We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent!” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Hazel Bank Country House

Best prices for your stay
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Save
You added Hazel Bank Country House to your Saves list
Hazel Bank Country House
5.0 of 5 Bed and Breakfast   |   | Borrowdale, Rosthwaite, Borrowdale CA12 5XB, England   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Rosthwaite B&B and Inns
Sheffield, United Kingdom
2 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
“Excellent!”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 2 weeks ago

Hazel Bank was new to us as we often stay elsewhere in Borrowdale - but Hazel Bank was open first week in December and did us a winter deal. A beautiful house with one of the best views, well run by Donna, Gary, Holly and David the chef unobtrusively looking after us. Fabulous food, good company (how often does one review guests? Must be something Hazel Bank does to people!) and great service. A thoroughly good stay, recommended.

Room Tip: Best views at the front
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

111 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    110
    1
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
4
86
7
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
5 of 5 stars Reviewed 5 weeks ago

Actually more like blissful than contented! Thanks to Donna, Gary, Holly, Darren and Chef for another wonderful stay. Last night's meal - especially the lamb, celeriac dauphinoise and crackling - was the best I'd tasted in a long time. Gin and tonic by the fire was the perfect way to start the evening after a big hike up Eagle Crag! And talking of crags, Castle Crag was a fantastic room - loved the views from both big windows and when I finally grow up, I want a bathroom like that one!

Room Tip: All the rooms are carefully looked after - with luxurious extra details such as sherry, chocolates a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cornwall
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 22, 2014

From the minute we arrived it was magical, no wonder so many of the residents were returning guests. The greeting by Donna was so warm and welcoming. The house was beautiful even on a wet November day.Our room was so spacious and comfortable with a beautiful garden view. They had thought of everything you could need, even down to the sherry and chocolates in the room. Down stairs was like stepping back in time with class, a beautiful residents lounge where the canapes and evening drinks were served by Gary who was a font of local knowledge. They made their food a work of art, it tasted like it had been produced by a 5 star Michelin chef. Holly the waitress could not do enough for you. A big thank you to Gary, Donna and their staff, you made my birthday magical and we look forward to returning next year.

Room Tip: All rooms were beautiful but they did have ground floor rooms if you could not manage the stairs.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Blackburn, United Kingdom
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
2 helpful votes 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 20, 2014

Just a wonderfull stay yet again. Food superb - I questioned could they make a crumble special but it was divine. It has to be one of the most glorious spots in the Country and to have the comfort and care of Gary and Donna plus the food - who wouldn't want to go back. Roll on our next visit early next year

Room Tip: Dale Head not the largest bedroom but the views are to die for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Knutsford, United Kingdom
Contributor
20 reviews 20 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
21 helpful votes 21 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 19, 2014

Our first visit to Hazel Bank and we will definately be back. Great hosts - very welcoming and friendly and Gary has such a great sense of humour! Amazing food - I'm not normally a fan of a set menu but the variety and choice across the 2 nights we stayed was superb! Brilliant location - I love being able to leave the car and head off on walks and there are definately lots to choose from in this area. Thank you Gary and Donna - your attention to every detail makes Hazel Bank a perfect place to stay.

Room Tip: The views from all the rooms are beautiful as you are surrounded by glorious countryside. Our room...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Norfolk, England
Senior Contributor
25 reviews 25 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 19 cities Reviews in 19 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 16, 2014

We stayed in the Hazel Bank for 5 wonderful days in September.
Its a great base for walking and exploring. We only got the car out for the odd trip into Kendal, as we tackled various walks around Borrowdale.
The five course dinners were superb, each course well thought out and representing the local fare. We ended up choosing to eat at the hotel most nights.
What made this hotel is the attention to detail of Gary and Donna to everything. They couldn't be more helpful.

  • Stayed September 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Durham, England, United Kingdom
1 review
5 of 5 stars Reviewed November 11, 2014

Great Cuisine, Great service and brilliant location.
Our host was friendly and the choice of wines excellent. There are wonderful walks up Borrowdale which are accessible directly from the hotel. If you get bored then there is always the Pencil Museum in Keswick - you should make a point of going there!

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a view of Borrowdale
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
GaryatHB, Owner at Hazel Bank Country House, responded to this review, November 17, 2014
Thank you for taking time to review our lovely Country House ...Pleased you enjoyed your stay and look forward to seeing you both again...and I told you the Pencil Museum wasn't a `pointless` waste of time 2B honest !
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Hazel Bank Country House? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hazel Bank Country House

Address: | Borrowdale, Rosthwaite, Borrowdale CA12 5XB, England
Phone Number:
Location: United Kingdom > England > Cumbria > Lake District > Borrowdale > Rosthwaite
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Rosthwaite
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Hazel Bank Country House 5*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Nestled in Borrowdale Valley in the heart of the Lake District just 10 minutes from Keswick, this family-run country house offers stunning views, excellent food and free Wi-Fi and parking. Set in 4 acres of tranquil countryside, it commands a privileged position above the hamlet of Rosthwaite, providing some spectacular views of the surrounding fells. Originally built in 1840, the property is infused with the vibrancy of its historic past and it still retains many of its original period features. Whether it is an energetic day on the fells or a relaxing afternoon tea on the lawn, Hazel Bank is the perfect place to escape, relax and explore. There is a choice of 8 en-suite guestrooms available, all located within the main residence of the country house. Luxurious and elegantly furnished, every room includes free Wi-Fi access, flat-screen TV, comfy bedding, hairdryer and tea & coffee making facilities. Superior and Deluxe options are available and the majority of rooms benefit from magnificent views of the grounds and the countryside. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Venere, Despegar.com, Odigeo and Tingo so you can book your Hazel Bank Country House reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hazel Bank Country House Hotel Rosthwaite

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Hazel Bank Country House, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.