We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great stay” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Henry, Autograph Collection

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Save
You added The Henry, Autograph Collection to your Saves list
The Henry, Autograph Collection
4.0 of 5 Hotel   |   300 Town Center Drive, Dearborn, MI 48126   |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
FREE Wi-Fi
Ranked #1 of 15 Hotels in Dearborn
Certificate of Excellence 2014
Medina, Minnesota
Top Contributor
64 reviews 64 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
27 helpful votes 27 helpful votes
“Great stay”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 15, 2012 via mobile

We stayed for 2 nights and would come back any time. Clean, good food, well appointed. The art and sports memoribilia in the lobby and throughout hotel is amazing. Staff is very attentive and curteous. I am a frequent traveler and finally found my hotel in Detroit area to stay at.

Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily D, Front Office Supervisor at The Henry, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Brian, We are pleased that you finally found your Detroit/Dearborn hotel when you come to visit. I am glad that you enjoyed the art throught the hotel furnished by Park West Gallery. Should you need any assistance with your future reservations please do not hesitate to let me know. We look forward to creating a unique experience each time you visit us.

Enjoy today!
Emily D
Emily.dailey@behenry.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

459 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    274
    131
    31
    15
    8
See reviews for
107
110
14
162
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (122)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
St.Thomas
Senior Contributor
42 reviews 42 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
35 helpful votes 35 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2012

It's clean, updated, good beds. Maybe because we are use to the old Ritz Carlton service. It just seems each time we visit there is always an issue or two. Usually it is due to poorly trained staff or being understaffed. Everyone smiles and tries there best. The old guard Marty at the door and Paul the bellman keep the place together and us feeling good and confident. Food is good...seems to still have a little Ritz in it...but gratefully at lower prices than Ritz. Restaurant is solid with good service and a fabulous manager.

Pool always seems dirty....the hot tub we are now usually afraid to enter. If they Could get a handle on this it would be a real bonus.
Soap and shampoo is terrible ....bring your own. Club lounge closes on the week end??
The hotel has signed an agreement to increase cash flow which fills the place with hockey families with a chip on their shoulder on winter weekends. So be aware the feeling of a super 8 is all around with grocery bags of chips, beer and the track pant set. Be warned they steal the luggage carts so Paul may be late to help you with your luggage. Not his fault.

Room Tip: Away from elevators. City view is best.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe S, General Manager at The Henry, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Thank you for returning to the Henry while visiting the Dearborn area. We appreciate the feedback as it helps us understand when we have issues that need to be addressed. I am happy to see that you received great service from our Door and Bell ambassadors, as they truly care about our guests and their experience at the hotel. I apologize that you have had issues on your most recent visits and would like to assure you that we have addressed them and that proper training is taking place for our ambassadors. If you would like to discuss your visit further, please do not hesitate to contact me directly at joseph.shurmur@behenry.com.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bay Area, CA
Top Contributor
54 reviews 54 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

Rates are $150/night. For this you get a standard sized room, no free newspaper, no coffee in lobby, no free breakfast (only $25 in the downstairs restaurant). The security key for the elevator did not work for the second floor, plus, the parking lot had only enough spaces for less than 1/2 the rooms!
The ladies working at the front desk were very pleasant, which is the only good thing I can say.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Joe S, General Manager at The Henry, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, September 22, 2012
Thank you for your feedback regarding your recent trip to the Henry. We value all guest feedback as the satisfaction of our guests is our number one priority. I apologize that we did not meet your expectations during your visit and am disappointed to hear that you had issues with finding available parking and your room key not working. I can understand these issues were frustrating and would like to assure you that we have addressed them as we take great pride in making sure our guests have a hassle free stay. Please do not hesitate to contact me directly at joseph.shurmur@behenry.com if you would like to discuss your visit in more detail. Thank you again for staying at the Henry and for your helpful comments.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boca Raton, Florida
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

This hotel is a former Ritz Carlton and many of the areas seem familiar from a visit there more t'han 10 years ago. It is worth walking through the hotel just to view the art work, most of which is provided by Park West Gallery (The people who run all those cruise ship auctions). Comfortable rooms, Bathroom has no towel bars, but very well maintained. We needed some extra towels and they were delivered within minutes. It is 15 minutes from the Detroit airport. I would highly recommend this propert. We did not eat in the restaurant, but did have a catered brunch buffet. Very good.

Room Tip: Try and get a higher floor. We were on 2 and it looked over so roof areas of so other facilities.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily D, Front Office Supervisor at The Henry, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, September 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to share your reflections about our property. Our former guests of the Ritz Carlton have great insight about the changes that have been made. I am pleased that you enjoyed the art within the hotel. Park West Gallery worked hard to gather art for our guestrooms created by talented, local-Michigan Artists and is constantly refreshing the other pieces throughout the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you back again soon.

Enjoy today!
emily.dailey@behenry.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 37 cities Reviews in 37 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2012

I would rate this hotel as between average and very good. The front lobby is nice with bellmen in top hats, but the room was only a bit better than average. Cleanliness is the most important to me, and although the room was pretty clean, the bathroom had some significant maintenance issues. There was obvious water damage along the wall by the tub and the floor around the toilet was stained yellow. The companion desk was great and very convenient, and I loved that there was a surge protector with plenty of outlets (most hotels don't have enough outlets to plug in the computer, phone, etc.).

We had a group rate of $115 a night for all but one night which was $195. I think the room was worth $115, but not $195.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
74 hotel reviews
Reviews in 65 cities Reviews in 65 cities
91 helpful votes 91 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

GETTING THERE: It's Detroit (Dearborn, actually). You either take a short cab ride or rent a Car (no on-airport rentals). Depending on occupancy, the trip from the parking lot can be a hike, but it's free and the valet service is speedy.

LOCATION: Fine. A 10-minute drive from the airport and close to I-94 for reaching downtown. Plenty of decent restaurants in the area (but not within walking distance).

SERVICE: Nearly impeccable.The staff are friendly without being obsequious and they'll recognize you after only a few stays.

ATMOSPHERE: Bright! Ecclectic! Cosmopolitan! Such an improvement from its stuffy, serious old self when The Henry Hotel was a Ritz Carlton. A brilliant Timothy Yanke painting greets you at the front desk, and they don't scrimp on colorful artwork (Maxx, Tarkay) throughout the property. The decor is ballsy and refreshing: Tiffany Blue walls, chandeliers, glossy white moulding and more glossy white moulding.

ROOMS: Contemporary and luxurious (the two aren't mutually exclusive but you wouldn't know that from most properties). Bold prints, plush bedding and marble in the bathroom. Now if they'd only allow you to make it a little warmer in the room...

GYM: Only average, but the granola bars are good.

RESTAURANT/BAR: The Henry Hotel dining room succeeds at being upscale without being formal. Choose from private dining, a communal table, hightops or bar seating. The selection varies from swordfish filets to fish tacos. A mixed clientele makes for interesting people watching and conversation flows at the bar, creating a comfortable, welcoming atmosphere for the solo business traveler - men and women alike. The frequent minor service hiccups are surprising considering the exceptional customer service throughout the hotel, but who cares when Mark, the maitre d' (he of the almost eerie mental Rolodex of hotel guests) greets you like a long-lost friend. He has stories, that one, and if you play your cards right, he'll dish.

Oh, and...the wine pour are generous. I LIKE that in a place.

THE CONCIERGE LOUNGE: I saved the best part for last. Marriott Gold Members have 24-hour access to the Concierge Lounge. It's a pretty sweet concierge lounge, with views that extend to Canada, an extensive newspaper selection, multiple computers and printers, a flat screen tv, complimentary breakfast, a happy hour that you can make a meal out of, and premium liqueurs and desserts at night. Try dipping the Rice Krispie bars in the chocolate fondue in between sips of Grand Marnier.

http://esmetravels.com
627746746

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily D, Front Office Supervisor at The Henry, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Thank you for your detailed review of The Henry hotel. With precious little time in the day it is a delight to see such a thorough breakdown of the experiences that you had while you are here. We are constantly striving to improve even more and your feedback is a vital part of that. Should you have any additional reflections about your stay please reach out to me directly. We look forward to welcoming you back in the future.
Enjoy today!
Emily P Dailey
Emily.dailey@behenry.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Galloway
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
10 helpful votes 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 3, 2012

We stayed at The Henry 8/26-28/2012. This was our first visit to Dearborn and of course, the first time we stayed at The Henry.
Our trip to Dearborn was to visit The Henry Ford Museum, Greenfield Village and take the Ford Rouge Factory Tour.
The Henry is as first class as you can find in a hotel. The staff was extremely friendly and helpful and the accommendations were nothing short of fabulous. Our room was clean, well equipted with a refrigerator, iron, hair dryer and coffee maker.
The kingsized bed was very comfortable.
We highly recommend visiting The Ford Museum and Greenfield Village, as well as taking the Ford factory tour (we saw the Ford F-150 being assembled from scratch to finish).
We also recommend that, if you go, you stay at The Henry. It may be a little more pricey than you want to spend but it is well worth the extra money.
And by the way, four other things I might mention here:
1 - The Henry is about a seven minute drive to and from all the aforementioned attactions
2 - It is right across the street from a humongous shopping center
3 - If you go for the mentioned attractions, get a membership in The Henry Ford. You can and will save a whole lot of money by becoming a member
4 - The Museum has an IMAX theater running first run movies
Go to www.the henryford.org for more info.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Emily D, Manager at The Henry, Autograph Collection, responded to this review, September 27, 2012
Good evening,
Thank you for taking the time out of your busy schedule to post your review of The Henry on TripAdvisor. I am pleased that you were able to join us for your first visit to Dearborn and that you enjoyed the sights in the area. In addition to the amenities in your guest room we are working to enhance your experience throughout the hotel. We look forward to welcoming you and your family back again soon.

Enjoy today!
Emily P Dailey
Front Office Supervisor
emily.dailey@behenry.com
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to The Henry, Autograph Collection? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Henry, Autograph Collection

Address: 300 Town Center Drive, Dearborn, MI 48126
Location: United States > Michigan > Dearborn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Business Hotel in Dearborn
#1 Family Hotel in Dearborn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Henry, Autograph Collection 4*
Number of rooms: 308
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Adjacent to Fairlane Town Center. 3 miles from The Henry Ford. AAA Four Diamond hotel. Guestrooms include free internet access, 37 inch flat screen TVs with 24 HD channels, "The Henry Bed" exclusively by Lady Americana, Frette 400-count Egyptian cotton bedding, marble bathrooms, plush bathrobes and RUSK bath amenities. Experience culinary creations in The Gallery Restaurant, or 24 hour in room dining. fitness center, indoor pool, whirlpool and sauna. Now offering Marriott Reward Points. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Travelocity, Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Marriott, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Odigeo and Hotwire so you can book your The Henry, Autograph Collection reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Henry, Autograph Collection Hotel Dearborn
Dearborn Ritz Carlton
Ritz Dearborn
Ritz-Carlton Dearborn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Henry, Autograph Collection, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.