We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Lovely” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Crown Metropol Perth

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 12 more sites!
Save
You added Crown Metropol Perth to your Saves list
Crown Metropol Perth
5.0 of 5 Resort   |   Great Eastern Highway, Burswood, Western Australia 6100, Australia   |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel deals
  |  
Hotel amenities
Special Offer
Family Escape
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Burswood
Sydney, Australia
Top Contributor
111 reviews 111 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 29 cities Reviews in 29 cities
41 helpful votes 41 helpful votes
“Lovely”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 6, 2013 via mobile

Like it's newer cousin in Melbourne, this is a lovely hotel. Rooms are immaculate. Deep and wide bathtub was a treat. Restaurants are expensive but very nice. The pool is delightful but I was surprised to discover that the outdoor pool didn't open until 7am - not ideal for a business traveller wanting to get some laps in before work (there is an indoor pool but much shorter). That said, staff were very friendly and helpful. All in all a lovely place to stay.

Stayed February 2013, traveled on business
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

618 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    192
    99
    38
    26
See reviews for
81
281
19
129
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (202)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Any
English first
Perth, Australia
Senior Contributor
43 reviews 43 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 3, 2013

Another fabulous experience at Crown Perth. The price might be up there but you get what you pay for. Will return again soon. Breakfast was excellent - take your time to sample the great variety. You need to be in the pool early for a space but so lovely.

Room Tip: Pay the extra for a room with a view lovely to wake up to
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
australia
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

We felt like we'd been to Bali staying at the Crown Metropol with it's wonderful new poolside. We spent the day by the pool - great pool, no need to fly to Bali to have a break away any more. fantastic service, fabulous rooms - with views over the river and pool.

Room Tip: we were given an upgrade to city and river views - absolutely stunning
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Australia WA
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We booked a king room for one night to attend a friend's wedding at the Crown ballroom. When we arrived to check-in we noticed a sign advising clients of a 1.5% surcharge when paying by credit card (this was not communicated to me over the phone when I booked and I don't generally carry cash). I would have thought that only small retailers would need to pass bank charges onto customers, not the Crown! If I recall correctly banks don't charge anywhere near 1.5% for credit card transactions. Anyway, the recently refurbished hotel rooms are truly lovely with modern clean finishes and fittings. The bath is amazing - large and very comfortable. Unfortunately they chose to install WHITE carpet in a busy hotel meaning the carpet already looks stained and worn. My only other gripe, which most hotels are guilty of, is that the toilet and bathroom do not have an extractor fan. On this particular occassion the toilet had a weird smell coming from it and there was no fan or even air freshner spray provided. Otherwise the bed and linen was top class as was the TV and other mod-cons. WARNING - the room service food is ridiculously expensive even for Perth standards. The hotel does not provide any complimentary bottles of water. In fact the one bottle of Evian in the room was $8 or $9.....Also, we purchased 2 coffees from the lounge lobby bar in the morning as there was no where else to get coffee from. They charge us $5.50 per coffee! The take-away cup was half-full (no joke) and luke warm - what a rip off! But other than those small but annoying things, it was a lovely night away from the kiddies and a fabulous wedding venue. Although we didn't go down to the pool it looked great from our room with two big slides for the kids.

Room Tip: Ask for non-smoking room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Newton Abbot, United Kingdom
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
72 hotel reviews
Reviews in 82 cities Reviews in 82 cities
77 helpful votes 77 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

We stayed at this hotel either side of a short trip to Exmouth/Ningaloo Reef. The first night was a Saturday and the hotel was very full. We were rather exhausted as we had just arrived from Sydney, but with a little persuasion the check-in clerk arranged for us to have a room on the 7th floor away from most of the noise. The room was very well equipped and comfortable. The sleep quality was good considering the hotel was full. Our next morning was an early start so no breakfast during this initial stay. On returning to this hotel after the trip to Exmouth, we unfortunately found the hotel and all the surrounding facilities absolutely stuffed, it was Melbourne Cup Day! Not being Australians we hadn't realised that Melbourne Cup was celebrated right across Australia and thus this hotel complex was full and then some. The hotel car parks were so stuffed that we had no choice but to use the valet parking service, which was expensive but worked well. On this second evening we chose to have a meal in the room and the next morning breakfast was taken in the ground floor restaurant. Both meals were good, with good service and choice. Surprisingly we had the exact same bedroom on this second visit and again a comfortable night stay.
We would certainly recommend this hotel for facilities, food and service. If we visit the hotel again we would avoid weekends and peak holiday periods, then it would be far more relaxing. However, considering the vast number of customers in the hotel on our 2 one-night stays, we were impressed on how well the staff coped, providing an impressive and courteous service.

Room Tip: Pick a high floor room to avoid noise from the reception/restaurant areas.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Perth, Australia
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 28, 2013

Recently stayed at Crown Metropol with visiting family. I have stayed a few times and have never been disappointed. Apart from the check-in everything was very professional and of high standard. I think reception staff need a little more training on the hotel and customer service but the housekeeping staff are first class. The pool and poolside bar are great and could only be improved by slightly better service and larger numbers. I am somewhat not happy with paying extra for a poolside pod/daybed but there are plenty of deckchairs for all so there really is no need to pay to secure a seat. Overall a very enjoyable stay and delicious cocktails and sushi/sashimi plate.

Room Tip: try to have a room on the north side
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Como, Australia
Senior Contributor
36 reviews 36 reviews
23 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed January 26, 2013

This hotel must have one of the best pool areas tha I have seen. Far better than the Fijian resorts that we had visited earlier in the year. The rooms are good, make sure that you ask for a view over the Swan River. The service is pretty ordinary. I was asked when checking out how my stay was. I explained that there were some issues and all I got was a thank you! Sterile staff with no personality might work fine in the adjoining casino although not in an expensive hotel. The Casino security is also quite off putting as the wonder around looking for trouble when you are trying to enjoy dinner.

Room Tip: Try to get a deal with breakfast and interned included as they charge way over the top for both of t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • 2 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Crown Metropol Perth? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Crown Metropol Perth

Address: Great Eastern Highway, Burswood, Western Australia 6100, Australia
Phone Number:
Location: Australia > Western Australia > Greater Perth > Burswood
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Casino and Gambling Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 Hotels in Burswood
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Crown Metropol Perth 5*
Number of rooms: 397
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On the banks of the world-famous Swan River overlooking the stunning sun kissed backdrop of the Perth city skyline, Crown Metropol Perth redefines luxury accommodation offering a distinctive, modern and unmistakably luxurious escape.Each of Crown Metropol Perth’s guest rooms are abundant with space and natural light and feature high-tech entertainment facilities, plush furnishings and spacious bathrooms, plus guests have access to our renowned resort-style pool area, children’s zone and glamorous ISIKA Perth. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Priceline, Agoda, Cheap Tickets, HotelTravel.com, Orbitz, getaroom.com, Despegar.com, Ctrip TA, TravelClick, Booking.com, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Crown Metropol Perth reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Intercontinental Burswood Hotel Perth

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Crown Metropol Perth, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.