We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Don't judge from the outside” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Roman Village

No photo provided
Got a photo?
Add it.
Roman Village
9924 Dix, Dearborn, MI 48120-1530
313-842-2100
Menu
Improve this listing
Ranked #11 of 232 Restaurants in Dearborn
Price range: $0 - $20
Cuisines: American, Italian, Pizza
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children, Large groups
Dining options: Reservations
Cincinnati, Ohio, United States
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
“Don't judge from the outside”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed May 6, 2012

Roman Village is across from a strip mall and a Ford factory, and the building itself come across a little cheesy. However, its menu has an impressive variety of rich dishes, both traditional and "invented." The bread that comes with your meal could be served as a course of its own - it has a buttery crust and springy inside that makes it almost like the base of a deep-dish pizza. My first litmus test for Italian authenticity is to even have gnocchi on the menu, and it was quite good.

Visited May 2012
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

38 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    20
    13
    2
    1
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Dearborn, Michigan
Top Contributor
92 reviews 92 reviews
53 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 31 cities Reviews in 31 cities
70 helpful votes 70 helpful votes
“Viva Italian”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 21, 2012

We came here again because the grandchildren love this place. They are now three and four years old and ask to come to Roman Village. They have been coming here since they were one. We love the bread and minestrone soup. All of the food is great, especially the pizza and pasta. Watresses and waiters are natilly dress in black and bring things out for the kids right away. It is very clean and it seems there is a United Nations in attendance. The first time we came here, we got lost and a waitress stood outside on a cell phone and waived me in with great directions. The parking lot is always full when we go there and large groups are welcome. Be prepared to wait for a few minutes at busy times.

  • Visited December 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
18 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“More bread please”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 28, 2011 via mobile

This place has some of the best Italian food around. The bread is addicting and will keep you coming back for more.

    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn Heights, Michigan
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Memorial Service in their Banquet Hall”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2011

If someone needs a small Banquet Hall. I would highly recommand Roman Village in Dearborn. We just had our Aunts memorial service luncheon on August 27th. We had call to see if we were able to get in the hall a littler earlier than 1 pm because the memorial service ended ealier than expected. They were able to do so which I was very grateful. From our family and friends could not stop saying how wonderful the food and serve was. We had family from Pittsburgh and Ohio and they said when they come up to visit us again they would love to come here again.

  • Visited August 2011
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
53 reviews 53 reviews
45 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
22 helpful votes 22 helpful votes
“Good Italian comfort food.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 16, 2011

We love Roman Village. The traditional Italian dishes are prepared perfectly. The manicotti is my favorite; it's so cheesy and delicious! Their pizza and awesome and you can get addicted to their garlic bread. Eveything is served piping hot, so you know it's fresh from the oven. Even their minestrone is good. Service is attentive and on point. This place will continue to be a tradition in our house.

  • Visited June 2011
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Roman Village also viewed

 

Been to Roman Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Roman Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.