We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly hotel, great location” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scafell Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Scafell Hotel to your Saves list
Scafell Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rosthwaite, Borrowdale CA12 5XB, England   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosthwaite
London, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
22 reviews 22 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 11 cities Reviews in 11 cities
17 helpful votes 17 helpful votes
“Friendly hotel, great location”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 9, 2013

My partner and I booked the travelzoo two night offer (£159 for 2 nights including dinner on one night and breakfast both days) quite last minute for October 6-8th.

The hotel is situated right at the Honiston pass and close to Derwentwater lake and Keswick, we also drove to Grasmere and Windermere which arent far at all. If you are there for walking there are plenty of routes right on your doorsep and the hotel room has a very helpful guide of the lakes breaking down the activities into walking, cycling and driving.


Very impressed with the customer service from the beginning, when I booked they were down to one twin and one family room and offered us the larger family room to make our stay more comfortable. Our room (23) was in the annex and had the river running right outside our window which was lovely. Our room had antique furniture, gorgeous slate tiles and a modern bathroom with fantastic piping hot water and good water pressure. I'd love to check out the old main house on another visit though as I'm sure the rooms will have real character judging by the downstairs. Sadly the weather was too mild for the fires to be lit but you can see how cosy and welcoming the public areas will be in Winter.

There is the right mix of traditional and contemporary. The dining room has proper old school waitress service but is nice and civilised with breakfast being served from 8-10 and in the evening it is intimate and romantic (candlelit and soft music!) and you are invited to take a drink in the cocktail bar whilst you peruse the menu. Breakfast is award wining and rightly so (the kippers are huge!) but perhaps more suited to carnivores than vegetarians and the dinner menu has something for everyone with the focus being on good, locally sourced ingredients.

The staff are so helpful and top marks to Lesley for chasing after us with our coffee and serving it in our room after we left the dining room without having it (extremely full after dinner!) The dinner included in our deal is very generous indeed and we really enjoyed it. The adjoining pub also serves food and was of an equally high standard. Good wine list too!

One thing to be aware of is the poor phone signal, which is something you just have to accept. Don't go to that part of the world if you want to stay in touch with the office. There is free wifi available in the hotel reception but not really anywhere else. After my initial dismay I actually quite enjoyed being completely off the grid and was really able to switch off and enjoy this fantastic region and lovely hotel.

Room Tip: If you are a light sleeper go for the main house as the annex is right by the river.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

438 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    284
    87
    30
    19
    18
See reviews for
64
218
23
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
holmfirth
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 3, 2013

We booked this by Travel Zoo two night break including bed and breakfast plus evening meal on the first night. Well worth the money, the staff are both friendly and very helpful, the food was excellent and the room was comfortable with the en suite very modern and clean. There were a number of guests who were repeat visitors, both walkers and those who use their cars to visit the Lake District attractions and we can see why. We will certainly be back again

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cheshire
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed October 1, 2013

Just got home from a two night / three day stay at Scafell Hotel in Borrowdale.
Top value ! albeit we were on a 'Travellzoo' deal. Just got to share this trip with you.
We were accompanied by our friend and older lady, and whilst we are not walkers, we loved the setting.
The quietness, the remoteness... heavenly.

The hotel itself has the most friendly staff we have ever experienced, and the food in the candlelit restaurant is absolutely superb! Served on the hottest plates I have ever seen ! (that is ususally one of my nit-picks)
Even the bar meals in the pub next door (belongs to hotel) are wonderful. Tasty and plentiful servings.

2 Nice rooms with new bathrooms. Not the hotel's fault but no mobile signal with my provider.
Also Wi/Fi restricted to reception area. Could not get internet in our room. But staff helped me to do what I needed to do in the downstairs area.

One for the memory banks. Give 'em a whirl !!

Room Tip: We had adjacent rooms 1 & 3 Both tastefully decorated & new sanitory / bathware. Front fac...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northallerton, United Kingdom
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 30, 2013

A wonderful dog friendly hotel. Our double room was spotless and the bathroom really well equipped [spa bath - brill]. Some repair work was being undertaken to the outside but this in no way affected our stay. We will go back and so will the dog! The staff are very friendly too - and helpful. The hotel has ample parking and a superb restaurant - see separate review but I must say the breakfasts are great and the evening meal is five stars...

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ENOCH
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 28, 2013

Great place to stay - everything was great - room was clean and big - big bath tub to soak away the day - meals were wonderful - including the breakfast in a wonderful breakfast room. The packed lunch as great as the day moved along - would recommend to anyone who wants to find a place to rest..

Room Tip: We had a room that was on the small stream - it was so peaceful to have a great night's rest.
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Golborne, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 21, 2013

We had a two night stay with breakfast in May 2013. As has been mentioned in previous reports the staff are extremely friendly and helpful and seemed to go out of their way to make our visit an enjoyable one. The breakfast was plentiful and we always left the table satisfied. The evening meals from the Riverside Bar were a surprise as they exceeded what I'd expect from a 3 star hotel, compliments to the Chef and all of Team Scafell. Situated about 20 mins from Keswick, the views were amazing.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed September 20, 2013

Had a fantastic stay at the Scafell Hotel at the begining of September. The Hotel is tucked away in the glorious Borrowdale valley just 20 mins from Keswick. The surroundings are fantastic and the rooms are well presented and cosy with some great modern features.
The staff were all very friendly and you got a great homely feeling as soon as you arrived. You got the feeling they could not do enough for you.
I would definitely recommend the Scafell Hotel to anybody wanting a quiet getaway in some of the most stunning scenery the Lake District has to offer.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scafell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scafell Hotel

Address: Rosthwaite, Borrowdale CA12 5XB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Borrowdale > Rosthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Scafell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scafell Hotel is a wonderful Country House Hotel located in the very heart of Borrowdale, considered by many as England's finest valley, surrounded by mighty fells, tranquil meadows and crystal clear waters. A paradise for the walker and a perfect centre from which to visit other parts of the Lake District. The Hotel is situated almost at the foot of Great Gable and the Scafell Massif, and is regarded one of the Lake District’s renowned headquarters for climbers and hill walkers. Keen anglers will appreciate the Scafell Hotel, as there is excellent fly fishing on the River Derwent and in Derwentwater. Those who are content with gentle rambling or just lazing on restful lawns fringed by trees amidst imposing scenery will be equally happy staying here. Our rooms were fully refurbished during 2009, in a Warm and Rich Country House style with a ‘Contemporary Twist’ perfect for setting the scene for a peaceful and relaxing break in the beautiful Borrowdale Valley. The Restaurant, Lounges and Bar have been tastefully decorated and furnished to retain that all important Country House warmth, allowing for complete relaxation after a great days walking on the Fells, and maybe even a little ‘nap’ by the fire after a delicious five course Dinner. Under the constant direction of owner’s Miles Jessop MBE (Chairman) and Andrew Nelson (Managing Director) the Management and Team of Scafell Hotel offer truly warm and friendly service. Individual and Independent Country House Hotel for the last 40 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Scafell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scafell Hotel Rosthwaite

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scafell Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.