We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“best hotel stay” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Courtyard by Marriott Detroit Downtown

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Courtyard by Marriott Detroit Downtown to your Saves list
Courtyard by Marriott Detroit Downtown
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   333 East Jefferson Ave, Detroit, MI 48226   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Calling All Baseball Fans
Ranked #11 of 34 Hotels in Detroit
detroit
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“best hotel stay”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 31, 2012

I was afraid to stay downtown after reading the reviews but I had a wonderful stay. The hotel was safe you need a key just to use the restroom, and security at the elevator after 8pm. I will be back for the thanksgiving parade.

The staff was great from valet to housekeeping, I was greeted with a smile.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

315 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    107
    141
    38
    13
    16
See reviews for
67
73
18
79
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (74)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Atlanta, Georgia
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 29, 2012 via mobile

Great location, staff, rooms, and train around town so convienent. Even a awesome exersice and tennis court............outside. Indoor pool. Across street from ford museum. Detroit gets a bad rap but it was fun for me.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cary, IL
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
16 helpful votes 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 25, 2012

I had a meeting at the Ren Center, a conference at Cobo, and went to ALCS Game 4 (twice, but that is another story).

Pros:
Great downtown location
Room was good size.
Bed and pillows very comfortable.
Breakfast was good. You can walk to Tim Horton's without going outside if that is more your speed.
Wifi was free and worked well.
Friendly staff all-around.
Good sized LCD television with a handy external box for connecting audio and video devices. However they only offered SD channels.

Cons:
Parking garage is attached, but $15 per day. Since you can walk to everything or take the people mover a car is not really required. Since I had some business in the suburbs I needed a car.

Room Tip: Room 1201 had a good view and two queen beds. Inadequate lighting in my opinion.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
All Over
Top Contributor
183 reviews 183 reviews
44 hotel reviews
Reviews in 64 cities Reviews in 64 cities
118 helpful votes 118 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 23, 2012

I stayed here the night before the detroit press half marathon. Such a great location. The Ren center is across the street and accessible via skywalk, stadium and convention center within walking distance as well as Greektown restaurants. The staff was extremely friendly and happy to give me an extra late check out. The bed was just okay. Not that comfy and the sheets were toilet paper thin and just really cheap. I like that there was a fridge and the room was a good size for 1 or 2 people. The price was reasonable too. I would stay here again if I were by myself for a quick visit.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
michigan
Senior Contributor
37 reviews 37 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

We stayed here for a Detroit Tiger game. Great location and able to walk to the stadium and felt safe the whole time. They have their own people mover stop if you prefere. The room was clean and the bed's very comfortable. The staff was very friendly. I would stay again.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Roseville
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed October 22, 2012

Forgetting about the fact that it took an obscene amount of time to check in and the rooms way too smaill for the money spent for one night, it was easy to shake that off the next morning when we realized that our room was Ransacked the night before. WHILE WE SLEPT. Most everyone who stayed in the room lost something. Those of us who just got our phones swiped counted ourselves lucky. When we asked if we could see the security footage, the hotel security guards laughed and said "We don't have cameras. Not on EVERY floor!"
SERIOUSLY?? Never again. I would feel safer sleeping in a locked car than at this overpriced hell hole.

Room Tip: Get a room in Windsor. It's not that hard to cross the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
DTWCYGM, General Manager at Courtyard by Marriott Detroit Downtown, responded to this review, November 13, 2012
Thank you for your post. Please know that the safety and security of our guests is a top priority at Marriott. As soon as we were made aware of the situation our security team contacted the Detroit police, who responded to the hotel to investigate the matter. After an investigation and reviewing reports taken from the guestroom door lock, hotel security found no indication of forced entry and only keys issued to the room occupants were used to gain access to the room. A claim has been filed with our claims department and they will work to resolve the matter.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
27 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 21, 2012

From the moment we checked in to the time we checked out, we experienced a service that I wish I could bottle and sell! The staff were genuinely happy to see us and talk to us. The two Front Desk ladies at check-in were lovely and assisted me in getting the right room for our Sunday retreat in Detroit. The gentleman at the Front Desk helped me with a special request and was also so sweet.
The room on the 17th floor overlooking the river had stunning views and was very spacious. The bed was comfortable and the bathroom was comfortably huge.
Every encounter at this hotel was special... and I left there knowing I would return.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay
Hotels you might also like...

Been to Courtyard by Marriott Detroit Downtown? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Courtyard by Marriott Detroit Downtown

Address: 333 East Jefferson Ave, Detroit, MI 48226
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#9 Romantic Hotel in Detroit
#9 Business Hotel in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Courtyard by Marriott Detroit Downtown 3*
Number of rooms: 260
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A sleek, stylish star among downtown Detroit, Michigan hotels, the distinctive Courtyard by Marriott Detroit Downtown offers superior convenience & style. Attractions are easily accessible from this hotel in downtown Detroit, Michigan, including the Fox Theatre, Ford Field, Comerica Park, Joe Louis Arena & Greektown Casino. Explore the surroundings of this hotel in Detroit, Michigan and step out to the GM Renaissance Center, conveniently connected by skyway. Discover a dramatic departure from traditional hotels in downtown Detroit and get away to the revitalized Courtyard Detroit Hotel for an urban experience. Business and leisure travelers will revel in downtown Detroit, MI hotel amenities, such as complimentary high-speed wireless Internet, 37-inch flat panel TVs, connectivity panels and People Mover access. Maintain your workout routine in our state-of-the-art fitness center with cardiovascular equipment, free weights, large indoor pool and outdoor running track. While the hotel is centrally located within walking distance to Ford Field, Comerica Park and Greektown Casino, the People Mover transit system also has a station conveniently located within the building. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Marriott so you can book your Courtyard by Marriott Detroit Downtown reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Courtyard By Marriott Detroit Downtown Hotel Detroit
Courtyard Detroit Downtown
Detroit Courtyard
Detroit Marriott

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Courtyard by Marriott Detroit Downtown, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.