We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Average Motel, Good Price for Location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Shorecrest Motor Inn

Save Saved
You added Shorecrest Motor Inn to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Shorecrest Motor Inn
1316 E. Jefferson Ave., Detroit, MI 48207   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #20 of 33 hotels in Detroit
Toronto, Canada
Senior Reviewer
9 reviews 9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Average Motel, Good Price for Location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 22, 2012

The motel provides all of the basics - beds, 4-pc ensuite bathroom, blow dryer, TV with cable, bar fridge and phone.

Friendly staff.

Wifi wasn't very reliable.

The price is pretty good for where the motel is located. Walkable to all attractions in Downtown Detroit.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    4
    10
    7
    6
    11
See reviews for
8
8
3
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    2.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (5)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Any
English first
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed July 11, 2012 via mobile

This place is a joke. I asked to rent two rooms for after a bachelor party to prevent my friends and me from drunk driving. The manager turned down my business stating he's 'seen what happens' when that type of crowd stays at his hotel. Yet he asked if I was going to be in town for the Kenny Chesney concert. As if those drunk hicks are going to be responsible when they crash this place. Hope this moron has a clue what he's doing which he clearly does not.

  • Stayed July 2012
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California Hot Springs, California
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2012

Filthy, horrible service, prostitutes in the hotel and area and one of the most dangerous areas to stay. Management is very Uneducated and unprofessional. Do yourself a favor and spend some extra money and stay somewhere where you feel safe clean and respected!

Room Tip: Just stay somewhere else!!!
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 1 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

Stayed at the Shorecrest on MLK day while visiting the auto show. The staff was very friendly and the room was fine, not spectacuar, but a good value. They let us park all day for the auto show in the motel lot, even after we checked out. Good location and you cant beat the price.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lansing, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Decent cheap alternative for a night in downtown Detroit. Meets all reasonable expectations. Clean enough, warm enough, safe enough and close to anything you would wanna experience downtown.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 10 cities Reviews in 10 cities
28 helpful votes 28 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed October 17, 2011 via mobile

This place is old all the entry doors are from the out side. We rented 8 rooms for our group not one door had an air tight seal. You could hear the wind blow through. Out of the 8 rooms 2 were in my opinion useable. All the rooms smelled of stale smoke. All my cloths stink of smoke. The beds vary drastically out of the 8, 4 were not bad mine was horrible mattress was older than me. Bed bugs? I don't know I'm still searching my body for any evidence of them.
This place reminds of a hooker hotel where the room is rented by the visit. Some of our group was ther for 2 nights I stayed for one and if the city wasn't booked solid I wouldn't have stayed the one night!

  • Stayed October 2011
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belmont, Massachusetts
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed August 8, 2011

I came for a conference in Renaissance center, and this motel seemed a good solution for my needs - cheap and close.
It is 5 minutes walk, and I walked during the day, but to come back at evening I had to take cab. And for the service it provides it is overpriced.
The room was clean but this is the only good thing I can say. The room has no amenities at all - no hair dryer, no iron. I've got an iron in the reception and had to carry a small ironing board to my room, where there was no place to put it comfortably, so I ended up bending and ironing my stuff on the bed. The "free internet in your room" does not work most of the time, and nobody would even try to help you with it. You are lucky if you sleep the whole night and nobody shouts right in front of your door somewhere at 3AM.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Shorecrest Motor Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shorecrest Motor Inn

Address: 1316 E. Jefferson Ave., Detroit, MI 48207
Location: United States > Michigan > Detroit
Amenities:
Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #20 of 33 hotels in Detroit
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with HostelWorld, Booking.com, HostelBookers, Travelocity, Priceline, BookingOdigeoWL, Expedia and Hotels.com so you can book your Shorecrest Motor Inn reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Shorecrest Motor Hotel Detroit
Shorecrest Hotel Detroit
Shorecrest Motel Detroit

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Shorecrest Motor Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.