. The fitness-room was definitely up-to-date and clean.

Room Tip: Staying at one of the top floors recommended (view)
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sdunavent, General Manager at Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby, responded to this review, September 2, 2011
So glad to hear you enjoyed the spacious rooms and our location that is close to everything. I was sorry to hear that your room was a bit dusty. Being in a city location with windows that open sometimes that can happen. I wanted to ensure you that I have informed our housekeeping staff and we have addressed your issue for the future. Thank you so much for the feedback so we can continue to improve and deliver the Doubletree by Hilton promise. I look forward to your return

Shannon Dunavent
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby

Address: 525 West Lafayette Blvd, Detroit, MI 48226
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#4 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
#4 Business Hotel in Detroit
#9 Family Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby 3.5*
Number of rooms: 203
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Wonderful historic hotel in the heart of downtown Detroit. Enjoy our all suite hotel rooms. Just one block from the people mover. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hilton Hotels, Expedia, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Orbitz, getaroom.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Doubletree By Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby Hotel Detroit
Doubletree Hotel Fort Shelby

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Doubletree by Hilton Detroit Downtown - Fort Shelby, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.