We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Cheap Hotel, But not the Best” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Rivertown Inn & Suites Downtown Detroit

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Save
You added Rivertown Inn & Suites Downtown Detroit to your Saves list
Rivertown Inn & Suites Downtown Detroit
3.0 of 5 Motel   |   1316 E. Jefferson Ave., Detroit, MI 48207 (Formerly Shorecrest Motor Inn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #21 of 34 Hotels in Detroit
Chicago, Illinois, United States
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Cheap Hotel, But not the Best”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed July 23, 2012

My review about this hotel. 1. It was cheap, yes it was. 2. Great location, five minutes to downtown. 3. Rooms are very small and little dirty. 3. Hotel is in a safe area (I did not see any neighborhood). 4. Don't expect a perfect room for the price you are gonna pay. 5. Yes, it looks like some prostitution around 6. Make sure you bring a towel, shampoo and shower gel. 7. There is free parking. 8. Wireless internet is free works fine. 9. The bed is very old, and blankets are old too. 10. I will only stay here if no other choices of hotels close to downtown.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled solo
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Rico S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

60 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More
Toronto, Canada
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

The motel provides all of the basics - beds, 4-pc ensuite bathroom, blow dryer, TV with cable, bar fridge and phone.

Friendly staff.

Wifi wasn't very reliable.

The price is pretty good for where the motel is located. Walkable to all attractions in Downtown Detroit.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank B_La_22
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012

This place is a joke. I asked to rent two rooms for after a bachelor party to prevent my friends and me from drunk driving. The manager turned down my business stating he's 'seen what happens' when that type of crowd stays at his hotel. Yet he asked if I was going to be in town for the Kenny Chesney concert. As if those drunk hicks are going to be responsible when they crash this place. Hope this moron has a clue what he's doing which he clearly does not.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Heelflipkgrind
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Detroit hotels

California Hot Springs, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Filthy, horrible service, prostitutes in the hotel and area and one of the most dangerous areas to stay. Management is very Uneducated and unprofessional. Do yourself a favor and spend some extra money and stay somewhere where you feel safe clean and respected!

Room Tip: Just stay somewhere else!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Topaz1111
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

Stayed at the Shorecrest on MLK day while visiting the auto show. The staff was very friendly and the room was fine, not spectacuar, but a good value. They let us park all day for the auto show in the motel lot, even after we checked out. Good location and you cant beat the price.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank 232913023
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Decent cheap alternative for a night in downtown Detroit. Meets all reasonable expectations. Clean enough, warm enough, safe enough and close to anything you would wanna experience downtown.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Casey A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
28 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011

This place is old all the entry doors are from the out side. We rented 8 rooms for our group not one door had an air tight seal. You could hear the wind blow through. Out of the 8 rooms 2 were in my opinion useable. All the rooms smelled of stale smoke. All my cloths stink of smoke. The beds vary drastically out of the 8, 4 were not bad mine was horrible mattress was older than me. Bed bugs? I don't know I'm still searching my body for any evidence of them.
This place reminds of a hooker hotel where the room is rented by the visit. Some of our group was ther for 2 nights I stayed for one and if the city wasn't booked solid I wouldn't have stayed the one night!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank J Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Detroit hotels
1.6 mi away
The Corktown Hotel
The Corktown Hotel
#18 of 34 in Detroit
3.0 of 5 stars 52 reviews
0.4 mi away
Detroit Regency Hotel
Detroit Regency Hotel
#20 of 34 in Detroit
3.0 of 5 stars 101 reviews
0.8 mi away
Crowne Plaza Detroit Downtown Riverfront
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
Courtyard Detroit Downtown
0.9 mi away
Holiday Inn Express Detroit - Downtown
1.0 mi away
Roberts Riverwalk Hotel Detroit
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Rivertown Inn & Suites Downtown Detroit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Rivertown Inn & Suites Downtown Detroit

Address: 1316 E. Jefferson Ave., Detroit, MI 48207 (Formerly Shorecrest Motor Inn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #21 of 34 Hotels in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates):
Hotel Class:3 star — Rivertown Inn & Suites Downtown Detroit 3*
Number of rooms: 54
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Travelocity, Priceline, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Odigeo and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Rivertown Inn & Suites Downtown Detroit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shorecrest Motor Hotel Detroit
Shorecrest Hotel Detroit
Shorecrest Motel Detroit

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing