We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great food, great value” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Hamidos

Hamidos
13251 Warren, Dearborn, MI 48126
313-582-0660
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #31 of 232 Restaurants in Dearborn
Price range: $3 - $13
Cuisines: Lebanese
Good for: Local cuisine
Restaurant details
Good for: Local cuisine
Senior Contributor
38 reviews 38 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
40 helpful votes 40 helpful votes
“Great food, great value”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 10, 2013

Special for 2 included Meat and Chicken Shawarma, Shish Kabab, Shish Tawook, Kafta, Hommos, Rice, Salad--and actually was enough for 2 adults and one child, with leftovers for lunch the next day! The kafta and meat shwarma led the pack along with the salad, nice romaine lettuce with a great blend of spices and parsley. The chicken was only a bit dry, and nicely flavored. The hommos and garlic sauce were smooth, flavorful and complemented everything.

Not much for atmosphere here, but friendly staff and prompt service. Great for families.

  • Visited September 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

21 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    11
    6
    2
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Rochester, New York
Top Contributor
181 reviews 181 reviews
67 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 74 cities Reviews in 74 cities
92 helpful votes 92 helpful votes
“Best falafel ever, and cheap!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed June 29, 2013

We New Yorkers had to pass through the Detroit area on the way to Windsor, and we used TA to find a cheap fix for our craving for good, fast Middle Eastern food. Hamidos popped up. So, we made a special detour to find it, and were more than satisfied. It's in a retooled fast food place (KFC or something) and was very crowded and very busy, with a wide mix of different ages and nationalities. We ordered a Shish Combo and a half dozen falafel. I want to tell you that this was the best falafel I have ever had, and we seek falafel out in new places we visit. The meats were also delicious and generous. (Our server accidentally dropped one of the pieces of falafel on the floor on the way to our table, and she had the kitchen cook up a couple more just for us!)

We enjoyed people watching while we were there; it gave us a better understanding of the demographic trends that are breathing new social and economic vitality into the Detroit area. We would go back in a heartbeat!

  • Visited June 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Colorado
Top Contributor
238 reviews 238 reviews
169 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 75 cities Reviews in 75 cities
83 helpful votes 83 helpful votes
“Tasty Shawarma on a budget”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 17, 2013

I have been Hamidos a few times in the past week and I can say the Shawarmas, both the chicken and mixed meat, were excellent for about $4.00. The times I went to Hamidos on the weekends the restaurant was very crowed and since I ordered to take out I had to wait about 15 minutes. There always seems to be mass confusion because of the congestion but the Shawarmas were worth it. Service could be better but oh well. Try the BBQ chicken, quite tasty. Recommended!

  • Visited May 2013
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LaSalle
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
17 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Great lunch”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 21, 2013

Two of us went to Hamido for the first time for lunch yesterday. We ordered the Soecial Plate for Two which included Shawarma, Shish Kabab, Tawook, Kafta, Hommos, Rice and Salad - all we delicious. It was really a lunch for 4 as the portions were so generous - major value and taste for your money. We had enough left over for dinner. The salad and rice were excellent as well as the meats. We will return.

  • Visited April 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
“Great food.”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 3, 2013

This place is small, but it has some of the best middle eastern food you will ever taste. I highly recommend if you're in Dearborn try hamidos.

  • Visited May 2012
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Hamidos also viewed

 
Dearborn, MI
 

Been to Hamidos? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hamidos, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.