We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Newest and pretty nice” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Mariner North

Mariner North
We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Copper Harbor
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Mariner North
Save
You added Mariner North to your Saves list
245 Gratiot St, Copper Harbor, MI   |  
Hotel amenities
Fort Wayne, Indiana
Senior Contributor
34 reviews 34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
Reviews in 16 cities Reviews in 16 cities
14 helpful votes 14 helpful votes
“Newest and pretty nice”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 6, 2012

Stayed here a few nights and really liked it. We stayed in room #9 which is in the 1-story section along the back road. Ate at the restaurant which was average. Good service overall. Room was clean and roomy. Bed was comfortable. Jacuzzi tub was nice but an older model. Tile work around tub needed to be reworked. Tile under toilet was cracked as well. Being a former tile guy, I would have fired whoever did their tile work!
No airconditioning but they only have 2 warm months per year up there so not a surprise. No view of the lake.
Still a good deal!

Room Tip: The 1-story part of the hotel has nice porch with chairs!
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

20 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    2
    8
    6
    3
    1
See reviews for
9
5
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Sleep Quality
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 stars
  • Service
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 stars
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 stars
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (4)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Calumet, Michigan
Top Contributor
57 reviews 57 reviews
9 hotel reviews
Reviews in 15 cities Reviews in 15 cities
26 helpful votes 26 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed April 26, 2012

We stayed in the front of the two-story motel building. The room was large, clean and comfortable. No problems to report. This is the newest place to stay in Copper Harbor, but don't expect a wonderful view. You'll have to stay in one of the older motels along the shore to get that.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 3 of 5 stars Location
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
upper michigan
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
Reviews in 5 cities Reviews in 5 cities
5 helpful votes 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2012

We stayed in the hotel for one night during the Antique Snomobile show. Very friendly hosts and staff. Good service in the restaurant, and good food. Motel and cabins in good condition, medium clean. I would recommend, as the other review states, laundering the bedspreads and blankets, and actually using mattress pads and pillow covers underneath the pillow cases/sheets, as well cleaning the couch. Other than that, overall pleased with our stay. Nice location right in Copper Harbor.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Location
    • 3 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senior Contributor
23 reviews 23 reviews
4 hotel reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed August 24, 2011

We stayed at a cabin with 2 rooms. In the pictures they make this place look like it is rustic and in the wilderness, but it is right smack in the middle of town. There is no air conditioning and we stayed on some very hot nights with bedrooms on the second floor.
Not very clean. Our bathroom was dark with spiders and a "hair" in the jet of the jacuzzi. Living room couch had not been cleaned in a long time with various things under the cushions. Ants if you leave, or a child drops, anything on the floor.
Nice decks on the cabins and kitchen had dishes for use, so you're nit eating off paper plates the whole time. Wi-fi worked ok, had to move around cabin to getva good signal. This makes a huge difference because there is NO CELL PHONE service in the town. You have to go to the top of Brockway mountain to get any signal.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 stars Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
Was this review helpful? Yes 2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Been to Mariner North? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mariner North

Address: 245 Gratiot St, Copper Harbor, MI
Location: United States > Michigan > Upper Peninsula > Copper Harbor
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 2 B&Bs / Inns in Copper Harbor
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The Mariner North is a log-cabin resort located in downtown Copper Harbor, MI, on the shores of Lake Superior. We have two-bedroom cabins and spacious motel rooms available, as well as a full restaurant, bar, conference room, and gift shop. Our restaurant and bar features a wide variety of your favorite foods, including a full dinner menu with entrees like Lake Superior Trout, plus giant sandwiches, salads, and hand-tossed pizzas. We can also handle your private event or intimate wedding with ease. ... more   less 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage Mariner North, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.