We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Back again for some winter walking” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Scafell Hotel

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Save
You added Scafell Hotel to your Saves list
Scafell Hotel
3.0 of 5 Hotel   |   Rosthwaite, Borrowdale CA12 5XB, England   |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel website
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosthwaite
Dover
Top Contributor
62 reviews 62 reviews
31 hotel reviews
Reviews in 38 cities Reviews in 38 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
“Back again for some winter walking”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We come regularly in February and the weather this year was exceptionally good so we only spent evenings and nights in the hotel. The staff are friendly, helpful and were very much stretched by a rather difficult customer while we were there - they remained polite throughout which is more than could be said for him. I was impressed by the fact that several of the dining room staff remembered the food intolerances suffered by one of our party and gave advice at meal ordering time (and special titbits to have with our pre-dinner drinks that they knew she'd be able to eat). It is little things like this that make this hotel stand out - and the facts that they get a very high incidence of repeat bookings and a very low turnover of staff speak for themselves. Very comfortable public areas and the bedrooms - the water heating does struggle when everyone wants their bath at once when coming down from the fells so our party tries to stagger bath times by going for a "dirty drink" in the back bar before coming in to wash for dinner and these seems to work (although possibly not for those downwind from us in the bar!).

Room Tip: Be aware that Rm 7 is over the kitchen and bar entrance - it never bothers us but I imagine some cou...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

437 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    283
    87
    30
    19
    18
See reviews for
64
217
23
4
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Lincoln, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 7, 2013

We chose the Scafell as it situated in a beautiful valley where you can chose a different walk each day without using your car. The staff are very friendly and a wonderful cosy atmosphere pervades the lounge and bar areas. We stayed in a lovely warm room overlooking the hills which was great first thing in the morning and later in the afternoon on return from our walks. An area for wet boots was available but fortunately we did not need to use it. The bathroom has been recently refurbished with a good-sized bath and strong shower plus high quality shampoos and soaps. After a long walk and hot reinvigorating bath it was lovely to go down to the bar for pre-dinner drinks in front of a roaring fire and choose from the menu at leisure with nibbles brought to us while we waited. The food was excellent, locally sourced where possible and cooked fresh as in a first class restaurant. The riverside bar had a good selection of food and drinks, even had hot mulled wine, and so was ideal for us as walkers to have a drink and chat about our hike that day. We enjoyed our time so much that we have booked again for next year

Room Tip: Front rooms have the best view
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Staffordshire, England
Top Contributor
104 reviews 104 reviews
45 hotel reviews
Reviews in 50 cities Reviews in 50 cities
78 helpful votes 78 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed February 18, 2013

Frist off, we chose to stay at the Scafell Hotel mostly on location - which is absolutely superb. It is perfectly located for a whole host of walks in Borrowdale and beyond to Buttermere etc.

It is a pretty nice looking building. Check in was cold but efficient. Our room was also very cold as the heating simply was not on when we went into the room iniitially. You would think a hotel would make sure the radiator was turned on when they have a booking! The room on entering had a strange smell - rather like a rotting shower curtain (although it wasnt that) or badly dried laundry. Not pleasant. It was a smallish room with a normal sized double bed. At least the bed was comfortable. No duvet - but sheet and blanket.

The room had tea/coffee making facility and was clean. The TV was smallish and on the wall. The bathroom had a bath and a shower over - and to have the bath is great as when you have been walking all day its great to soak away the aches and pains. The bathroom had an awful extractor fan that made a dreadful noise which went on for about 20 minutes after you turned the switch off!. Lighting in the room was pretty poor, particularly if you want to sit on the bed an dread for instance.

The hotel has a lovely comfortable lounge with a fantastic roaring log/coal fire. We really like that.

We really wanted to eat in the waiter service restaurant - but chose not to as the menu just did not have enough choice on to draw us in. So we had dinner in the pub attached to the hotel and owned by the hotel. They share the same kitchen, and the choice of dishes in teh pub is massive! So we think the restaurant is really missing a trick - get more on the menu and you will get more people in like us. The pub had some decent enough ales and the food was great, really quick and very reasonably priced.

Breakfast was good - served in the nice restaurant. Good choice of hot cooked dishes.

We paid £100 per night - the room was small and somewhat smelly, so on that basis I only rate this as average. We would go back to the pub to eat certainly, but if in the area again would probably look to stay somewhere else

Room Tip: If its winter - ask them to turn the heating on before you arrive!
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Carlisle
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 16, 2013

Stayed in a family room (21) which had a riverside view and good facilities with a nice bathroom. The location is beautiful and probably the best valley in Cumbria, which is why we went there. The hotel was a hotel of two halves. A walker friendly bar with open fires and reasonable priced beer which made a change for a decent hotel. The lounge/cocktail bar were more formal, and had several rooms with lovely original features of the building. We had the lounge to ourselves as it was fortunately quiet and sat in front of a beautiful fireplace with roaring log fire. The restaurant had a lovely ambience and the food was very good. The service was particularly good being friendly yet unobtrusive. It was a pleasure to see a bottle of wine served correctly and expertly. The chairman of the hotel came in and personally greeted us, making sure we were ok which was a lovely touch. We returned to the lounge after our meal and again the chairman joined us in the lounge and was pleasant company. I sampled a few of the best whiskey range I have ever seen. I have stayed in many fine places in Scotland and never seen such a good range . It is clearly the managers passion and yet still good value price wise. We had a comfortable night and a good quality breakfast in the morning. There are plenty of great walks near there and it is a great base for walking. Will definitely return soon.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bolton, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

Set in the beautiful Lakeland area of Borrowdale, this is a true gem whether your tastes fall into hill-walking or just enjoying the amazing scenery! As soon as you enter this (we read) recently refurbished hotel you are made to feel incredibly welcome. Our 2 young children were entranced by the log fires in the lounge and we all looked forward to our evening meal. Our only disappointment was that we had brought the children- as the menu for the Hotel restaurant looked amazing, but sadly not suitable for our 6 year old! A 20 yard walk to the attached pub though, treated us to classic pub food, served on incredibly hot plates(for the adults) which is sometimes missing in other restaurants, never mind pubs!
Back for a nightcap in the hotel bar before a great nights sleep in a lovely furnished room and ready to embrace the local walks the next day.
The free wifi made up for the scarcity of a mobile phone signal but, when you're in such a gorgeous English setting, who cares!!
We will definitely go back, maybe without the kids though, so we can fully savour the food and experience, although leaving them behind won't be a popular decision!!!
Fantastic!

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 15, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at The Scafell. The staff were welcoming and friendly and had a wealth of knowledge on walking in the area. We ate in the restaurant both nights where the food was delicious. The Riverside Bar attached to the hotel also serves meals and as these are prepared in The Scafells kitchens they are equally delicious. The bar was relaxed and welcoming with roaring fire and mulled wine for me after a long days walking. The hotel has a lovely cosy lounge where you can relax by the log fire after dinner, meet other guests and talk about the days walking/ fell running/ shopping. We hope to return for another visit in the not too distant future.

Room Tip: We stayed in room 14 which is a lovely big room overlooking the side garden with the added luxury of...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kendal, United Kingdom
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 3 cities Reviews in 3 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 14, 2013

Driving up the driveway you may get the wrong idea about the Scafell hotel, and then to find the main entrance to be a side door may concern you more. But don't worry, once inside you are greeted with a comfortable country house feel.

The general appearance may look tired, but the friendly staff, the food and the very clean rooms will win you over.

Did we say friendly staff, we mean very friendly.. they couldn't do enough and would always have time for a chat if you wanted! Made you feel very welcome which in turn created a very relaxed atmosphere.

We stayed for 2 nights, each night there was a 5 course meal..a completely different selection both nights, very hot and very tasty, great after a long walk. And being in Borrowdale there were plenty of great walks..which helped burn up the very nice cooked breakfast!

We went at the beginning of February, generally cold with snow, but the real fires in the bar and the cosy lounge, were a pleasure to come back to ...!

We will be looking to return in the Spring, probably no roaring fires but we could be sitting out in the garden then... let's hope.

Room Tip: Room 14, a large quite room with large bathroom..and good views..
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Scafell Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Scafell Hotel

Address: Rosthwaite, Borrowdale CA12 5XB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Borrowdale > Rosthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 1 Hotels in Rosthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Scafell Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Scafell Hotel is a wonderful Country House Hotel located in the very heart of Borrowdale, considered by many as England's finest valley, surrounded by mighty fells, tranquil meadows and crystal clear waters. A paradise for the walker and a perfect centre from which to visit other parts of the Lake District. The Hotel is situated almost at the foot of Great Gable and the Scafell Massif, and is regarded one of the Lake District’s renowned headquarters for climbers and hill walkers. Keen anglers will appreciate the Scafell Hotel, as there is excellent fly fishing on the River Derwent and in Derwentwater. Those who are content with gentle rambling or just lazing on restful lawns fringed by trees amidst imposing scenery will be equally happy staying here. Our rooms were fully refurbished during 2009, in a Warm and Rich Country House style with a ‘Contemporary Twist’ perfect for setting the scene for a peaceful and relaxing break in the beautiful Borrowdale Valley. The Restaurant, Lounges and Bar have been tastefully decorated and furnished to retain that all important Country House warmth, allowing for complete relaxation after a great days walking on the Fells, and maybe even a little ‘nap’ by the fire after a delicious five course Dinner. Under the constant direction of owner’s Miles Jessop MBE (Chairman) and Andrew Nelson (Managing Director) the Management and Team of Scafell Hotel offer truly warm and friendly service. Individual and Independent Country House Hotel for the last 40 years. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Odigeo, TripOnline SA and Tingo so you can book your Scafell Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Scafell Hotel Rosthwaite

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Scafell Hotel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.