We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Fabulous Food at reasonable prices” 5 of 5 stars
Review of The Bulmer Fox

The Bulmer Fox
Bulmer Tye, Bulmer CO10 7EB, England
01787 312277
Website
Improve this listing
Ranked #1 of 1 Restaurants in Bulmer
Cuisines: English
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast/Brunch
Norfolk
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
9 helpful votes 9 helpful votes
“Fabulous Food at reasonable prices”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

My husband and I eat out quiet often and have tried most restaurants in our area , we are constantly feeling we are being ripped of, paying way over the top for poor quality food , So we decided to take a drive today and try the Fox , the last time we ate there was 3 years ago and really enjoyed it , we just hoped it would be as good , We were not disappointed , it still has the same concept , which is unique in it self ,a relaxed bistro atmosphere , good service but most importantly wonderful cooked, good quality food and reasonably priced , Well worth the 15 mile drive , We will be looking forward to going again with friends .Why do so many other restaurants find it difficult to get it right ,Well done you guys at the Fox .....

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 4 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

117 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    70
    37
    5
    4
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Felixstowe, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
8 reviews 8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 8 cities Reviews in 8 cities
6 helpful votes 6 helpful votes
“Good food, friendly service”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed February 28, 2013 via mobile

Only negative is you r going to a nice restaurant for a meal and queuing to give your order . Meals are very nice very friendly staff

Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Contributor
12 reviews 12 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 9 cities Reviews in 9 cities
11 helpful votes 11 helpful votes
“Consistently good”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 21, 2013

This is a firm favourite with me and my girlfriends for both lunch and evening meals. In short you'll get good quality bistro type food in rustic surroundings served by polite and courteous staff. For lunch, you can get 2 courses for £8 and 3 courses for £9 which is excellent value when everything is made from good quality fresh ingredients; or you can select from the main menu and daily specials. I'd recommend you check out their website which updated daily (www.thebulmerfox.com) and there is always something good for vegetarians too!

You need to write your food selections on the paper at the table and go up to the bar to order and pay and you can't pre-book a table either (never been turned away once though, even when its been packed), and this all adds to the experience anyway.

A good format that works really well - you won't be disappointed at anything.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 4 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bures. UK
Top Contributor
79 reviews 79 reviews
65 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 35 cities Reviews in 35 cities
25 helpful votes 25 helpful votes
“Good food reasonably priced”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 20, 2013

I have been coming here since it opened,which is now some time ago! Henry Ford the owner followed his parents into the restaurant trade and he had a hard act to follow but he has succeeded. In the past he tended to move into a restaurant, build up the trade and then sell it and move on to start all over again. Thankfully he has stayed here. Menu changes daily and always has something that catches one's eye. We ate deep fried pork balls with salad followed by Coq au Vin and a hamburger.Both were excellent and I am always tempted by the homemade hamburgers as they are first rate. There was no room for a pudding but the taster puds are excellent as is sticky toffee pudding.

  • Visited February 2013
    • 5 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 5 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sudbury, United Kingdom
Senior Reviewer
6 reviews 6 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
Reviews in 6 cities Reviews in 6 cities
4 helpful votes 4 helpful votes
“Never fails to deliver”
5 of 5 stars Reviewed February 17, 2013 via mobile

Went for Sunday lunch in a group of 8 including 4 children. The food as always was substantial and perfectly prepared, a very generous serving of roast beef and deserts to die for. Menu is small but staff seem happy to make adjustments to suit the more fussy diner! The atmosphere is relaxed and well behaved children are warmly welcomed. As parents it's very nice not to have to be on edge that every little noise from your kids is likely to disturb other diners and that certainly seems to be the case here, our children happily entertained themselves and us with the pencils and paper provided and by keeping our water jugs well replenished from the water station provided! We often have friends come to visit and the bulmer Fox is favourite place to take them.

    • 4 of 5 stars Value
    • 5 of 5 stars Atmosphere
    • 5 of 5 stars Service
    • 4 of 5 stars Food
Was this review helpful? Yes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed The Bulmer Fox also viewed

Sudbury, Suffolk
Gestingthorpe, Essex
 

Been to The Bulmer Fox? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

If you own or manage The Bulmer Fox, register now for free tools to enhance your listing, attract new reviews, and respond to reviewers.