We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Regular visitors Alan and Sue” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scafell Hotel

Save Saved
You added Scafell Hotel to your Saves list
Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Scafell Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rosthwaite, Borrowdale CA12 5XB, England   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Announcement
Gold Award for the 3rd yr
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Rosthwaite
Uckfield, United Kingdom
1 review
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
“Regular visitors Alan and Sue”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

We have stayed at this hotel regularly over several years and wouldn't stay anywhere else in Borrowdale. Our visit starts with the warm welcome at Reception, normally Lesley, this year Kim, and then the pleasure of finding our room with resplendant decor and every possible comfort. The dining room represents the best of traditional Cumbrian hospitality with excellent food, especially the five course dinner each evening. The staff are all very helpful and friendly and professional. The Managing Director is usually there to assist whilst the owner is regularly seen using the dining room. The hotel is situated in the heart of the Borrowdale Valley so there is amazing scenery from every viewpoint.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

357 people have reviewed this hotel

Traveler rating
    232
    67
    22
    17
    19
See reviews for
48
182
19
3
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (77)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Leeds, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013

Our first visit to the Scafell was in 1972, for our honeymoon, and we have been returning regularly for several years - visiting twice yearly (or more) when we can. It is our home from home, all the staff are exceptionally friendly and helpful, and couldn't be more welcoming. The food is of an exceptionally high standard (wonderful five course dinners) and the breakfasts are just the ticket for a long day on the fells. The packed lunches are good value - we only order one for us both, we fine that that is plenty for our walks on the fells. It really is like a country house - all the rooms are very well furnished and they are all different - not like many hotel chains - one has a roll top bath and another a spa bath - just what you need after a long trek. The hotel has been in the same ownership for many years and the owner adds a personal touch by his presence about the hotel and chatting to guests. The hotel also takes pride in supporting community events - amongst them the fell race and the Remembrance Day service on Castle Crag. However, the real stars of the hotel are its staff - they are such a wonderful team, and on our last stay they really went the extra mile to help us at a difficult time. We have met so many interesting people to chat to after dinner over coffee in front of the lovely log fire in the lounge, many of whom are regulars (like ourselves) and who often make their next booking when they leave. We can't recommend the hotel highly enough.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
49 reviews 49 reviews
22 hotel reviews
Reviews in 23 cities Reviews in 23 cities
23 helpful votes 23 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2013 via mobile

As a three star hotel, this is good. The hotel has character and our room was a mixture of modern and old features. Bed was comfortable and the bathroom clean and modern with nice toiletries. Room maintenance was poor, water was never replenished which was quite annoying given how hot the room got. But not as hot as the plates every meal was served on! Ferocious heat, in your face every time. We did the TZ offer. The food is of good quality, well presented and cooked. The waitresses could be more refined, lack of demure, bit crass at times. It got a bit tedious being asked at every breakfast if we were having dinner...Reception is rubbish as is the wifi, the only connection being available in reception, which is not inviting. Shame it wasn't available in the lounge. Its quite a nice lounge area but it lacks any entertainment, apart from a few guides. This hotel is a good escape and ideal for walking in the valley. 

Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Contributor
13 reviews 13 reviews
7 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2013 via mobile

We stayed here last weekend, three adults and a child. Our family room no 23 was lovely and overlooked a stream and the fells. When we checked in, we asked if we could all have a seven o'clock breakfast as we were planning to climb Great Gable for the Remembrance Day service at eleven the following day. We were told that breakfast started at eight, so we had the choice of either breakfast or the service.
We ordered packed lunches which were not ready till nine the following morning. We missed the service.
The choice of packed lunch was between cheese and tomato or ham (priced at £7.95 each). I chose the cheese and tomato which turned out to be a slice of orange processed cheese in a sandwich made from a shop bought sliced loaf. Processed cheese has no place in a professional kitchen, or anywhere else for that matter. The rest of the pack was a hard boiled egg, an apple and whole tomato, a Kit Kat, a packet of biscuits they put in the rooms and a microscopic slice of cake. I fed the sandwich to the ducks on Derwentwater.
We ate at the pub attached to the hotel and the food was fine. Breakfast was very good too, but we travelled over two hundred miles to attend that service and were thwarted by the hotel bureaucracy.

,

Stayed November 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Royal Tunbridge Wells, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

I have now been returning to the Scafell for nearly forty years. It has always had a very helpful and friendly staff, the food has always been excellent and in recent years the rooms have been refurbished to a high standard. The location could not be better for a serious fell walker.

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stroud, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 10, 2013

We have stayed here for many years and just love the location in Rosthwaite. Add to that a first class restaurant and friendly staff and, even if the weather is unpredictable, you can have a lovely relaxing stay.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 7, 2013

Excellent hotel in a beautiful location. Stayed for 3 nights and ate in the restaurant every night- the choice on the menu was excellent, changing daily. The room was clean and comfortable.
All the staff were friendly and helpful, we couldn't of asked for a more relaxing and enjoyable mini moon.

Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Scafell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scafell Hotel

Address: Rosthwaite, Borrowdale CA12 5XB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Borrowdale > Rosthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 hotels in Rosthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Scafell Hotel 3*
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scafell Hotel is a wonderful Country House Hotel located in the very heart of Borrowdale, considered by many as England's finest valley, surrounded by mighty fells, tranquil meadows and crystal clear waters. A paradise for the walker and a perfect centre from which to visit other parts of the Lake District. The Hotel is situated almost at the foot of Great Gable and the Scafell Massif, and is regarded one of the Lake District’s renowned headquarters for climbers and hill walkers. Keen anglers will appreciate the Scafell Hotel, as there is excellent fly fishing on the River Derwent and in Derwentwater. Those who are content with gentle rambling or just lazing on restful lawns fringed by trees amidst imposing scenery will be equally happy staying here. Our rooms were fully refurbished during 2009, in a Warm and Rich Country House style with a ‘Contemporary Twist’ perfect for setting the scene for a peaceful and relaxing break in the beautiful Borrowdale Valley. The Restaurant, Lounges and Bar have been tastefully decorated and furnished to retain that all important Country House warmth, allowing for complete relaxation after a great days walking on the Fells, and maybe even a little ‘nap’ by the fire after a delicious five course Dinner. Under the constant direction of owner’s Miles Jessop MBE (Chairman) and Andrew Nelson (Managing Director) the Management and Team of Scafell Hotel offer truly warm and friendly service. Individual and Independent Country House Hotel for the last 40 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Tingo, BookingOdigeoWL and Venere so you can book your Scafell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scafell Hotel Rosthwaite

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scafell Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.