We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great location” 3 of 5 stars
Review of Bella Vista Motel

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Copper Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Bella Vista Motel
Save
You added Bella Vista Motel to your Saves list
P.O. Box 26, Copper Harbor, MI 49918   |  
Hotel website
  |  
  |  
  |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Copper Harbor
Detroit, Michigan
Top Contributor
61 reviews 61 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 34 cities Reviews in 34 cities
19 helpful votes 19 helpful votes
“Great location”
3 of 5 stars Reviewed October 6, 2013 via mobile

As other reviews state, this is a good place to stay based on its location. The rooms were definitely outdated. A chair in our room was pretty well shot & should just be removed. The bed was uncomfortable. The service was great. The office person gave great tips. They had fresh coffee in the morning. It was nice to have a fridge.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

93 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    48
    17
    3
    1
See reviews for
20
48
6
1
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    4 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (27)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Apple Valley
Contributor
16 reviews 16 reviews
15 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
24 helpful votes 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed October 2, 2013

We recently stayed 3 nights at this motel . Motel was clean, though old, room was on the small side but we got along just fine. It had all the necessities. The owners were very nice and coffee was provided in the am at the office as there were no coffee pots in room. The outside chairs were not specifically put outside each room so it tended to be a bit difficult to find one at times. I would recommend the owners buy more outside chairs so there is at least 2 by each room. View was delightful and it was very pleasant to hear the waves washing up. It was very affordable and the price was reasonable for our room. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with friends
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fall Creek
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed September 27, 2013

Walls are paper thin, felt like we were sharing room with people next to us.
We had a room with two double beds. The beds were very uncomfortable and seemed extra short.
Shower was also very short and cramped.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 2 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saint Charles, Illinois
Senior Contributor
32 reviews 32 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 12 cities Reviews in 12 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 31, 2013

We really enjoyed this quaint, old fashioned motel and were glad we got the last room available. It was lovely to sit outside on the long porch and watch the water and the Isle Royal ferry come in. One thing I will note, though, is that it was sort of weird how other guests would "reserve" outside chairs by placing a personal item on a chair and then just leaving. When we arrived, there were two chairs outside of our sliding glass door, but by the next day, we had just one. Since I didn't feel comfortable taking a chair from another guest's porch and parking my sweater on it to reserve it, I sat on one of the small tables. Certainly not the motel's fault, but just be warned if you intend to relax in a chair outside on your porch. You might have to put your name on it or something.

Room Tip: Go to the motel's website, and you can actually see a picture of the view from each room. Pleas...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Columbus, Ohio
Senior Reviewer
10 reviews 10 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviews in 7 cities Reviews in 7 cities
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 29, 2013

We just returned from spending a week at Bella Vista Motel in Copper Harbor. Even though the cabins/buildings are older, the owner has kept the property in tip top shape and both cabins we happened to stay in were very clean. Mike, the owner, makes you feel right at home. The weather last week was perfect for our girl's getaway. The motel is within walking to a wonderful bakery with great coffee, plenty of gift shops and a waterfront view too! We enjoyed the setting, the peacefulness and all the nice flowers on the grounds. Had it been cool one evening, we could have enjoyed the nice campfire ring on the grounds - but was a rather warm week!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beachwood, Ohio, United States
Reviewer
3 reviews 3 reviews
Reviews in 2 cities Reviews in 2 cities
1 helpful vote 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

We stayed here for one night before getting on a boat to Isle Royal. The room was on the small side but clean and comfortable. It is located right on the lake. We haven't stayed anywhere else in Copper Harbor but just walking around the town, it looked like the Bella Vista was one of the better kept motels. The wi-fi internet access didn't work in our room (room 9) do to very poor reception.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Oak Ridge
Reviewer
5 reviews 5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

My boyfriend and I had a room on the lakefront for two nights, and it was just perfect. Homelike, very clean, and with a great scenic view through our sliding glass doors. The manager was friendly and welcoming, and went out of his way to service us. I highly recommend the Bella Vista if you are looking for some peace and quiet on Lake Superior.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 5 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
mm/dd/yyyy mm/dd/yyyy
Price Your Stay

Been to Bella Vista Motel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bella Vista Motel

Address: P.O. Box 26, Copper Harbor, MI 49918
Phone Number:
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Copper Harbor
Amenities:
Free Parking
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 8 Hotels in Copper Harbor
Number of rooms: 15
Also Known As:
Bella Vista Hotel

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Bella Vista Motel, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.