We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Greenfield Village

Greenfield Village
20900 Oakwood Blvd, at The Henry Ford, Dearborn, MI 48124-4088
313.982.6001 or 800.835.5237
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #2 of 5 Attractions in Dearborn
Type: Specialty Museums, Museums
Attraction details
Ohio
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Awesome”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 27, 2014

I really liked the village and felt like I was going back in time, lots of neat things to see. It was a hot day and I was alone so it wasn't much fun but I'm going back and with someone next time and I know I'll enjoy it better. This should be on everyone's bucket list to see.

Visited September 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

858 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    698
    126
    19
    9
    6
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Grand Junction, Colorado
Top Contributor
73 reviews 73 reviews
33 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
20 helpful votes 20 helpful votes
“Come Here When It's Warm!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 25, 2014

This place is a treasure, and on a winter Sunday it was nearly deserted. Which would be fantastic, if it hadn't been so bitterly cold. And the buildings aren't much warmer. They're enough apart for nice walking, but come in the spring through fall, unless you're very hardy. But do come! It's an amazing place. To stand in the same places that Edison, Ford, the Wright Brothers, Webster, etc. had stood gives you goosebumps. The docents are wonderful, and obviously of much hardier stock than we were!

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Phoenix
Top Contributor
90 reviews 90 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 60 cities Reviews in 60 cities
132 helpful votes 132 helpful votes
“Worth the time”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 22, 2014

This is a great collection of historic homes, buildings and sites. The train switch building and the Alexander Graham Bell buildings are worth the admission. We went on a chilly afternoon and it was still a great treat.

Visited November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cygnet, Ohio
1 review
“A Great Day Out!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 17, 2014

This is a wonderful place to pick up some history and relax. It is truly a place for all ages. We have gone with 3 different generations at once (grandparents in their early 70's, 30-40 year old siblings, and young toddlers) and also as just a date day for my husband and myself. As long as it isn't raining I consider a visit to the "Village" a bullet proof day. My favorite time to go to Green Field Village is during one of their major events, usually "Motor Muster" or the "Old Car Festival". People can sign up to bring in their old cars and they have them park all over the village, and most of the collectors are happy to talk and share info about their vehicles. For me it enhances the village experience, and they usually stay open late on theses occasions.
They have either re-created or bought and moved many interesting homes and businesses to the village, and there are docents everywhere to show you how a business or home was run. It is a pleasant leisurely walk around the village, or they have a train that you can ride to different stops, if your not of a mind to walk. Don't miss a ride in a Model T, it is totally awesome.

Visited June 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dearborn, Michigan
Contributor
14 reviews 14 reviews
5 attraction reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Christmas Nights”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 7, 2014

Make sure to mark your calendar for next year when Greenfield Village hosts Christmas Nights...Its a trip back in time-horses, and carolers, outdoor warming barrels complete with warm chestnuts and a glorious merry go round are some of the fun things you'll enjoy as well as Santa-the birth home of Henry Ford is there and you can walk thru it-just like hundreds of years ago. There is a fife band and old cars honking horns and travelling around as well as a hayride for the kids. It was cold this year and most attractions require walking, but it is well worth it-Dress warm, bought a small Christmas tree too! It was so much fun..Don't forget to visit the gift store and purchase something hand made to have as a memory. I got the collectible candy cane. It was a great night-lots of places to go get warmed up-but lots of the Holiday feeling in the air!

Visited December 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Greenfield Village also viewed

 

Been to Greenfield Village? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Greenfield Village, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.