We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lots to see and do nearby” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Metropol Perth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 13 more sites!
Save
You added Crown Metropol Perth to your Saves list
Crown Metropol Perth
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Great Eastern Highway, Burswood, Western Australia 6100, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Family Escape
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Burswood
Melbourne, VIC
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
21 hotel reviews
Reviews in 28 cities Reviews in 28 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“Lots to see and do nearby”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 21, 2014

Good hotel; nearby to numerous attractions at Crown. We had a luxe twin room as a family of 4; my 2 kids shared a double bed. Room 139 was low down so no view; but it was a long way away from the noisy casino which was good for a quiet night. Pole diggers started at 7am sat morning on nearby construction of new hotel. Service good.

Room Tip: Room 139 was low down so no view; but it was away from the noisy casino which was good for a quiet n...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    262
    192
    99
    38
    26
See reviews for
81
281
18
129
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Sydney, Australia
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 18, 2014

I booked a package for 1 night included King spa room, $150 towards spa treatment, valet parking, access to the 9 lounge, and a buffet breakfast. Cost $1000. Added up the items individually when I got here and reckon its worth about $800. Might as well have just booked the room and spa sessions separately and paid direct for valet parking.

Pros
1. Efficient and friendly valet team, organised bags to the room whilst I checked in and then headed to the day spa. Check in was also swift friendly and helpful.

2. Great Day Spa - Magda was fantastic. Warning - the retail shop doesn't have clear pricing on items so dont get carried away as it's very expensive. If you are a Crown Club member you do get a discount off the spa treatments and products.

3. Loved the big plush bathrobe in room.

Limitations
Room was a mix of the great and the disappointing.
Spa bath great. Bed comfy. Sofas and footstool comfy. Good TV reception and selection.
Sockets at workstation awkwardly under desk rather than above it.
Some fittings poorly installed including LED light, hook in bathroom, dangerous electrical sockets above minibar - kettle plug would not go all the way in but did in other sockets in the room.
Tap handle fell off spa bath. Bathroon since looks like it has cracks in it.
Lack of free bottled water in room
In room dining was limited to inspirations of the french bistro style cafe and it just want my type of food. No real acknowledgement that there may be dietary requirements that could be catered for - Radissun Blu in Sydney put this hotel to shame for its variety and acceptance of alternative options to meet all dietary requirements.

9 Lounge not like any business club lounge I have been to elsewhere - this was strictly controlled by the staff with limited complimentary options on one page and all the ones that you have to pay for on 2 other pages. Food is just presented to you regardless of what you like or your dietary requirements (non one asked). I had to refuse the food as it had things in it I could not eat. Staff were great and found alternatives but it didn't appear to be a standard thing to deviate from the cookie cutter approach.

Nobu I called to get a booking but non were available until way past my usual eating time but I went down there and walked in and was accommodated - so its work trying a walk in if you cannot get a booking.

In summary when you pay $1000 for 1 night you expect something special and to be trated as special - not feel that you are on a Jetstar flight where everything in an extra cost and any deviation from the standard is not allowed. My benchmark is the Grand Hyatt Melbourne where I am made to feel the centre of the universe and everything thing is thought of on the small details to make my life easy, comfortable and happy. Crown's focus seems to be on the dollar and not the guest. Hence why it can only be average.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled on business
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaun D, General Manager at Crown Metropol Perth, responded to this review, September 15, 2014
Thank you for your comments.

All feedback is valuable as it allows us to view our business operations from a guest perspective. All comments are reviewed by the management team as we continue our commitment to provide a truly memorable experience to our visitors.

Thank you for taking the time to comment.

Sincerely,

Shaun D'Cruz
General Manager
Crown Perth Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
33 helpful votes 33 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 17, 2014

Recently spent 2 nights here with a girlfriend for a girlie weekend getaway. We booked the Luxe twin room and were lucky to get one that overlooked the river and the pool area.
It's a lovely hotel with the new refurbishments however as many other guests have mentioned the new hotel being built next door does make for a noisy early morning wake up call.
Lobby bar nice to have a drink in and a shame it was a cold overcast day so we couldn't sit out by the pool.
Lots of places to wander around for a drink and some people watching.
Only downfall is the cost of valet parking $50 a day is steep. We parked underneath ourselves and it still cost $ 50 for the 2 days. There is free parking on site if you don't mind the walk.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We had booked a night in the deluxe spa room for our 2 year anniversary and first night away from our new born baby for some R and R. Upon arrival we received Valet parking and very prompt check in service and we headed up to our room. The rooms are nice but have been used poorly and this reflects with markings on the walls and carpets which takes away from the luxury feel. Opening our curtains we had a nice view of some construction works and cranes, every couple of seconds there was a nice boom, boom, boom from the foundation works which completely ruined our stay. So we escaped to the bathroom and started running a nice spa bath to relax on to find that it didn't actually work.

So once again as this was our dream little escape for the night we reported these facts to reception with no option to be moved or helped out. feeling let down and deflated we got ourselves sorted and went to Nobu for dinner which was nice, played around at the casino and bars then back to our room. The bed was ok and pillows very hard, we were awoken at 7 am by the same construction works booming every couple of seconds, WE COULDN'T BELIEVE IT!

So it was fare to say apart from dinner at Nobu the rest of our experience was ruined and not what we hoped for.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from construction around the new stadium area.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaun D, General Manager at Crown Metropol Perth, responded to this review, September 15, 2014
Thank you for your comments.

It is disappointing to learn that your experience fell short of your expectations. We do expect that the construction noise will impact on our guests and whilst every effort is made to advise visitors of the construction works prior to their arrival, we do understand that it is a potential issue. However, Crown Perth is looking towards the future and we are excited about the prospect of being able to offer visitors a luxury 6 Star option when Crown Towers finally opens.

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.

Sincerely,

Shaun D'Cruz
General Manager
Crown Perth Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 15, 2014

We have had some great staff that were super friendly and very helpful--big shout out to Mark N. the concierge...he was hands down the best party of their staff! The rest of the concierges were not knowledgeable about basic tourist info. Some even gave us wrong info! For the price we pay I expect more. The internet is slow, very slow in the evening. They are doing construction right now from a very early hour for people on holiday. (7am). The water was brown during day hours for a few days in a row...I'm assuming that's an issue with current work being done. They have "the Hub" for kids. This room is decorated well but there isn't much substance. They could use some games or coloring pages or really anything to really play with or do activities with. The hot tub isn't really hot either. They over nickle and dime you...which for the price of the room I find horrible. The rooms are nice. There are no locks on any bathroom doors or toilet doors, which any parent of small kids will tell you is a big negative. Its nice to have walking access to the local river and the food court is also nice. Some of the restaurants you can not get to if you have small children since you need to go through the casino. It is not well laid out because take away food is exactly what a family needs at times.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaun D, General Manager at Crown Metropol Perth, responded to this review, September 15, 2014
Thank you for your feedback.

Your comments and suggestions will be shared with the management staff so they may take appropriate action. I will also share your comments with Mark Nicholas on your behalf. We appreciate you taking the time to provide your feedback as it provides us with the necessary tools to continue to grow and refine our business practices.

Once again, thank you for your time.

Sincerely,


Shaun D'Cruz
General Manager
Crown Perth Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
perth
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
16 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed June 14, 2014

Check in slow.... The room was on the first floor near a service door which was very noisy in the morning.. We also were unlucky to get a connecting room with a loud mouth women that came back in very early in the morning and went on for a few hours! Pillows are great ,bed was comfortable and the view of a roof was a bonus.....Breakfast was indeed average..Food was warm and the service was the wait staff was not there.... Had to get up and ask for a pot of tea and then get up again and find one of the stone faced waitress and ask for milk!! Not good enough,the staff seem like they really couldn't be bothered... Im sure there is nicer places in Perth, where you get a smile and the service your paying for.............

Room Tip: Make sure you ask where your room is!
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaun D, General Manager at Crown Metropol Perth, responded to this review, September 15, 2014
Thank you for your comments.

It is disappointing to note that your experience fell short of your expectations. We are committed to providing a memorable experience for our guests and it is hoped you will return in the future so that we may restore your faith in our Hotel.

Sincerely,

Shaun D'Cruz
General Manager
Crown Perth Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Adelaide, Australia
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
24 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
38 helpful votes 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 13, 2014

We have stayed at this hotel on a number of occasions over the years for conferences and as a stopover place. It became run down but the rooms are now upgraded and it is a very comfortable hotel with good quality furnishings and beddings. Our only complaint is the continual building noise next to the hotel building. Otherwise we had a pleasant stay.

Room Tip: Ask for a room away from the building noise and the inner atrium where the bar and restaurant are si...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crown Metropol Perth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Metropol Perth

Address: Great Eastern Highway, Burswood, Western Australia 6100, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Burswood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Burswood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Metropol Perth 5*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the banks of the world-famous Swan River overlooking the stunning sun kissed backdrop of the Perth city skyline, Crown Metropol Perth redefines luxury accommodation offering a distinctive, modern and unmistakably luxurious escape.Each of Crown Metropol Perth’s guest rooms are abundant with space and natural light and feature high-tech entertainment facilities, plush furnishings and spacious bathrooms, plus guests have access to our renowned resort-style pool area, children’s zone and glamorous ISIKA Perth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, TravelClick, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crown Metropol Perth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Burswood Hotel Perth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Metropol Perth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.