We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Shawarma's. Everytime.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Bucharest Grill

Bucharest Grill
2040 Park Ave., Detroit, MI
313-965-3111
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #9 of 973 Restaurants in Detroit
Price range: $5 - $10
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Restaurant details
Dining options: Delivery, Late Night
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Shawarma's. Everytime.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

Close to work. Almost as cheap as you can go. Everything is fresh, and it is soooo damn good.

I live in Detroit. Everyone knows we have smoe of the best and most authentic middle eatern food. Bucharest of course is not alll traditional. But, if you are looking for a shawarma. And just a shawarma. COME HERE. At least once.

I always get the Bucharest Shawarma, it has literally everything in it, including fries. Pita, Chicken, Lettuce/slaw,fries, and garlic sauce. OMG the garlic sauce.

BEWARE: You will smell, taste and emit garlic odors for hours afterwards, but it's almost the best part.

The atmosphere is almost Divey. A bar- the pick up window is stuck inthe corner, not the cleanest place since everyone grabs a table is respoinsible for cleaning up themselves it seems. It's always crowded, but they are always fast. Crowded places can usually mean the best food.

  • Visited July 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

164 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    98
    54
    7
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Warren, Michigan
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Good price, so so food”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2013

I'm not sure why everyone raves about the food. I guess it's just not for me. The Shawrmas are dripping with sauce and grease...very messy! Customer service is subpar.

On a positive note, it is cheap food, and it's walking distance to the stadiums, Fox Theatre and the Fillmore.

  • Visited September 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
    • 3 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Once a week!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 20, 2013 via mobile

I have to hit the spot at least once a week or there is a PROBLEM!! Always can't make up my mind! Steak dinner, steak salad, chicken salad? Everything on the menu is GREAT!!

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northville, Michigan, United States
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
“Must try!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 9, 2013

This is not your average shawarma, folks! You will not be dissapointed and you'll leave with a full belly for $5.00.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
12 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“One of the best Chicjen Shawrma”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 5, 2013 via mobile

We came to Windsor got business and crossed the border just to go to Bucharest. And the trip was worth it. The Chicjen Shawrma was really very good as the other reviewers mentioned. Coming from Totonto we couldn't believe how reasonably priced it was. The Beef Shawrma however wasn't as good . We liked the hummus and beef too. The service we got was good. We ordered food at the counter and our server brought the food. He was very friendly and nice. We will definitely come back for more Chicken Shawrma if we're nearby.

  • Visited August 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Bucharest Grill also viewed

 

Been to Bucharest Grill? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bucharest Grill, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.