We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly and completely un-stuffy!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Royal Oak Hotel

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Save
You added Royal Oak Hotel to your Saves list
Royal Oak Hotel
Rosthwaite, Borrowdale CA12 5XB, England   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #2 of 2 Rosthwaite B&B and Inns
Epsom, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
“Friendly and completely un-stuffy!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed May 3, 2013

Four of us stayed again on a family re-union. It has changed a little over the years, but only for the better: in cleanliness and fresh appearance. The Royal Oak represents the best of trad. hotel values. Friendly approach from a family committed to quality delivery. No boil in a bag infinite choice here. They make it all themselves; and better, there is a fixed dining time with limited choice of quality meals, yet veggies etc are fully catered for. In these times, this represents a way forward for other hotels to follow. Location, car parking and facilities for outdoor enthusiasts (drying room etc), all fine.
We will keep coming back.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

148 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    83
    34
    18
    6
    7
See reviews for
21
77
9
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Salisbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 23, 2013

This small family run hotel gives you exactly what it states in their brochure / website.Our room was large with views to the rear over the Stonethwaite Beck. The cheerful staff were all local who have worked here for many years. This is a lover of the Lake District / fell walkers / coast to coast / get away from it all hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Modbury, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
33 reviews 33 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 25 cities Reviews in 25 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 16, 2013

Four walking friends stayed at the Royal Oak during our C2C walk in mid-April 2013. We had met other C2C- ers prior to arrival and they had all suggested that we would be wowed by our stay at the hotel. We were not disappointed. The hotel is comfortably old-fashioned but immaculately clean, the rooms were a very good size and the food excellent. We particularly liked the set dining experience because everyone sits down together on the sounding of the dinner gong and the set menu means that guests get freshly cooked and tasty food. Despite offering a single menu they are still willing to cater for special needs and, despite only having short notice, catered for one of our group's coeliac needs. The hotel's location in the depths of Borrowdale means that it is ideal for walking in the central Lakes area. Would like to come back again to savour what nowadays is a unique experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ndowie, Owner at Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this review, June 2, 2013
Thank you for your great review we're always pleased to get such positive feed back.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norwich, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Staying at the Royal Oak is different from staying anywhere else. The situation is fantastic for walking, the guests share experiences either over tea and scones or after supper.
The evening meal is at a set time and the meal is the same for everybody, or vegie, but is good and the staff are happy to to adjust things to meet guests needs.
Having Wifi is brilliant and I like not having a tv in guests rooms. (There is a tv room).
The staff are friendly and very helpful and the hotel attracts guests back year after year.

Room Tip: The riverside rooms, Merrybreeches are quiet and are at the back of the hotel. A pair of slip on sh...
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ndowie, Owner at Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for your comments. We are glad that you enjoyed your recent visit with us. Having a set meal served at a set time allows us to produce a freshly cooked meal for you to enjoy and we do offer alternatives when necessary to cater for likes and dislikes and special diets as you comment. We hope to see you again in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed April 8, 2013

Nice location, not cheap unless you get a deal via Venere or other discount. Not much choice of meals in the evening but what we got was actually very nice quality food served up by friendly staff. Breakfasts were average B&B standard.
The bar was quite cosy - only open to residents.

Room Tip: If the rumble of central heating boilers keeps you awake, then avoid rooms at that end of the hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ndowie, Manager at Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for your review of our hotel. I am glad you enjoyed your stay but sorry you found us expensive. We hope to offer good value for money and think we are actually one of the cheaper hotels in the Borrowdale valley......of course you must remember that 20% of our tariff is immediately paid as VAT whereas in a B&B that is not normally the case. We look forward to welcoming you back sometime in the future.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Contributor
17 reviews 17 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed April 5, 2013

My friend Anne and I stayed at the Royal Oak for 2 nights during Easter weekend 2013. We also had my dog Dylan the Labradoodle with us. We chose the Royal Oak because they are dog friendly and I found them in a new Dog Friendly places to stay guide I recently purchased. We had such a lovely stay. The Royal Oak has real and genuine charm. It is clearly a very old building and had not been spoilt by modernisation in any way. The room was immaculate and very comfortable. There was a double bed and a single, and more than plenty of room to spread out and for Dylan to move about. The bathroom was also very good, with a good sized bath and plenty of hot water . The complementary bath products were by local company Out of Eden and were normal sizes not tiny freebies. The hot bath with either rose or grapefruit bubble bath was very welcome after our walk around Crummock Water. The Royal Oak is in the tiny village of Rosthwaite about 20 minutes drive from Keswick southwards down the side of Derwentwater. The local area for walking straight from the front door is stunning. We opted to walk back to Grange along the Allandale way which was a short warm up walk of about 2 miles along a river and through pretty woodland. Grange has 2 lovely tea rooms with homemade food so a nice short walk with a cup of tea was just right on our first afternoon. We had been welcomed at the Royal Oak with complementary homemade scones and preserves and a pot of tea so were not hungry enough to try the food at the cafe's in Grange but they both looked really good. A 20 minutes drive over the spectacular Honister Pass took us to Buttermere and Crummock Water the next day for our day long walk. We stopped off at the 3 Fishes in Buttermere half way around Crummock Water and had a welcome ginger beer. We had purchased an excellent and very good value packed lunch from The Royal Oak so did not need to eat but it look wholesome and hearty fare. The staff at the Royal Oak are very knowledgeable about the area so were very helpful in guiding us and other guests with directions, times, and places to go. They were all really nice and friendly and made us very welcome. Nothing was too much trouble. The separate TV lounge was very comfortable too for after dinner relaxing and finishing our wine and was warm and cosy. The food was excellent, home cooked British style food. A good English breakfast and roast dinner at night with homemade soup to start and a home made dessert and a very good cheese board and biscuits also provided. All in all this is a hidden gem for anyone looking to completely relax, get away from the commercialisation of our busy lives, be looked after as if in someone's home, enjoy well cooked homely food, and get some Cumbrian fresh air!

Room Tip: The rooms in the detached barn conversion are probably the biggest and quietest, and we also asked f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ndowie, Owner at Royal Oak Hotel, responded to this review, April 12, 2013
Thank you for your very positive comments about your recent visit. We are glad that you enjoyed the ambience of the hotel and the food and accommodation. Please come and see us again soon. Many guests consider their dogs as part of the family and we are happy to welcome them here.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 2, 2013

Have stayed here many times and have never been disappointed. Wonderful location, comfortable, relaxing atmosphere, and amazing and varied home cooking. Owners Neil and Susan and all the staff are most welcoming and do everything to make your stay enjoyable. Looking forward to many more visits.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Price Your Stay

Been to Royal Oak Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Oak Hotel

Address: Rosthwaite, Borrowdale CA12 5XB, England
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Borrowdale > Rosthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Rosthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 14
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Royal Oak is a small traditional family run hotel ideally situated in the "Heart of Borrowdale", six miles south of Keswick. Once an 18th Century farmhouse, it has been established as a walkers' hotel for over 100 years. Our English breakfasts and home cooked dinners sustain even the most energetic and although we do not provide a choice, we take great care to select varied and appealing menus. Packed Lunches and special diets are also available. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Royal Oak Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Royal Oak Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.