We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Charming” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Fort Wilkins State Park

Fort Wilkins State Park
Copper Harbor, MI
906-289-4215
Improve this listing
Type: Lighthouses, State Parks, Outdoors
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: An army outpost that kept order in this wilderness outpost in the 1840s.
Louisville, Kentucky
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
8 helpful votes 8 helpful votes
“Charming”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 27, 2013

We rode to the fort on bicycles as we were taking in the sights of Copper Harbor. The fort is well kept with many pictures of how it looked when it was actively being used as a fort and today. We enjoyed just leisurely walking around seeing all the buildings. Short historical movies of the fort and how it tied in with the history of the area were interesting. Local residents dressed in period costumes were doing errands like carrying water, washing clothes or were in uniform. Beautiful scenery and few people around also made it a very nice experience.

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

86 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    51
    30
    2
    3
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
USA
Senior Contributor
44 reviews 44 reviews
25 attraction reviews
Reviews in 24 cities Reviews in 24 cities
30 helpful votes 30 helpful votes
“A hidden gem on the Keewenaw Peninsula”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2013 via mobile

Fort Wilkins is a lovely State Park with a lovely restored military fort. The buildings in the fort have been restored in great detail and are well maintained. The location means fewer crowds and less wear and tear than forts in the Mackinac area. My son really enjoyed it and I'm glad we found this place. The state has done a fine job with it.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Michigan
Contributor
19 reviews 19 reviews
9 attraction reviews
Reviews in 17 cities Reviews in 17 cities
18 helpful votes 18 helpful votes
“Great state park”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed August 17, 2013

The locale/scenery is the main attraction here. The Fort is very well maintained and informative. There is an east & west campground and both have nice views of Lake Fanny Hooe with Lake Superior right across the road. The West side is a much nicer campground if you like a bit of privacy between sites. We stayed on the East side and the sites are a bit jammed together with no trees/woods/shrubs between sites-- but still worth the stay if the West is full. The bathrooms were very nice and cleaned daily. There are lots of trails around the park and an easy walk/bike ride into town. If you go for the world class mountain biking (highly recommended), you can ride to the trails right from the campground. Fort Wilkins is a great basecamp for tons of Copper Harbor activities- mountian biking, hiking, Copper Harbor lighthouse boat tour, Isle Royale National Park, fishing, copper mine tours--- one of my favorite places!

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portland, Oregon
Senior Contributor
35 reviews 35 reviews
4 attraction reviews
Reviews in 18 cities Reviews in 18 cities
12 helpful votes 12 helpful votes
“Great State Park!”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 15, 2013

I have been to most of the State Parks in Michigan and Fort Wilkins is in the top 5. Great location, awesome staff, great layout, lots of things to do. The fort is so cool and the interpretive staff was fabulous! My daughters were give dolls, my son got to try the bucket carrying chores, it is just great. Congrats to the State of Michigan for a job well done!

Visited July 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Portage, Michigan
Senior Contributor
21 reviews 21 reviews
13 attraction reviews
Reviews in 13 cities Reviews in 13 cities
13 helpful votes 13 helpful votes
“Step back in time”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed August 12, 2013

Had a good time touring all the old barracks of the fort. It is so peaceful up there. There is a parking area across from the fort to see Copper harbor lighthouse. To bad it was so foggy we couldn't even see the lighthouse but the beach was excellent for rock hunters.

Visited August 2013
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Fort Wilkins State Park also viewed

Copper Harbor, Upper Peninsula
 
Copper Harbor, Upper Peninsula
Copper Harbor, Upper Peninsula
 

Been to Fort Wilkins State Park? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Fort Wilkins State Park, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.