We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice and quiet” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Chwaka Bay Resort

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Chwaka Bay Resort to your Saves list
Chwaka Bay Resort
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Village Chwaka, Chwaka, Tanzania   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chwaka
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Nice and quiet”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 20, 2014

We arrived at Chwaka Bay Resort on 29 March 2014. We were welcomed with an interesting welcome drink (avo and strawberry cocktail). The staff was very friendly.
Rooms were spacious and clean. Air conditioner / fan etc was working.Our room was on the upper level and the view of the beach / palm trees were amazing. The swimming pool is very clean and we enjoyed cooling down in the pool. We decided to make Chwaka Bay our 1st stop because we wanted some peace and quiet before exploring the rest of Zanzibar. That is exactly what we got. We arranged day trips to Kizimkazi Village to swim with the Dolphins as well as Jozani Forest and snorkel at Mnemba. All of this was done at the resort and we were happy with the arrangements. It is possible to arrange any trip / tour from the resort.
Justin was especially friendly and helpful and we only needed to mention something and Justin will be able to help.
The food is definitely a little pricey and there is only one other restaurant near by (resort next door).
There are definitely some improvements that needs to take place, but I will recommend Chaka Bay to other travellers and would like to read reviews on the improvements.

Room Tip: Superior Rooms on upper level, the best views.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aj_yadav, Manager at Chwaka Bay Resort, responded to this review, June 23, 2014
Dear Roecha123

Thank you once again for choosing Chwaka Bay Resort for your recent stay.
We are glad to know that you enjoyed the stay and like the hospitality of the staff. All the deluxe rooms in the resort are sea facing with private balcony offer and very spacious with 36 sqm.

Regarding the food, weserve ala-carte food and most of the fruits and vegetables are brought in from Dar Es Salaam, making the pricing a little expensive but is in line with most of the Ala-Carte restaurants in Zanzibar.

We are already working on the improvement in few aspects and you will surely see the improvement coming up.

Thank you once again for your feedback.

Regards

Ajay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    44
    49
    13
    12
    4
See reviews for
16
69
6
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Polish first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Stockerau, Austria
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2014

The water taps in the rooms need to be replaced, the garbage dump in front of the balconys is disruptive and the waiters and room maids have to get more attentive, more coordinated, have to work more efficiently. These are only suggestions for improvement to get a top hotel without any negative points. The hotel can only be recommended and also the staff do their best for your pleasant and relaxing holidays. The food is very good and the rooms are perfect clean.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aj_yadav, Manager at Chwaka Bay Resort, responded to this review, April 13, 2014
Dear Guest

Thank you for the feedback. We are already in the process of the changing the bathroom fittings during the coming low season. Also the issue of the dump that you highlighted is the seagrass which is collected and to avoid the beach erosion which happens during the high tide.

Thank you so much once again for the recommendation and appreciation for the quality of the food and cleanliness of the rooms. Also the would like to thank you on behalf of the staff for acknowledging their honest efforts.

Ajay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Arusha, Tanzania
1 review
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 25, 2014

Vacationed here with the family and the following stood out for us: Clean Pool, great service big the rooms, staff are very friendly and food was good,
We had great time at the resort .We stayed for 3 nights... Great spaces for relaxing and generally a lovely place to spend, a quiet Island holiday

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are bigger - especial higher floors
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2014, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
aj_yadav, Manager at Chwaka Bay Resort, responded to this review, June 25, 2014
Dear Glory E

Thank you once again for choosing Chwaka Bay Resort for your recent trip to Zanzibar

We are glad that you enjoyed your family vacations at the resort and it was a great pleasure to serve you here. Huge spaces available are due to the size of the resort which is located on 14 acres of land with only 30 rooms and offering a beach front of 325 meter. The Chwaka is so much quieter than other beaches in Zanzibar as only two resort exists in the area keeping it a very low profile destination.

We once again like to thank you for the visit.

Regards

Ajay
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 22, 2014 via mobile

We loved our two nights here. Peaceful, clean, and an excellent staff. The rooms were very charming, and the staff was very thoughtful and had a bottle of champagne waiting for us in the room when they found out it was our honeymoon. I'd highly recommend this resort.

  • Stayed February 2014
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

it was an amazing experience, well spent holiday. will be back the next holiday.I recommend Bilha Wanjohi for her excellent job.go gal when come i come next will look for you .the other staff members are also hospitable

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dar es Salaam, Tanzania
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 24, 2014

If you are looking for a peaceful place, along with excellent food, this is your must-stop!

The operation is small, so you can really rest and relax here.The intimate atmosphere makes you feel right at home. Beach goes on for kilometers, there is a nice pool in the lush garden, spacious rooms are comfortable and clean, the stuff and service very good and food by far is the best I've enjoyed in any hotel in Zanzibar.

The only downside is, that after you have eaten here, you'll have to go to a gourmet-restaurant to get a similar experience.

  • Stayed January 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nairobi, Kenya
1 review
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2014

I spent 2 nights on a filming trip, it was a good choice away from the hustle and bustle in the city. The set up was comforting,good service from staff, but they need a little bit more motivation. Nice small place.

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side offer a lovely night view
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Chwaka Bay Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chwaka Bay Resort

Address: Village Chwaka, Chwaka, Tanzania
Location: Tanzania > Zanzibar Archipelago > Zanzibar > Chwaka
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beach Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Chwaka
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Chwaka Bay Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Serene & Peaceful Chwaka Bay Resort(Chwaka Beach Resort) is located on the central east coast of Zanzibar on the Chwaka Beach near the fishing village of Chwaka and next to the Jozani National Park.Here under the Gentle sways of Coconut palms towering over immaculate garden Zanzibar influence reigns supreme. It offers everything from palm-fringed, white-sand beaches and clear waters to gentle winds and an abundance of sunshine. Elevate your senses with a refreshing swim in the sea, hunt for the sea shells on the beach, soak up nurturing sunshine or enjoy one of many water sports activities. The resort seeks to provide with outstanding services in a warm and friendly manner. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Agoda, Expedia, Odigeo, Hotels.com and Tingo so you can book your Chwaka Bay Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Chwaka Bay Hotel Zanzibar Archipelago

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chwaka Bay Resort, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.