We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Quaint Get-a-way” 5 of 5 stars
Review of Chamberlin's Ole Forest Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Curtis
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Chamberlin's Ole Forest Inn
Save
You added Chamberlin's Ole Forest Inn to your Saves list
Big Manistique Lake, P.O. Box 307, Curtis, MI 49820   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 2 Curtis B&B and Inns
Sault Ste. Marie, Michigan
Contributor
18 reviews 18 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Quaint Get-a-way”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed December 4, 2012

We spent Thanksgiving Day and night at the Inn. It is an historic inn and has kept all its charm. The owners are very friendly and made us feel quite at home. Thanksgiving dinner was pretty good (for being away from home for the holiday). Our room was very comfortable and very clean. Again, the Victorian charm was carried through in the furnishings and bedding. We had a room with a jacuzzi, which was an added perk. In the morning, we sat in front of a beautiful huge fireplace, while the owner stoked the fire for us, as we watched a light snowfall out the windows of the dining room. We will certainly try to get back, maybe in the warmer weather so as to enjoy the waterfront.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

44 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    9
    4
    1
    0
See reviews for
11
23
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Grand Rapids, Michigan
Top Contributor
50 reviews 50 reviews
13 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 13, 2012

We have eaten there a couple of times and have really enjoyed the food and experience both times. It is not inexpensive, but about what you would expect for a good meal in a great location. The view of the lake really adds to the experience. Would recommend it and will return!

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Senior Contributor
48 reviews 48 reviews
19 hotel reviews
Reviews in 22 cities Reviews in 22 cities
31 helpful votes 31 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 5, 2012

We ate here on a Sunday evening at 5:30. The prices are really expensive; for example, a meal with six jumbo shrimp costs 22 dollars, and comes with six breaded shrimp (and the breading wasn't that good--it was the same breading you get on deep-fried onion rings and not the normal breading you get with shrimp, i.e., the flaky kind), a small dinner salad, a little bit of bread, a few heads of broccoli, and a potato that wasn't very good. Normally this would cost 17 or even 20 at the most anywhere else, but at 22, this is a bit too much.

I ate the prime rib dinner for 24 dollars, and it wasn't that great. The potatoes for both our meals we were served were reheated from the previous night. Believe me, you can tell a reheated baked potato versus a freshly baked one, and this one was tough and did not steam when you opened it up. I sent back the baked potato and received mashed instead, and that wasn't hot either.

So considering the location, this restaurant is okay, but if it were in a city, it would definitely be "poor," quality- and price-wise.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 2 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Michigan
Top Contributor
85 reviews 85 reviews
14 hotel reviews
Reviews in 46 cities Reviews in 46 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 26, 2012

Had 2 lovely dinners here on 2 separate days. Prices are in the $20 range per plate but very good meals. I believe you can eat on the porch and they have a different menu there. Located on the water but this was not visible from our table. They provided a birthday cake for my friend for no extra charge. No air conditioning. They told us you could come as you are so no special dress code. We did make reservations both times. Great service. It is also a bed and breakfast but we did not stay overnight.

  • Stayed August 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madison, Wisconsin
Contributor
15 reviews 15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
32 helpful votes 32 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 18, 2012

Nice rooms in quaint part of the UP. It was cool while we were there, so did not need the air conditioning. It was quiet. Not much up there to pick from though. Beautiful view of lake and sunset from a large and lovely porch.

Would NOT recommend the restaurant, although there is little to choose from.

Even though we dined on a weekday, they were out of half of their main menu items. (very nice apologetic waitress).
But the main problem was that they seated us inches away from a 3 piece band, that had large speakers and amplifiers!!

It was so loud we had to leave without finishing our dinner. Waitress had to shout menu items and was also unhappy with the loud speakers. Never saw anything like it. A little background music is nice, but this was LOUD!

We dine in all of the major cities around the country & are really tolerant but this was over the top.

This was our 2nd time at this restaurant in 2 years, and the overly loud music in the dining room was a repeat performance. Thought we would give them a 2nd chance, but never again.

Room Tip: Ask to dine in their back room at a quieter table if you like to have a conversation without shoutin...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
East Lansing, Michigan
Top Contributor
118 reviews 118 reviews
25 hotel reviews
Reviews in 39 cities Reviews in 39 cities
50 helpful votes 50 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2012

My wife and I recently spent a night at Chamberlin's Ole Forest Inn during the heat wave that reached all the way to the Upper Peninsula (UP) of Michigan. When we arrived, I noticed some box fans in the windows and my heart sank. It was in the low 90's with almost 90% humidity and no breeze. Sure enough, when we checked in we discovered that not only do the rooms not have air conditioning, the restaurant and bar also do not. Now, I understand that this is the UP and it normally does not get this hot, but it is unforgivable, in my opinion, for a place that charges over $100 a night for a room to not have air conditioning. Our room also faced the parking lot and with the windows open (a necessity in the heat), we got cigarette smoke from the kitchen staff hanging out below our room and bright light from the parking lot all night long. With that said, we made the best of it, partly by going for drives in the car with the air conditioning on, taking cold showers, and filling up the hot tub with cold water and soaking in it.

On the positive side, the Inn is charming, the view of Manistique Lake is unforgettable, the food was incredible, (we ate lunch, dinner and breakfast the next morning - all were top notch), the service was excellent, and they had live music. So, I guess what I'm saying is, we would have had a fantastic stay if the place was air conditioned. Without air conditioning, the stay was just okay.

Room Tip: Try to get a room facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Reviewer
4 reviews 4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 4 cities Reviews in 4 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 16, 2012

This was my husband's favorite place of our trip around the lake. Good table service hot breakfast and they allowed my husband to use the kayaks to paddle around the lake. I get a sense that this is the best restaurant in town though we didn't have an opportunity to try it. The room was older but sufficient for our family. We would stay there again if we were in the area.

  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Chamberlin's Ole Forest Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Chamberlin's Ole Forest Inn

Address: Big Manistique Lake, P.O. Box 307, Curtis, MI 49820
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Curtis
Amenities:
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Curtis
Number of rooms: 25

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Chamberlin's Ole Forest Inn, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.