We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Ok hotel...bad weekend to be there (October 16-17, 2010)” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Adoba Hotel Dearborn/Detroit

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Adoba Hotel Dearborn/Detroit to your Saves list
Adoba Hotel Dearborn/Detroit
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   600 Town Center Drive, Fairlane Town Center, Dearborn, MI 48126-2793 (Formerly Hyatt Regency Dearborn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Dearborn
GreenLeadersGold level
Dallas, Texas
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 14 cities Reviews in 14 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Ok hotel...bad weekend to be there (October 16-17, 2010)”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 19, 2010

The reviews of this property are fair. It does indeed have a nice lobby. Rooms are ordinary but decent. They have not been updated in several year. But they are comfortable. It may not be fair to judge on home standards of clean...but the telephone spoke volumes about the detail to cleaning..definitely C-.

Water is indeed $5 for a bottle in room! And I refused to pay the absorbent internet connection charge. Front desk service was nice but not empowered to impact customer service. It was a nice touch as well to be able to print my boarding pass from the lobby. Had room service...it was a bit later than they estimated. And the next night I got the exact same food to go at the bar area...but it was not consistent with the night before. I'm sure it's no big deal...but I wasn't sure why I didn't get my assorted berries on my chocolate cake...lol.

I was able to get an ok rate on a third party site...and this would be the only way I would ever return. The real downer was that that weekend there was a youth hockey tournament so there were children running up and down the halls and slamming doors most of the evening. I was safe...but it certainly wasn't my most restful stay. Front desk said they'd be happy to check me out...but could not help me with any portion of a refund.

Again...for a great rate...you can make this place work.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    215
    157
    101
    56
See reviews for
175
119
68
235
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
ontario,canada
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 8, 2010

always enjoy our stays at this Hyatt. We as a family stay here a few times a , for various conventions. We are close enough to drive home, however we enjoy how it has begun to feel like home in some ways. we are well looked after. If we have ever needed anything all we have to do is talk to the front desk and it is looked after as soon as it can be ! The restaurants are open at a very convenient time ( early am) and the food late at night is very good as well. Our children enjoy the pool but it would be nice it it was larger.
What we do miss as a family is staying on the top floor and not having the regency club lounge opened . We found it very family friendly to have a space where we could have a quick bite to eat, get something to drink and lounge in a comfortable spot instead of always having to be in the room. Please bring it back, especially on the weekends, it was well worth the extra money to have that convenience for our family.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indiana
Top Contributor
174 reviews 174 reviews
165 hotel reviews
Reviews in 73 cities Reviews in 73 cities
115 helpful votes 115 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 7, 2010 via mobile

Service was excellent. Great location: close to airport, mall across parking lot, jogging trails, near Henry Ford mansion and Dearborn Village. Service very responsive to a few minor problems: hair on bathroom floor, phone cord out, sink faucet loose, etc. Room furnishings good but starting to show age. Use the nearby Ballys in the mall for 10 dollars. I didn't have a car but never felt trapped. Hyatts offer give free toothpase, a nice extra.Food was great and bar prices were reasonable.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Houston, Texas
Senior Contributor
47 reviews 47 reviews
34 hotel reviews
Reviews in 36 cities Reviews in 36 cities
140 helpful votes 140 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 5, 2010

Nice lobby. The room was just an ordinary hotel room - comfortable and clean. Crazy to charge $5 for a bottle of water in the room! The internet connection at this hotel requires an extra fee. It was not free in the lobby. Hotel is right next door to the mall and PF Changs. If I get the hotel at a dirt cheap rate I would stay again. Other than that, there are too many options in the Detroit area.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mount Pleasant, Michigan
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 26 cities Reviews in 26 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 25, 2010

This hotel has a magnificent lobby. Large, airy, spacious. Contemporary furniture. The lighting has sort of an art deco thing going. In the center of the hotel there is a circle of glass elevators running up and down, and landing behind enclosures made of decorator glass. Very elegant. I usually stay in the Marriott chain, and those hotels are nice enough. I haven't stayed with Hyatt in a long time. Perhaps they're all this pretentious? The room was an ordinary hotel room. Comfortable. Clean. No issues with my stay. My question is: Why is it, that when you pay more for a hotel that less is included in the price? The internet connection at this hotel requires an extra fee. Bottled water in the room had a price tag on it, of $5/bottle.

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
sidney, ohio
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed September 8, 2010

Our family of 3 stayed here during Labor Day Weekend for a convention. When we arrived we were told that all rooms are non-smoking but our first room smelled terribly like smoke and my husband who is terribly allergic started sneezing. Our second room was given to us late and we had to be at a function right afterwards so we left our luggage and ran to the convention room for activities. When we returned I found the toilet seat and lid sprinkled with feces. When I Iooked up at the light switch in the bathroom, I found something that looked very similar smeared there. Having a young child, I travel with antibacterial wipes and quickly cleaned all of it up. When I tried to tell the front desk about it, they apologized about any inconvenience and promised that the head of housekeeping would contact us. My husband beeing the big softie accepted 3 coupons for breakfast the following morning as an appeasement. We visited the Guiglio establishment and were treated very poorly by the hostess. There were plenty of tables available, but she said that 2 other parties were ahead of waiting for a table. When I talked to the 2 parties outside sitting on couches, neither of them were waiting for a table. When another couple walked in, they were greeted altogether differently than we were and were welcomed to a table right away. I found our treatment altogether unacceptable. Most offensive was the cleanliness of the bathroom. From the feces on the toilet and light switch, to the orange mold growing all over the celing of the shower, I would never stay at this hotel again. I have asked our decision makers for our yearly convention never to choose this place again. I have NEVER encountered this kind of dirtiness! I would suggest you do the same!

  • Stayed August 2010
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 1 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
HyattRegencyDearborn, Manager at Adoba Hotel Dearborn/Detroit, responded to this review, September 13, 2010
Thank you for taking the time to post your review. We are sorry your stay did not meet your expectations and wanted you to know that your comments have been passed along to the appropriate department leaders. We take great pride in the cleanliness of the hotel as well as providing exceptional service for all guests.

We hope the next time your travels bring you to Dearborn you will allow us an opportunity to demonstrate the level of service and accommodations that the Hyatt Regency Dearborn is known for.


Hyatt Regency Dearborn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, MI
Senior Contributor
27 reviews 27 reviews
10 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 3, 2010

Stayed here after bidding for a 4* on Priceline and winning this hotel for a great price. If you can get it at a great price, it is definitely worth it. It is conveniently located - Henry Ford & Greenfield Village, downtown Dearborn, several restaurants and the mall are all nearby.

Our room & bathroom were clean, we had enough space, the decor was non-offensive. Some people said that the hotel needs updates, but our room was fine.

One thing that I wouldn't recommend is the breakfast at Giulo & Sons (on site). The buffet is $16pp. To order off the menu ... items were ~$12 and coffee was $3, so it only made sense to go with the buffet. There was plenty to eat and it was ok, but nothing special. Wish I had known about a good spot in Dearborn for breakfast. I am sure a coney island would have offered something better at half the price.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adoba Hotel Dearborn/Detroit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adoba Hotel Dearborn/Detroit

Address: 600 Town Center Drive, Fairlane Town Center, Dearborn, MI 48126-2793 (Formerly Hyatt Regency Dearborn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Dearborn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dearborn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Adoba Hotel Dearborn/Detroit 3.5*
Number of rooms: 773
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well-known within the charming city of Dearborn, Michigan across the street from Ford World Headquarters, Fairlane Mall, and minutes from the Henry Ford Museum. Only minutes from downtown Detroit, Canada and Detroit airport. adoba guests will receive complimentary WI-FI, new 40" SMART flat screen TV's, fitness center, indoor pool and hot tub. Start your morning off in Giulio's & Sons Restaurant or in a morning hurry stop by BREW Specialty coffee shop proudly serving Starbuck products. This iconic hotel is currently starting in 2014 their "Eco-Refresh" enhancement with their 62,000 sq. feet of meeting and conference space. A sustainable design sure to WOW and reduce the hotels carbon footprint. With being eco-wise, awarded the Green Eco 4 Key certification this landmark hotel has a passion for customer service and offering you a fantastic sustainable stay whether for business or pleasure. Make time to browse, shop the trendy gift shop located on the 1st floor. Relax and rejuvenate with a signature massage from our onsite spa or sample the delectable culinary creations from the restaurants impressive portfolio of creating savory, organic daily menus using local ingredients serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. Plus you'll earn a free nights with our Stash Rewards Program. Join the program today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, TripOnline SA, Booking.com and Tingo so you can book your Adoba Hotel Dearborn/Detroit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Dearborn Hotel Dearborn
Dearborn Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Dearborn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adoba Hotel Dearborn/Detroit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.