We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Beautiful place- RUDE managers” 2 of 5 stars
Review of Lake Fanny Hooe Resort & Campground

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Copper Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Lake Fanny Hooe Resort & Campground
Save
You added Lake Fanny Hooe Resort & Campground to your Saves list
505 Second Street, Copper Harbor, MI 49918   |  
Hotel amenities
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Copper Harbor
Minnesota
1 review
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
“Beautiful place- RUDE managers”
2 of 5 stars Reviewed August 11, 2009

The resort is very nice and well maintaned, but the manager was rude, overbearing and
unfriendly. We had a family reunion there, about 32 people, and we were chastised for generating too much garbage (which we had bagged and brought to the office). We were told to leave the beach area by 10 pm. There were young childrenand people in their 70's, we were a pretty sedate group and we did not appreciate the attitude. They made about $2400.00 on our group; seems like poor practice to not be nicer and more accomadating. We would have gone back next year, now we have changed our minds.
Someone with some people skills should work there.

Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
Was this review helpful? Yes 5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortManagement2, Guest Relations Manager at Lake Fanny Hooe Resort & Campground, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
We have no clue about this trash situation mentioned. There was never any garbage brought to our office. Our housekeeping staff collects trash daily and we have trash bins on the property for guests to use at their convenience so there would be no reason to bring trash to the front office????

Also, this group was not asked to leave the beach area by 10:00 pm. After receiving a complaint, a member of their group was reminded; however, that there were other guests, not part of their group, staying at the resort and quiet time for the entire resort is 10:00 pm – 8:00 am. This policy applies to all guests and everyone is informed and signs an acknowledgement of this and all of our other policies when they check-in. (A group that spends $2400 is expected to follow all the same policies as a single person spending $28 a night. Our policies are meant to ensure the safety and enjoyment for all guests.)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

62 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    8
    3
    8
    8
See reviews for
20
27
4
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Service
    4 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (7)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
White Lake, Wisconsin
Contributor
11 reviews 11 reviews
8 hotel reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed July 17, 2008

Stayed at the Lake Fanny Hooe Campground and what a beautiful place. The owners let us even move to a different place for a nicer view. Very clean facility and not overly expensive to stay. Very close to town so you can either walk or bike to all the stores/and to eat. We go every year around the Fourth of July. We also go to Eagle harbor to swim and to Bete Gris for a quiet beach. Highly recommend it!

  • Liked — peasfull/laid back
  • Disliked — can not leave early with out losing money.
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 5 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortManagement2, Guest Relations Manager at Lake Fanny Hooe Resort & Campground, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
We try our very best to accommodate everyone and were happy we were able to change your site. Thank you for the positive feedback.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
escanaba, michigan
1 review
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2007

How did these jerks end up with this place? I've been here twice in the last three years, first with my wife and our baby, then with a group of cyclists. On both occasions, the "hosts" were rude, found excessive and sneaky ways to add additional fees to our stay, and stuck us hard to our checkout time (on Sunday).

I will NEVER give my money or any part of my vacation to the current owners again, unless there are MAJOR improvements in the hospitality and honesty. It will be worth your while to pass this one up and stay someplace where you're treated like a welcome guest. DON'T GET TRAPPED HERE -- BOOK EARLY!

Stayed September 2007
Was this review helpful? Yes 6
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortManagement2, Guest Relations Manager at Lake Fanny Hooe Resort & Campground, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
All of our fees and policies are spelled out up front. This guest refused to pay for his child the first time he came here. He said he didn’t have any children when he checked in and when management saw that he did, he was approached and asked to pay the applicable fee. He refused. He would not have been allowed to come back again but he, unknowingly to us, came back a second time with a group of bicyclists registered under a different name. We did not know he was part of the group until he identified himself and tried arguing again about paying for additional people. This time he had the printout of rates from our website but was quarrelling again he didn’t understand the meaning of “double occupancy” and “additional person” charges even though they were thoroughly explained on his first visit.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Escanaba, MI
1 review
7 helpful votes 7 helpful votes
1 of 5 stars Reviewed September 24, 2007

Very unfriendly. The cabins are okay and the lake is beautiful but they need a good lesson in customer service. Next time will stay at the Mariner North.

  • Liked — View of the lake is very nice
  • Disliked — Staff was extremely unfriendly!
  • Stayed September 2007, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 1 of 5 stars Check in / front desk
    • 2 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars Service
    • 1 of 5 stars Business service (e.g., internet access)
Was this review helpful? Yes 7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortManagement2, Guest Relations Manager at Lake Fanny Hooe Resort & Campground, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
We, and our staff, try our very best to be welcoming and affable to all of our guests. We’re sorry we did not meet your expectations.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ann Arbor, MI
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
52 helpful votes 52 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed July 18, 2006

Our stay was short (2 days) but we were very happy with the hotel and everyone who worked there. They were very accommodating and friendly. The hotel is older and rustic but clean. It had an awesome view of the lake. I would highly recommend taking one of their boats out for an hour rental on the lake. It was very enjoyable. Also, I would recommend filling up the gas tank before you get to Copper Harbor - the gas stations were charing $3.53 and $3.90. In Houghton and Hancock gas was $2.99, which is is a big difference. Also make sure to pack mosquito repllent!!! Don't miss out on Brockway Mountain Drive and eating at the Harbor Haus. It is a little pricey for lunch - but it had a very nice atmosphere and the food was good.

  • Stayed July 2006
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ResortManagement2, Guest Relations Manager at Lake Fanny Hooe Resort & Campground, responded to this review, November 8, 2011
Glad to hear you enjoyed your stay. Thank you for giving us our first review!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Lake Fanny Hooe Resort & Campground? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lake Fanny Hooe Resort & Campground

Address: 505 Second Street, Copper Harbor, MI 49918
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Copper Harbor
Amenities:
Beach Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly )
Hotel Style:
Ranked #3 of 8 Hotels in Copper Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Seasonal resort with two-bedroom cottages and lakefront motel with kitchenettes and individual balconies on historic Lake Fanny Hooe and bordering 250,000 acres of northern wilderness. Modern campground with water/electric and full hook-up sites for tents and RVs. Centrally located and walking distance to most of Copper Harbor's shops and restaurants. Great fishing spot with many nearby attractions such as Ft. Wilkins State Park, Copper Harbor Lighthouse, Brockway Mountain, Isle Royale National Park,and Lake Superior. Resort amenities include clubhouse with hot showers and clean bathrooms, indoor fireplace, game & snack room, sandy swimming beach, outdoor fire pits, picnic tables, grills, gift shop/camp store, LP gas, dump station, laundromat, playground, and boat rentals on premise. Direct access to hiking, biking and ATV trails. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Lake Fanny Hooe Resort & Campground, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.