We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very disappointed overall!” 1 of 5 stars
Review of Adoba Hotel Dearborn/Detroit

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Adoba Hotel Dearborn/Detroit to your Saves list
Adoba Hotel Dearborn/Detroit
3.5 of 5 Hotel   |   600 Town Center Drive, Fairlane Town Center, Dearborn, MI 48126-2793 (Formerly Hyatt Regency Dearborn)   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel packages
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #7 of 15 Hotels in Dearborn
GreenLeadersGold level
Bellevue, Kentucky
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Very disappointed overall!”
1 of 5 stars Reviewed February 1, 2012

I walked into the building and was greeted with a manager and bell hop arguing loudly outside of the hotel right in front of the main entrance. The front desk assistant who helped me didn't disclose the other information I heard from the desk assistant helping another customer next to me. The elevators were ALWAYS extremely crowded and children were playing on them constantly. The pool and workout room were very far away from the elevators and I had to walk through a sea of people in the ballroom area to reach the workout room. This isn't even the worst part of the hotel, I'll save that for the rooms! The bathrooms were not plush, neither were the towels, bedding, or television. The TV was very old tube type with very few channels. The bedding was course and not fitted well, and the bathroom was just dank with nasty wallpaper and a shower head that peels skin. The door leading to the hallway had a 3 inch gap at the bottom and when people walked by it sounded like they were next you talking while laying in bed. Kids running down the hallway felt like an earthquake. I have experience 120% better service and amenities at a Hampton Inn and it even comes with free Wi-Fi and Breakfast at half the cost! This hotel should not have the Hyatt name!

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn76, General Manager at Adoba Hotel Dearborn/Detroit, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to respond and I am sorry to hear that your recent stay was less than satisfactory. On the weekends during the winter months we tend to have kids groups in the hotel and on rare occasions, it becomes a challenge. I do want to let you know that we are in the planning stages of a hotel renovation and I hope when your travels bring you back from Kentucky that you will have the opportunity to revisit and see all of our improvements.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

745 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    216
    215
    157
    101
    56
See reviews for
175
119
68
235
Rating summary
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (156)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Michigan
Top Contributor
55 reviews 55 reviews
39 hotel reviews
Reviews in 41 cities Reviews in 41 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2012

As a Michigan native I am embarrassed by the sad state of this hotel. Isn't the Hyatt supposed to be a world-class hotel? This place can't have been updated since the 80's. The carpets are torn, patched in obvious ways, and full of cigarette burns. The box spring covers are torn at the corners (in two rooms which I saw, so I expect most of them are like that). The bathrooms are like those old-timey motels,teeny-tiny with a little sink outside the bathroom. Wallpaper is bubbling off the walls. I almost checked out as soon as I saw my room, but was upgraded to a junior suite when I complained. And even that was just barely acceptable.

Redeeming qualities are the nice breakfast with very friendly staff. I feel sorry for them having to work in this old hole.

If you must stay in Dearborn try one of the 3 star hotels. You'll save money and get a nicer room than at this Hyatt.

Room Tip: Please, don't bother.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn76, General Manager at Adoba Hotel Dearborn/Detroit, responded to this review, January 30, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments regarding your recent stay at our hotel. I am sorry to hear that you felt your guest room was less than satisfactory and I can certainly understand your disappointment. I am happy to inform you that we are in the planning stages of a hotel renovation and I hope you will try us again in the future and have the opportunity to see all of our improvements. We look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, North Carolina
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 21 cities Reviews in 21 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 18, 2012

Once again, came to Detroit to go to the NAIAS (North American International Auto Show). Used Priceline to get a fairly good rate at this Hyatt Regency. Bed had updated linens with triple sheeting, a decorative runner and three accent pillows. True, not many outlets, but there were two on the desk side and one behind the nightstand. Amenities have been upgraded with toothpaste included. NO problem getting a late check out. Everything was in good repair and worked well. In room coffee was pretty good. They still charge for internet, but it isn't outrageous, $9.95 for 24 hours. Looking forward to the future renovations!

Room Tip: Higher floor, odd numbered rooms have a great view of Ford HQ, Detroit, and the Ambassador Bridge.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled solo
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn76, General Manager at Adoba Hotel Dearborn/Detroit, responded to this review, February 3, 2012
I read your response on TripAdvisor and I want to thank you for your nice comments and for choosing our hotel during your trip to this year's Auto Show. You had mentioned you look forward to our future renovations and we certainly look forward to welcoming you back from North Carolina to see what we have done!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tustin, California
Top Contributor
63 reviews 63 reviews
53 hotel reviews
Reviews in 30 cities Reviews in 30 cities
82 helpful votes 82 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 13, 2012

I stayed here in January for what seemed like an eternity (11 days) on business. I had a wonderful experience and would definitely stay here again. Only about 15 minutes from Detroit, I would much rather stay here than in the city. Below is my breakdown of the Hyatt Regency Dearborn.

Location:
located in Dearborn, MI. This is the perfect suburban town for families or visitors looking for a safe and inviting place to stay. It is conveniently located only 15 minutes from Detroit and 15 minutes from the airport (DTW). Directly across the street is a full mall with everything you can think of. I was quite surprised at how nice and big the mall was. It has something for everyone along with a full food court and sit down restaurants.

Property:
Very large hotel with a beautiful exterior and lobby area. Outdoor parking lot is huge for anyone traveling with a large truck, rv, or bus. Hotel includes a very nice indoor pool and spa along with a gym. Bar and restaurant are good but expensive.

Rooms:
Rooms are clean and very average. Don't be fooled by the exterior and lobby of the hotel because the rooms are not as impressive. Layout of the furniture in the room is very weird and doesn't make sense. You can't watch tv from your bed. the televisions sets are outdated but work fine. Bathrooms are small but clean. Rooms are okay just a little updated. The view is great in this hotel.

Staff:
Staff couldn't have been better. I was very pleased with the hotel staff. Very friendly and accommodating. Beverly at the front desk was very welcoming and pleasant during my check in. bartenders and housekeeping were very friendly.

Conclusion:
Overall this is an average hotel but very good in my opinion. The only think this place needs is a little updating to its furnishing in the rooms. I would recommend this to anyone visiting the Detroit area.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn76, General Manager at Adoba Hotel Dearborn/Detroit, responded to this review, January 27, 2012
Thank you for taking the time to post your comments and we are delighted to hear that your extended stay with us was enjoyable. We pride ourselves on our excellent staff and service with the ultimate goal to insure our guests' stay is a memorable one. I also want to let you know that we are in the planning stages of an upcoming renovation and sincerely hope that when your travels bring you back from California, you will have the opportunity to stay with us again and see all of our improvements. We all look forward to the privilege of welcoming you back very soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shelby Township, Michigan
Top Contributor
109 reviews 109 reviews
26 hotel reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 2, 2012

Enjoyed an overnight stay during a two day business conference. Clean, spacious room, friendly front desk staff and in-room coffee. We enjoyed tasty buffet meals in the conference rooms during our breaks but otherwise I did not dine in at the hotel. Very convenient to The Henry Ford, Ford Motor Company, and other Dearborn locations.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed December 27, 2011

This hotel is really huge with excellent lobby and entrance. First impression of the lobby is like that of a palace. Then, you go the reception and people are nice and they will definitely talk something personal which is really nice. They assign you a room and you to elevator for going to your room. They way elevators are placed with a common control at centre on a pillar is nice and makes you feel that your room will be elegant. Now, you reach your room and things are not so good now. Flooring of the room is not too impressive. Bathrooms are small but are still fine. Layout of the room is weird that is what I did not like. Not many power points if you want to work on laptop with charger and want to put your phone on charge close to the bed while sleeping, you can't. If you are in bed, watching TV is not convinient the way it is placed that too in some wooden shelf. So, this was something that I did not like.
Over all expereince was just OK. I will not rate it too high or too low.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Senior Contributor
26 reviews 26 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
42 helpful votes 42 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed December 23, 2011

Im a wedding planner and stayed at the Hyatt after an exhausting day working on my last wedding of the season and as a Passport member i was pleased. The hotel is a standard classic and my room was clean and had a beautiful view of downtown detroit and nearby Ford Motor Headquarters. I was VERY, VERY tired and requested a late checkout and a DND on the phone. All requests were honored and i was left to rest in peace without any disturbance until i checked out.

The hotel has all of the usual bars and social areas and places to chill out, meet and greet and such and the bed in my rooom was heavenly. This spot would be good for singles, marrieds or even families. The hotel is very large and i heard no noise from the hall or surrounding rooms.

A great choice for business, a conference or some post wedding relaxin. Thanks Hyatt, Im still a fan!

Room Tip: LEt the staff know if you have any special requests...they were eager to please and assist!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Adoba Hotel Dearborn/Detroit? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Adoba Hotel Dearborn/Detroit

Address: 600 Town Center Drive, Fairlane Town Center, Dearborn, MI 48126-2793 (Formerly Hyatt Regency Dearborn)
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Dearborn
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities ( Kid / Family Friendly ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#1 Green Hotel in Dearborn
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Adoba Hotel Dearborn/Detroit 3.5*
Number of rooms: 773
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Well-known within the charming city of Dearborn, Michigan across the street from Ford World Headquarters, Fairlane Mall, and minutes from the Henry Ford Museum. Only minutes from downtown Detroit, Canada and Detroit airport. adoba guests will receive complimentary WI-FI, new 40" SMART flat screen TV's, fitness center, indoor pool and hot tub. Start your morning off in Giulio's & Sons Restaurant or in a morning hurry stop by BREW Specialty coffee shop proudly serving Starbuck products. This iconic hotel is currently starting in 2014 their "Eco-Refresh" enhancement with their 62,000 sq. feet of meeting and conference space. A sustainable design sure to WOW and reduce the hotels carbon footprint. With being eco-wise, awarded the Green Eco 4 Key certification this landmark hotel has a passion for customer service and offering you a fantastic sustainable stay whether for business or pleasure. Make time to browse, shop the trendy gift shop located on the 1st floor. Relax and rejuvenate with a signature massage from our onsite spa or sample the delectable culinary creations from the restaurants impressive portfolio of creating savory, organic daily menus using local ingredients serving breakfast, lunch and dinner. Plus you'll earn a free nights with our Stash Rewards Program. Join the program today. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, BookIt.com, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Adoba Hotel Dearborn/Detroit reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hyatt Regency Dearborn Hotel Dearborn
Dearborn Hyatt Regency
Hyatt Dearborn

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Adoba Hotel Dearborn/Detroit, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.