We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Outdoor Pool” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Metropol Perth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Crown Metropol Perth to your Saves list
Crown Metropol Perth
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Great Eastern Highway, Burswood, Western Australia 6100, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Family Escape
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Burswood
Melbourne, Australia
1 review
“Outdoor Pool”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 5, 2014

I have traveled the world and stayed in 100's of hotels and this i must say has the most fantastic outdoor pool area. I felt like i was in Vegas, that's how amazing this pool is. Great space and sunbeds.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

608 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    258
    189
    97
    38
    26
See reviews for
81
275
18
127
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (199)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
39 reviews 39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 27 cities Reviews in 27 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

We treated ourselves to a night at crown since we were watching a show there. I had stayed there twice before although 7 and 9 years ago. On arrival the staff member didn't even say hi or smile she was rude and initially tried to tell me there was only a smoking room available, when I said no way she said there would only be a disabled room then. When again I said no - having booked two months prior and paying a fortune she found another room with a 40 minute wait - fine but don't manipulate. The room and hotel is gorgeous. What I was very disappointed by was the fact that, after paying a fortune to stay, you had to pay $40 a day to use a day bed!!! When I had called to book one unaware of the charge then said not to worry when told if the charge the staff member was snotty. It left a very bad taste that you had to pay to use those day beds - just greedy. The hotel is a fun place to stay with everything available but a few tips: provide parking and day beds free if you are going to charge those rates. And teach your staff to be more polite.

Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaun D, General Manager at Crown Metropol Perth, responded to this review, September 16, 2014
Thank you for your feedback.

Your comments are taken seriously and we investigate all issues raised. Please accept our thanks for taking the time to submit a review. We are committed to providing a 5 Star experience to our visitors and all feedback is a valuable tool.

Sincerely,

Shaun D'Cruz
General Manager
Crown Perth Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sydney, Australia
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed March 2, 2014

Hotel and service exceed expectation. Room was very nice - view was of the car park but someone has to overlook it. Service was impeccable, from checking in to check out, the staff couldn't have been more friendlier or helpful. Valet service was quick and the guy were a great bunch to chat to whilst wait for my car. Pool area is fantastic - slides for the kids. Not the cheapest place around but definitely worth the $$ for the service.

Will definitely be back.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 1, 2014

It was our first time back for a couple of years and it was disappointing to say the least. Whilst I was waiting to be allowed to park undercover my wife went to check us in and wait for me in the coctail lounge. While waiting in a queue for 15 minutes, my wife noticed dirty glasses all over the recetion desk. Not really the look you are wanting from one of the most expensive accommodation options in Perth. When we met up in the lounge just after check in time at 3pm she advised that our room wasn't ready and they would call us when it was available. No problem we thought so we ordered a drink from the waitress and waited about 20 minutes for it to arrive. By 4.10pm with no call about our room I went up to enquire at reception only to find our room was available but they had forgotten to ring us. Upon entering the room we got another suprise as there was a bottle of wine and a welcome note ...but for someone else.
There seemed to be no care factor from the staff as they lacked appropriate customer service skills. The rooms are not worth anywhere near the $440 we were charged, so do yourself a favour and stay somewhere else as the Crown seems to be run by clowns that don't care.

Room Tip: Unless you want to go to the Casino stay at an alternative hotel and save some cash.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaun D, General Manager at Crown Metropol Perth, responded to this review, September 16, 2014
Thank you for your feedback.

Your comments will be reviewed by the management team and used as a tool to further our commitment to provide the best customer service to our visitors. On this occasion we appear to have missed the mark and we do apologise for this lapse.

Thank you for taking the time to provide your feedback.

Sincerely,

Shaun D'Cruz
General Manager
Crown Perth Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver
Top Contributor
65 reviews 65 reviews
64 hotel reviews
Reviews in 59 cities Reviews in 59 cities
75 helpful votes 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 27, 2014

My wife and I stayed at the Crown Metropol Perth overnight on the way from Singpore to New Zealand. I always wanted to see Perth, and thought breaking up the flight into two halves was the perfect chance to do so. We took a double-decker tour of the town after the checkout, and loved the climate and look of the city. The hotel location is just outside the main part, across the river. It's Also about 20 minutes from the international airport terminal by taxi, about A$30. So it's a convenient place to stay.

The room was nice, the complimentary Wifi worked fine, and it was a quiet room though a bit worn with a few carpet stains. It's connected to a casino, but we didn't find that to be noisy or distracting for our overnight rest. The big caveat is that you will want to avoid making local calls on the hotel phone. We made two to inquire about a city tour, lasting a total of maybe 15 minutes. The cost? A$22!! The sticker shock at checkout was ameliorated when the manager waived the charges after we complained. He said that they were due to us calling a mobile phone, but how were we to know? I'm glad he understood.

Overall, if your travels take you to Perth, this is a fine place to stay.

Room Tip: Avoid making local calls if you can. The charges can be humongous.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Senior Reviewer
7 reviews 7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
3 helpful votes 3 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014 via mobile

Hotel is fine, pool beautiful but incredibly strange you need to book a day bed by the pool!! Delicious cocktails, best caipirhina in perth. No gluten free options when dining pool side and pool staff not accomodating. Chef apparently shrugged and said, "there are no gluten free options". After speaking to 4 different people and leaving the pool i managed to order a salad without croutons. Not acceptable for a 5 star resort.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Shaun D, General Manager at Crown Metropol Perth, responded to this review, September 16, 2014
Thank you for your feedback.

Your comments regarding gluten free options are appreciated and I will investigate with the food and beverage department.

Thank you for taking the time to provide a review.

Sincerely

Shaun D'Cruz
General Manager
Crown Perth Hotels
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crown Metropol Perth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Metropol Perth

Address: Great Eastern Highway, Burswood, Western Australia 6100, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Burswood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Burswood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Metropol Perth 5*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the banks of the world-famous Swan River overlooking the stunning sun kissed backdrop of the Perth city skyline, Crown Metropol Perth redefines luxury accommodation offering a distinctive, modern and unmistakably luxurious escape.Each of Crown Metropol Perth’s guest rooms are abundant with space and natural light and feature high-tech entertainment facilities, plush furnishings and spacious bathrooms, plus guests have access to our renowned resort-style pool area, children’s zone and glamorous ISIKA Perth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Agoda, HotelTravel.com, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, TravelClick, Travelocity, Ctrip TA, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crown Metropol Perth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Burswood Hotel Perth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Metropol Perth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.